Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 05, 2016 - 11:01 p.m.
"phantom fire alarm" or "hot air conditioning"

Hey Journal!

It's later than I hoped to be getting to bed tonight but I'm waiting for Dan to get home. He went out tonight to watch a baseball game with his dad and I guess it's running late.

Today was a really WEIRD day at work but, as much as it was weird, it was not overwhelming. I got up this morning when my alarm went off at 8am and I intended to get a few more minutes of sleep. That didn't happen because I immediately got a call from central station about the alarm at work.

The girl who called said that there was a "trouble signal in zone 8 and the panel has reset itself." I figured this wasn't an issue because we get trouble signals from time to time. Then, about 5 minutes later I got a call from Dan's dad saying that he got a call from work that the alarm was going off. UGH.

I got ready as quickly as I could and got in. When I arrived, the fire panel was lit up. There were two zones in alarm. The basement and the lobby/dining room. I inspected all of the detectors and none were showing that they had tripped.

I called the alarm company and the guy came around 10:30. He's a good guy and he knows a lot about our system but he's a little gruff and hard to get information from.

The things he said didn't really make sense or jive with eachother. For example, he told me that only a trouble signal was sent this morning, so I asked him why no yellow trouble lights were lit on the panel, and he said he didn't know. Then, I asked him why the alarm went off and --at first he said he found it hard to believe and almost denied that it went off. Then he said one of the detectors was tripped this morning. So, I asked if one had been tripped, why wouldn't the light on the detector have been on. He said someone must have TAKEN THE DETECTOR DOWN OFF THE CEILING and then put it back. I assured him that did not happen. Nobody was climbing up on a ladder to remove a smoke detector from the ceiling.

So, he left with this -- we have no idea why anything went off today but everything was reset and working when he left. We are going to watch it closely over the next few days and see what happens.

I got a lot of work done in the office after that and then I had another really weird occurrence in the afternoon. They locker room guys said it was really hot and asked if we could put the AC on. That sounded strange to me because the AC already should have been on and it wasn't really a hot day out at all. I looked at the app and saw that the temperature was reading 80! That made no sense because it was really cool outside today!

I went upstairs to the locker room and verified that the thermostat was on "Cool" mode and set to 69. However, the air blowing out of the ducts was 89 degrees! (According to my temperature gun.) I couldn't believe it. It was like a sauna upstairs. It was hot and humid.... it smelled like an indoor pool at a hotel.

I turned the system to off and left it that way for an hour or so. I turned it back on and, again, hot air was streaming out. Made no sense at all. They are coming to look at it tomorrow.

Anyway, Steve was in for a short time thing morning but had to leave to go home because he was getting another big delivery for his workshop.

I managed to get some office work done and before I knew it, it was time to leave! Dan called me at 5:05 and I didn't even notice! I quickly packed up and headed out.

I got home and Dan went out for a walk. When he got back, he showered up and then went out to his parents' house to watch a baseball game. While he was gone, I heated up some soup for dinner and then watched World News.

I took a shower and I was still pretty hungry afterwards so I made myself some spaghetti. I made half a box and that turned out to be too much for me to finish. I saved it for tomorrow, though!

So, I ate my spaghetti and watched and episode of Girls followed by Judge Judy!

Now it's time for bed! Dan isn't home yet but I can't wait any longer... I don't want to be exhausted at work in the morning!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"columbus day with connor and cameron" - October 10, 2016
"jen b's wedding" - October 09, 2016
"we're fios now" or "jen b's rehearsal dinner" - October 08, 2016
"fios eve" or "texas roadhouse with scott" - October 08, 2016
"late" - October 06, 2016

http://diaryland.com