Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 05, 2002 - 10:51 p.m.
"Winter Wonderland" or "Slipping and Sliding"

Seasons Greetings, Friends!

Today was quite a snowy day, wouldn't you agree? I woke up around 8:00am and I went to the mall with the Trips to watch them take their Christmas pictures at Sears! It was crazy.. they didn't want to sit still for most of it, but somehow they managed to take about fifteen pictures!

On my way to the mall, I saw some snowflakes begin to fall. After the pictures were taken, we went down to StrideRite and they had their feet re-measured! After Ryan was done with his measurements, I took him to the middle of the mall to see the big reindeer things! He liked them, but after a while, he got bored with them. When Eric was finished with his shoes, I took him over to see the reindeer as well. He really liked them! He just stood there staring at them for about seven minutes or so! The only reason he left is because I had to take him back to the shoe store! He was so amazed by it!
.
He held that bread in his hand the whole time!! lol

Anyway, after that, it was time to leave. Now it was 10:25am, and I had to get to school. My class started at 11:20! I called 632-SNOW, which is Stony Brook's snow hotline, to see if school was open. It was. "The University is open, Classes are in session." By now, it had snowed about 1/2 an inch. I had to brush off all of the windows on the car, and then I was on my way to school. As I turned to leave the mall parking lot, I turned the wheel but the car did not follow. Instead the car continued to slide forward. I couldn't use the brake and I watched as the car slid at about 1 mile-per-hour at towards the curb. I bumped into the curb, backed up, and went on my way.

The car slipped a few more times along the way. 347 had not yet been plowed or sanded, and I went from 1-7mph the entire way to school. When I got onto Stony Brook road, the car started to slide to the right. It was headed directly for a parked car! It was insane! There was nothing I could do. The car kept moving, and the brakes didn't do anything. Somehow, I manage to turn the wheel correctly and the car stopped within one inch of hitting the parked car! Finally, I arrived at school, and I found the best plowed roads I had seen so far! The only thing is, once I got there, I didn't have to drive around, so it didn't make much of a difference.

I trudged through the snow and got to class twenty minutes early. When class finally started, we watched a video.

By the time class was over at 12:40, I had called 631-SNOW again and heard, "Thursday, December 5th. As of 12:50pm all afternoon and evening classes are cancelled, however the University remains open." Now there were about two inches of snow, and I was not looking forward to the drive home. I just missed being on Dotty's bus, it was full. I waited for the next one, and when I got to my car I had to brush off soo much snow! Finally, I started my trek home.

The roads were better now, and I went about 5 miles per hour all the way home. 347 had been turned into a two lane road because everyone was just following the tracks in front of them. You couldn't see the lines! All went rather smoothly until I got to the hill on my street. I couldn't get up. I got halfway up the hill and the wheels just kept spinning. I put on the four-way flashers and just sat there for a minute. I put the car into neutral and rolled down about two feet and then I tried again. No luck. I was going nowhere and the speedometer was up to 40mph. I tried again, and this time I was able to get going. I was home!

Anyway, when I got home, I listened to the messages on the answering machine, and of course the library was closing early, and I didn't have to go to work tonight. I heard them announce "The Smithtown Library: CLOSED" on BLI! It was exciting.

Anyway, I sat at home the rest of the day. I watched The Golden Girls, and then I fell asleep. I woke up around 8:00 and then I did some random things. Finally, I played Literati with Jen, and now I'm ready to watch some more TV.

One last thing before I go... The man who was a major part of my Senior Project, whom I read an entire book about, died today. Roone Arledge! Yes, he created ABCNews as we know it today, and he created World News Tonight, 20/20, Nightline, and PrimetimeLive! He certainly was a cool dude. He was the first person to offer a million-dollar anchor spot to the one and only Barbara Walters! Without him, my love may never have found her home on 20/20! Tonight's Nightline will take a look at all of Roone's accomplishments, and I intend to watch!

Have a pleasant evening, and have fun in the snow!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com