Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 10, 2014 - 11:06 p.m.
"our day in court"

Hey Journal!

Today we had our day in court!! It was fun!

I got up at 7:45 and got ready. Our scheduled court time was 9:00am but they said to arrive 1/2 hour early. I got there at about 8:35 and found the doors were locked! I went back and sat in my car, and they opened at 9! What a waste of time! I could have slept later!

After going through security, there were about 25 people there and we were all sitting in some auditorium-style seats that were in the middle of this weird little room. Having never done this before, I didn't know how it was going to work. I thought they might call us in one case at a time. I kept looking around at the people in the other seats but, at the same time, I tried not to make eye contact with anyone because I didn't know what the people we were suing looked like, so I didn't know who I wanted to avoid!

There were lots of people with big folders full of information, so I figured those weren't the people because.... there couldn't possibly be that much info they would have to explain why they bounced a check!

Anyway, at about 9:30 they did "first call." We all went into the big courtroom and they called each case one by one to see who was there. So many people didn't show up! There were a bunch of cases where neither side was there, and a bunch with only one side.

We were case 9 and 10. When they called #9, I said that I was present and then I asked that they adjourn the case because the person had paid the money yesterday and we wanted to make sure that his check would clear the bank. They postponed until May 29th... and hopefully everything will be taken care of by then, and we won't have to go.

Then he called #10 and the defendants weren't there. He said they would put it down for "second call." Until then, I had to sit and wait. I'm glad I had to wait, though, because I got to watch a couple of cases!

One was a guy who was suing FedEx! He sells art and sent some $1,500 piece to someone in the city. It arrived broken, according to him, and he complained to FedEx. Apparently, FedEx agreed to pay the $1,500 declared value, but...here's where it gets good... the guy wanted MORE MONEY because FedEx took three weeks to return the damaged box to him, and he decided he would charge FedEx a "storage fee" for keeping it so long. Ummm... yeah... that's not gonna happen.

The only problem with this court is that they don't tell you the decisions! They say, "we'll send you the decision in the mail." WHY? Why can't they decide right then and there?! Judge Judy does!

There was another case with a man whose Jet Ski was damaged. There was this old hag who was such a bitch, and I am certain that she did it.... but the judge asked her if she did it, and she denied it, and then he asked the man if he had any evidence that it was her, and he didn't. She did call the police on him several times, and she was angry that he had his belongings stored in a shed on her daughter's property.... but he has nothing to prove it was her.

Anyway....at 10:30 they did the second call. When they got around to my case, they called, and the defendants were still not present. The judge said we would have "an inquest!" Sounds exciting! I went up and explained what had happened. Then I presented the bounced check to the judge, and he said "we'll send you the decision in the mail." I'm sure it will be favorable to us.... but the suspense is killing me.

So, I was done by 11, and headed in to work. Later in the afternoon I looked online and searched cases that were brought against the people we were suing, and there are at least 10! They must have done some really shifty shit! I only hope they really get in some hot water.

Work was good today... nothing too intense going on. We got three new members today so I had lots of stuff to do...getting them set up in the computer.

I had the French Dip today for lunch... it was quite good.

Today, on my way to work, I really realized that things were starting to look green! The grass is turning from that dead yellow to green... the weather MUST be getting nicer! I'm so excited!

Anyway, I stayed at work till 5 and then headed home. When I got home, Dan was out golfing, so I did some laundry and watched the news.

Then I went on the treadmill.

-Gym- Report:
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 12mins

It was nice to get back on the treadmill! It was warm, though, and I was sweating a lot!

Dan got home around 8:00 and I took a shower, Dan took a shower, and then we watched the first episode of Season 4 of Game of Thrones. We're officially all caught up!

Now we just finished watching Trophy Wife, and it's time for bed! I'm really happy it's Friday tomorrow and right after work we're leaving for a little getaway weekend with Re! We had wanted to go somewhere really random and fun, but our attempts to book a last minute flight were foiled by the oppressive prices.

Instead, we're going to had to Gettysburg. I need to go pack up and get my clothes ready because we're gonna leave around 6!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com