Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 07, 2017 - 10:40 p.m.
election day 2017

Hey Journal!

Well it was another LONG Election Day! I got up at 4:15 and got ready to go. I was ready early this time so I arrived at the school at about 4:50.

Dawn was there when I arrived and we were ready to get our table set up! The only problem was that Lou was picking up the suitcase and in typical Lou fashion, he was 20 minutes late.

Dawn called him several times to make sure he was on his way and when he arrived we got everything opened and ready!

We were good to go with plenty of time.

So, it was just the three of us. Dawn and I are totally okay with that and actually prefer it that way! Sadly, one table had six so they reassigned someone to us.

Al. Al was nice, kinda. At first he was nice and somewhat friendly. He didn’t really have a purpose since our table is self sufficient with everyone having their own job. Then he got all pissy because we weren’t doing things a specific way he wanted. We always throw away the cardboard backing on the ballot books and for some reason he tells us we should keep them! I told him it’s just cardboard and Dawn did, too and he freaked out. He’s a strange cat so I wish he wasn’t put with us!

The day went by somewhat quickly. It was much busier than the primary in September!

Things picked up a little around the after-work rush and then slowed back down because it started to rain and got pretty cold outside!

I talked to some of the people at the other tables but for the most part we had a steady flow so I didn't get up too often.

In the middle of the day I realized that I forgot to take my medicine so I had to run home really quickly. I wasn't gone long at all...much less than most people were sitting i the back on their breaks.

I think our table runs so smoothly because we each have our designated jobs and we're happy doing them and we just make sure they're done right and we move quickly, get things going, and close quickly!

We had three spoiled ballots and one two affidavit ballots. One of the affidavits was weird because the guy who came to vote I CLEARLY remember him voting the last time. I wonder why he got taken out of the book.

Oh, and of course, the crazy woman from the table next to ours came in. She seemed kinda normal at first but then she got a little nutty, talking about how her social security was taken away and she went to tell the President. She's something else.

Around 8:00 I started doing the closing procedures. I prepared all of the seals and tags and taped them, using masking tape, to the places where they would be put once we closed. This way, I could write the numbers down on the papers and not have to remember which were supposed to go where.

I was just about to start writing the final numbers when ONE more voter came in at about 8:58! I couldn't believe it! Just our luck! In total we had about 327 voters.

We finished closing at about 9:15 and I said goodbye to all of our crew and then headed out into the rain to return the suitcase!

I had to drop it off at the county complex in Hauppauge. I didn't realize that in addition to the suitcase I had to take the blue ballot bag and the red security pack and the payroll envelope!

It was raining pretty hard when I arrived and they had this big moving truck parked under the solar panels in the parking lot I pulled up and like three guys came over to my car. They opened the door and took the blue ballot bag and then I popped the trunk and they took the suitcase and other stuff. It was wild. I think I was one of the first to arrive with the stuff because I didn't see anything else in the truck as they were loading it up. I mean, that makes sense since we are such quick closers!

As soon as I got home, I hopped in the shower and then Dan and I watched some Judge Judy while I had a little something to eat for dinner. After that we watched Major Crimes and now that's pretty impressive since it's only 10:40!

Time for bed now!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"christmas lights" or "outdoor furniture away" - November 12, 2017
inside all day - November 11, 2017
robby and phil's wedding - November 11, 2017
short and sweet thursday - November 09, 2017
post election tiredness - November 08, 2017

http://diaryland.com