Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 02, 2016 - 1:45 p.m.
"karaoke in providence for dan's 33rd birthday"

Hey Journal!

Well, Saturday really turned out quite different than I expected it! Thankfully, it was all good! First off, I can't believe it's October already! Where did September go!?

We woke up yesterday morning, on the first day of October, and we headed downstairs to watch some TV. After watching some Shark Tank, it came to our attention that our friend Dan, who lives in Massachusetts, was having a birthday party tonight in Providence, Rhode Island. We made the spur of the minute decision to head up there, we booked a hotel, and off we went!

We left here around 1:00 and it was about a three-hour drive. We didn't hit any traffic and the car ride went by quickly. In fact, now that we're home again, I can barely even remember the car ride...

The hotel we stayed in was just south of Providence in Warwick. It wasn't the nicest hotel we've ever stayed in but it was the closest hotel at a reasonable price. The lady who checked us in at the front desk was wild. She seemed a little crazy and mumbled something to us about her having made googly eyes at some guy who worked there. I don't even know what that was about!

Our room was on the first floor, although it's actually considered the second floor because there's a lower level that they've decided to call the first floor. Anyway, the room was a fair size, but it was kinda old-ish. For the time we spent IN the room, it was more than sufficient, so it wasn't that big of a deal. However, compared to the hotel we stayed in last weekend, for probably about the same price, this one was a big step down.

So, we brought our stuff inside and then got ready to go. Dan took a shower and I got changed and shaved. We decided to go to Fire and Ice for dinner! We were really excited about it because we haven't been there IN SO long. We had gone to one in Boston a few years ago but the location in the PPP closed. According to Foursquare, the last time we checked in to the F&I in Providence was in 2010! I don't know if that's true but it could be!

We summoned an Uber and the ride was about $10.50. Our drive was nice and got us there quickly and with no issue... but it was a little bit of a strange experience. He was blasting this crazy rap music with so many 'fucks' in it, it was a bit weird! I mean, that didn't offend me at all BUT, at the same time, I feel like if I was the drive I would choose something a little less potentially controversial!

There was a 30 minute wait so we walked around the mall in the meantime. Fortunately, the wait turned out to be much shorter and we hurried back for our table. The place is basically exactly the same as it used to be. One notable change is that they now give you a much bigger bowl for your first trip. That makes so much more sense because I think people really want to get MORE food that first time. I remember having to bring two of the smaller metal bowls up on my first trip.

We got a drink to share... it was a large alcoholic beverage. It was called the "ice bowl." It said that it had a mix of rums and tropical punches. It was okay, but it had a very very heavy blue raspberry flavor and you know how I feel about that!

The food was great. I did a large mix of chicken, fried rice, noodles, broccoli, carrots, potatoes, and more stuff I can't remember anymore!

Dan went back up for a second trip and got a hamburger, but one trip was enough for me.

We finished there at about 7:20 which was perfect timing. It gave us time to walk to the Karaoke place which was just a .2 mile walk. We figured we'd be there with time to spare but we took a wrong turn and wound up much farther away!

To make up for lost time, we decided to jog back and we wound up getting to the CORRECT location at 7:30 on the dot!

We walked inside and were a little confused about where to go! We walked down the hallway with the private Karaoke rooms and peeked through the windows until we found Dan. We headed inside and Dan introduced us to his boyfriend, Jeff and Jeff's parents.

More people came after us, I would say a total of about 14 or so people. I don't really remember anyone's names except a girl named Liz. She as wild and outgoing and talked to us a lot during the rest of the night.

I was absolutely terrified of doing Karaoke. I have never been on to TALK in front of people, let alone sing in front of people, and let's face it... I have such a terrible voice that people are probably thankful! Throughout the night I DID manage to get the courage to sign a few songs. I never did it alone, though...always with Dan. We started with BBMak Still on Your Side. Later we did BSB's The One.

They had drinks available at the bar in the front of the Karaoke place and I was a little unsure of what to get because they only served beer, wine, and sake! I know I don't like beer or wine so I figured Sake was my only option... and I NEEDED to get some alcohol into me to keep singing!

I wound up having two sakes. Since this was the first time I have ever had it -- this is my review. I do not like sake. It tasted very weird. On top of that, I never FELT it. I would have thought that having had THAT MUCH, I would have gotten at least a good drunk feeling. I am a lightweight, after all! Meanwhile, I only got a little buzz.

Anyway, the Karaoke was a lot of fun and we all sang along to most of the songs even when other people had the microphone. It was a good time and I had never done anything like it. Dan and I closed the night out by singing "Part Time Lover" (in the style of Stevie Wonder.) We didn't intend for it to be the last song of the evening but while we were singing the girl who worked there popped her head in and said, "LAST SONG!"

We left the karaoke place at 10:30 and headed to a bar down the street. It wasn't very busy when we arrived but got more crowded as the night went on. Here, I was finally able to get my cranberry vodka although later on I switched to Mike's Hard! I don't think I've been to a bar that has Mike's Hard Lemonade before!

We hung out there until about 12:30am. We talked to Dan and Jeff and their friend Elizabeth. Elizabeth was very wild and outgoing and kept touching the guy who was walking around selling shots! As I think I mentioned before, this was the first time we met Dan's boyfriend, Jeff and he was really nice. I'm glad we finally got to meet him! Dan and I compared Pokemon -- he's at level 25 and I'm level 23.

Another big thing I don't think I mentioned is that our birthdays are on the exact same DAY and YEAR. That's right...September 27th -- the best day for a birthday! So, we both turned 33 this year! That's quite a coincidence!

When we left the bar we walked to Jeff's car which was parked a few blocks away. It was about a 5 minute walk. Although I had been cold earlier in the evening walking to the Karaoke place, I wasn't cold at all as we walked to the car!

Dan and Jeff were kind enough to drive us back to our hotel so we didn't need to call an Uber. We dropped off Elizabeth first and she was kind enough to give Dan and I a bottle water! I'm so glad because I was parched and we didn't have anything to drink back at the hotel!

I'm glad we had a little time on the ride to the hotel to talk to Dan and Jeff since we didn't have an opportunity to really talk at the karaoke place and the bar was a little loud! Both of them are super-nice and we had such a fun time. I'm so glad we took this random trip!

They dropped us off at the hotel around 1:30 and we headed in! We were exhausted by that point and we headed right to bed! I'm actually feeling a bit tired now but we're going to watch some of our TV shows that we have to catch up on.

I'll be back later with today's exciting rundown!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"late" - October 06, 2016
"phantom fire alarm" or "hot air conditioning" - October 05, 2016
"the effects of RAM" - October 04, 2016
"caught up on the walking dead" or "mondaze" - October 03, 2016
"lazy sunday to recharge" - October 02, 2016

http://diaryland.com