Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 01, 2016 - 2:10 a.m.
"dinner at taryn's" or "machi koro"

Hey Journal!

Today was a really rainy and dreary day out! I got up at 7:45...15 minutes earlier than usual... to bring my car for its first checkup and oil and filter change.

I arrived at the BMW place at 8:46, six minutes late for my appointment.... but really, why do you need an exact appointment to drop off a car for service?

I pulled up and they checked me in. I got out of the car and went inside and sat with the guy who took my info for the loaner car.

I was really excited to see what kind of "courtesy car" they were going to give me. I was hoping for something different just to try it out. I walk outside and the loaner car is MY EXACT SAME MODEL CAR...IN THE EXACT SAME COLOR. Wow.

Next up, I had to go to 7-11 to get a copy of the NY Post for Steve. He asked me to buy it for him because he was stuck without it and needed it to make his football picks for the week. Later on I had to scan some pages from it and send it to him.

I arrived at work and the office was pretty quiet today. I guess that was partly because of the weather. I did a lot of catch-up work and I also realized that Re is coming in on Monday! She has a Jewish holiday so she's off from school. That is really going to help because I was a bit stressed over the closes!

I worked on the plot stuff some more because my number and Brian's numbers were still off just a little bit. He had a few payments that I didn't have. It turns out he just copied his number wrong from his other spreadsheet.

The day went by pretty quickly and for lunch I had the steak sandwich with mozzarella cheese on top.

I left work at 4:30 to pick up my car. When I arrived, I just pulled around the front, got out of the loaner car, went inside, signed my papers, and when I came out they had my car ready to go!

It was a really smooth process, and they're also in a temporary building. Can't wait to see how much better of an experience they have once their new place opens soon.

I came home after that and I was waiting for a package from UPS. We had to hurry to get ready to leave for dinner at Taryn's, so as we got ready I was hoping the guy would make his delivery.

He didn't. So, we left at 6:06. He made the delivery at 6:08, of course. I mean it's not a big deal but it's just funny that as soon as we left, he came.

We wound up getting two packages. I was expecting some RAM from Staples but we also got the Sisal Reaper from Target! Yes! I thought that was coming next week so that was a pleasant surprise!

The drive to Great Neck took longer than I expected... it was about an hour and 15 mins and there was a lot of traffic!

On the way, we stopped at Carvel to get some dessert. We wanted to bring Flying Saucers and, unfortunately, they didn't have the ones with the crunchies. Instead, we got sprinkles and I have to say that I think the sprinkle ones are weird. I prefer crunchies, then plain, and sprinkles are not so great!

We got to Taryn's around 7:15 and it was a little rainy/misty and cold out. We parked a little far away from the building and had to locate which building was hers. We located the door and she buzzed us in. Her apartment is on the third floor so we walked up the stairs.

Dinner was ready when we arrived, Taryn made hamburgers with pretzel buns. My picky and plain eating preferences were on display as I ate just a burger and bun with nothing else on it.

So, we ate dinner, conversed, and then when we were done eating, we played a game. Dan and I had brought this card game called Machi Koro. We had seen it in Target for a while and then one day it was on Clearance. We've had it at home for a few months and never played it so we figured we would bring it tonight and give it a whirl!

It turned out to be pretty fun. At first, we had no idea what was going on but as we played the first round we figured it out. It reminds me a lot of the game Alec brought over to our house a couple of times. I forget what it was called....I looked it up... It's called Dominion! It reminds me of a little less complicated version of that. Maybe an introductory version that's a little more luck based than strategy based.

The reason I say it's more luck-based is that the rolling of the dice controls which cards are activated in each hand. Of course, which cards you buy is a strategy, but I just felt like there was too much left to chance. The end of the game is also a little but abrupt. It seems like just when you're about to make your move someone else turns over their fourth card and BAM. Done.

That's another thing... there's no real way to block someone from winning when they're about to. It's not like you can choose an "attack" card... it's all up to the dice.

Despite what may sound negative, I really did enjoy the game and hope we play it again soon! (While I still remember how to play!)

We played two rounds of the game and then Taryn wanted to see our wedding pictures. I brought the link to them on flickr and we looked at them on her laptop.

It was very nice seeing Taryn and finally getting to see her apartment. Next time we got to visit I hope there's not as much traffic!

We left around 11:30 and headed home. On the way, we coordinated with Linda to meet up for a drink. She was out near us tonight to see a show at the theater in Smithtown. Can you believe that, even when it was a movie theater, I've never been there! Everyone used to go there to see movies when we were in middle school and high school and I have NEVER EVER been inside that building. So strange.

Anyway, we were going to meet up somewhere near us but they made it back quickly and so we met in Westbury at Chili's!

Dan and I each got the two-fer margaritas and swapped regular and strawberry! That's our thing! We hung out and talked for a while and then departed as the restaurant was closing at 1am!

When we got home my packages were waiting for me. I was excited about the RAM and installed it in my computer. This computer upstairs has been really sluggish lately and ALL I really do is open a few tabs in Chrome. I'm hoping that upping it from 2GB of RAM to 4 will REALLY speed it up. Of course, Windows XP has a 3GB limit so at most it will only make it 50% faster...but I'm optimistic that that will be a very noticeable difference!

Anyway, I'm super tired now and we don't want to sleep TOO late tomorrow! We're off to bed now! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"phantom fire alarm" or "hot air conditioning" - October 11, 2016
"the effects of RAM" - October 04, 2016
"caught up on the walking dead" or "mondaze" - October 03, 2016
"lazy sunday to recharge" - October 02, 2016
"karaoke in providence for dan's 33rd birthday" - October 02, 2016

http://diaryland.com