Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 09, 2017 - 10:56 a.m.
"it pays to shop for groceries" or "friendly's"

Hey Journal!

Well, today I had a nice day off from work in honor of Columbus Day. It was a rainy day so the actual day wasn't too nice but any day off is a good day!

I woke up around 9:30 and, although I wanted to sleep later, I couldn't. I went downstairs and texted Re trying to plan our lunch. We had a few places to try and I was looking up menus to see if I could find anything I liked. Re had suggested that we go back to the Parlor House in Sayville because she had a coupon but she didn't realize that Dan was at work and so we probably wouldn't make the minimum to use the coupon.

Instead, we decided on Blackbird's restaurant. After that, my internet connection mysteriously went down. It was working fine until I finished looking up the menus and then I couldn't do anything else. I reset the router and all the equipment but nothing worked.

It eventually came back but in the meantime I watched some TV. I watched the beginning of The View because I heard last night that they were getting a new cohost today!

I had to leave hre at 11:30 and so I got dressed and then headed off to pick up Re.

I would have gotten to her apartment at 12:00 but there was a lot of traffic on 454 because a car had plowed into a Tutor Time sign on the side of the road. The police and ambulance were there and everyone was driving by soooo slowly.

When I arrived, Re came out and we headed to Blackbirds. When we got in, we sat down and took a look at the menu. I couldn't find anything I wanted, which was a little dismaying. Before I had opened the menu, Re said that she would have liked to have gone to Friendly's! I told her I had actually been craving Friendly's but didn't suggest it because she had said she wanted somewhere healthy.

After finding nothing good on the menu, I asked if we should just go to Friendly's instead! We decided to make a break for it and Re made up a story that we had to leave! We headed back to the car and right over to Friendly's!

There were a lot of people waiting for a table but we got one right away since we were a small party!

I got the grilled cheese and a conehead and Re got a salad and a sundae! It was a good choice! I'm very happy with our decision!

Two very interesting things happened at Friendly's, first there was an old man who was seated behind our table. I didn't notice him until this interaction but our waitress went over to him and told him that the table that had previously been sitting across from us had paid for his meal. He was confused and the waitress was explaining to him that they had offered to pay for his meal. She was having a touching conversation with the elderly man when the woman at the table next to him says REALLY LOUDLY "EXCUSE ME," our waitress turns around, "CAN I CHANGE MY LEMONADE TO A DIET COKE!" It was so rude!

Then, one of Re's former students came by our table but she didn't say anything and just kinda stared at Re. Re didn't realize it so it was kinda awkward and the girl didn't say anything! Finally the mother came over and broke to tension! lol

Anyway, after Friendly's, we went to Target and then to Staples. I wanted to get a pie crust to make a chicken pot pie but this Target was out, too.

I dropped Re back off at her apartment and then headed home. Along the way, I stopped at ShopRite to get the food I needed. I got chicken and a pie crust. I went to the register and when I checked out the woman told me my total was $10.49. No problem. I stuck my card in the slot and it wasn't working. She told me to remove it. I tried again. Then she called for a manager's override.

As we were waiting for the manager to come, I looked up at the screen and it said Total: -1.11. I had no idea what was going on or why.... I still don't... but the manager came and swiped her barcode and then the transaction was processed. I got $1.11 back on my card and I got all my food for free. Literally, THEY PAID ME. I don't get it at all.

So, I got home and tended to the laundry and then headed right out for my doctor's appointment at 4:15. I had three objectives on this visit. 1) I wanted to update her on my leg issue. 2) I wanted to tell her about my itchy neck but I was pretty sure nothing was going to come of that 3) I wanted to ask about a low-dose anti anxiety medicine.

She came in and I started talking to her and she was basically telling me that she can see that I'm the type of person who really wants an answer for all the things that I have and that sometimes the best they can do is just rule out things but can never really find a cause. When I asked her opinion of an SSRI, she was like "yes."

She told me there were several different types of medicine for anxiety and she asked if I also felt depressed because that would lead her to choose a specific one. I told her No, I have no depression -- I just tend to think things over too much and get worked up about things that are bothering me and I wanted something to break the cycle of thinking about the ringing in my ears and stuff like that.

So, she prescribed me Paxil. 20mg per day. The instructions say to take it in the morning but I took the first dose tonight when I got home and then I'll step it down a little tomorrow and the next day to get it to a morning thing.

She told me not to Google the side-effects but to just take the medicine and see what happens. She said it will take about a week or two to start to see an effect.

I left the doctor's office and then called CVS because they had sent my prescription to the Target in Commack and it would be much easier for me to get it at the CVS in KP. The girl who I spoke to, the same one who helped Dan with his foot medicine, said she would call and have it transferred but it would take about 2 hours.

I told her I would just go pick it up at the other location if it would be ready there faster but she insisted. Then I got a text that my prescription was ready for pickup 10 minutes later!

When I got home I put my clothes in the dryer and then went out to CVS, got the medicine, and then headed home.

When Dan got home around 5:30 we watched an episode of Judge Judy and then headed out to Dan's parents' house for a birthday dinner.

We had chicken parmesan for dinner and did the usual birthday stuff. We hung out there until about 8:30 and then brought Brian and Jessica home and then headed home ourselves.

I showered up and then we watched 10 Days in the Valley.

Now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
sleepy saturday - October 14, 2017
thanksgiving no-time - October 13, 2017
can't sleep - October 12, 2017
"headaches and tiredness" or "chicken pot pie" - October 11, 2017
"new diaryland" or "jittery and anxious" - October 10, 2017

http://diaryland.com