Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 25, 2016 - 10:42 p.m.
"coney island" or "birthday dinner"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up at about 9:00 and prepared to go down to the lobby of our hotel to have a nice breakfast. We got down there around 9:30 and got right on line to make a waffle. I as shocked to see that the waffle maker actually made four small waffles instead of one big one.

I think, in retrospect, I really like the one bigger waffle better but I can kinda see why they'd do the smaller ones because if you have kids, for example, now you can give them each a small waffle and potentially reduce the waiting time at the waffle machine.

In additional to my waffles, I also had cereal and some eggs.

We headed back up to the room after that and I got all my stuff packed up. Dan came back, did his thing, and then we headed out. When we got down to the lobby I remembered that Dan had left his iced coffee drink in the refrigerator so I had to go back up to get it while he refilled his coffee at the breakfast area.

By the time I got back, Dan had pulled the car around front and we were off. We wanted to stop at some sort of farm to get a bail of hay and possibly a pumpkin or something. Unfortunately, we didn't really pass any so we're going to just have to get that stuff around here. Target had big pumpkins for just 3.99 so maybe I'll go there this week!

We made good time on our trip and as we got onto the Belt Parkway I saw signs for Coney Island. We were just discussing recently how neither of us had ever been there. We decided that we weren't in a huge rush so we got off and decided to go check it out.

We found some free street parking and then walked over to the boardwalk. It's weird...Coney Island is one of those places that you always hear about, and that I think people come from all around to see, but I've never been. I've also never really cared much about going there. I remember some old TV commercial with a weird jingle about "coney island and how it used to be. now it's everything it ever was and MORE MORE MORE" from when I was little. Wierd.

Anyway, we walked around the boardwalk, went out on a pier, and then checked out Luna Park! It was fun but now that I've gone I feel no strong desire to go back.

While we were there I found two new Pokemon and then we encountered one more on the way home. A Dodrio, Kabuto, and on the way home...Geodude! That makes five new ones for the weekend. Pretty successful, I'd say!

We made the rest of the trip home and it took about 25 minutes longer than if we hadn't stopped. I guess some traffic built up while we were exploring the old Coney Island!

We pulled into the driveway and before we headed inside or unloaded our bags and stuff, we went into the backyard to check out the pool situation. They were supposed to have come yesterday to close it up and we were hoping that they had. The guy usually calls Dan to let him know he finished and this year he didn't. We were happy to find, however, that the pool was covered up and put to bed for the season!

I showered up and then got ready to go out to dinner. It was my birthday dinner and my mom was taking me, Dan, and my Grandparents out to eat. I wanted to go somewhere that we don't usually go and I thought that everyone would really enjoy Hudson's Mill!

The plan was that they would come here at 3:30 and we would head over there. I made reservations for 4:00. (That's when they open for dinner on Sunday!) They were a little late getting ready and got to our house at about 3:45. It was no big deal, though. Before we left, I wanted to show my Grandma the new cabinet in our kitchen. It was her idea and her design to move the cabinet so I wanted her to see the finished product.

We left here shortly after and we were on our way to dinner. We were the first to arrive at the restaurant at about 4:20. I guess I didn't need a reservation after all! About halfway through our meal we some other diners came in and then, as we were finishing, the place started to fill up.

We had a really nice dinner. Everyone got the short ribs and REALLY loved them! They were excellent. I was the only one to get mine with mashed potatoes instead of risotto!

Dan and I got a couple of drinks each and my Grandpa got a glass of wine.

When we were leaving, my grandpa was walking the wrong way and when my Grandma told him the way to the car, he said, "I'm not like you right now..." meaning, basically, that he was drunk! It must be fun to never have to drive, you can drink as much as you like any time you go out! (And he only had one glass!)

Anyway, after dinner we got dessert. I shared the chocolate cake with my Grandma, Dan got the creme brulee, and my mom got cheesecake. Everyone thought the whole meal was excellent and I had a great birthday dinner.

I'm really happy with my choice... of course, it was a little expensive so I felt a little bad for my mom but I'm glad everyone enjoyed.

When we left, my Grandma wanted to see Linda's house (just the outside.) We swung past her house and she, Connor, and Cameron came out to say hi!

Connor and Cameron were very happy to see us tonight. Connor, especially. He was all huggy and excited. We talked for about 5 minutes and then we headed home!

My mom dropped us off in the street... didn't even pull into the driveway!

We watched two episodes of Walking Dead and we were going to watch a third but the Netflix account was being used by others. It said that the max amount of viewers were currently watching!

Instead, we started the first episode of season six of Shameless!

Now it's late and time for bed! Back to work tomorrow... Just glad we had this little weekend getaway to get us recharged and ready to go! Can't wait for our trip to Arizona because a week-long break is long overdue!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"dinner at taryn's" or "machi koro" - October 01, 2016
"another quack" or "birthday celebration #3" - September 29, 2016
"plot reconciliation continues" or "parma night" - September 28, 2016
"33" - September 27, 2016
"debate monday" or "birthday countdown" - September 26, 2016

http://diaryland.com