Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 08, 2016 - 11:25 p.m.
"we're fios now" or "jen b's rehearsal dinner"

Hey Journal!

Even though it's early for bed on a Saturday night it's LATE for bed for me because I have to get up tomorrow morning EARLY for Jen B's wedding. Not as early as the girls do, but still earlier than I get up for work!

I have to be there at 7:30 which means I have to get up by about 6:45. UGH!

Anyway, back to today... This morning I got up at 8:00 when my alarm went off accidentally. It's that new iOS10 bedtime thing. It doesn't work right and I can't figure out why. I've searched online and nobody else seems to be complaining about this.

It wasn't so bad, though, because the Fios guy called around 8:10 and said he was on his way. He arrived around 8:30. When he called, Dan told me his name was Phil. I guess he was wrong because later he told me the guy's name was John. It's okay, though, I kept referring to him as Phil the rest of the day, anyway!

Phil came in and took about three hours to get everything set up. He ran a new line from the pole to the house, he installed the new ONT in the basement and then connected us up. He had to go down the street to "turn the light on" and then returned to do the computer stuff.

He was an older guy. He was really nice and friendly and did a great job. Our internet is 50/50 which -- for download is the same that we had. It's about double for upload and that's great but do we even really need that? I don't think so, but it's not a bad thing to have.

He almost broke our router because he plugged the wrong plug into it. It was a 1.25 amp adapter when the router takes 1 amp. I would have been soooo pissed.

When we was done and finished, Dan and I switched our TiVo over and then we went through the channel list one at a time and figured out which ones we get and don't get. Dan is happy because we get all the sports channels now and we actually get a lot more regular channels than we used to, too.

We were starting to get hungry so we headed out to Wendy's after that. The lady working there today was so amazingly nice. First, she was super friendly and outgoing. She took our order and then got our food with a smile...which sounds so strange to say but it's really rare! Then, she came out from behind the counter, asked everyone how their meals were, and cleaned up people's trays! It was like being in a great alternate fast food universe!

Dan called the number of the receipt to compliment her and then went up and thanked her. I felt like it was definitely warranted. It was above and beyond, and so nice.

On the way home, Dan wanted to stop to get a haircut. We were in a rush to get back and got things done but he was planning to be quick and we hurried over there. It was the MOST RIDICULOUS THING EVER. It was also incredibly irritating because I would have gone home and started to get ready for the rehearsal dinner tonight but Dan said it would be faster if I came and waited in the car.

He went in and waited about 10 minutes for them to call him in. THEN, it took OVER AN HOUR FOR THEM TO CUT HIS HAIR! It took 1 hour and five minutes to cut a men's short haircut. He didn't get anything crazy, fancy, or weird. This haircut usually takes between 10 and 20 minutes. I can't even fathom what was going on in there. I was not irritated until about 45 minutes in when I realize we were going to be dangerously close to being late for the dinner! UGH!


When we FINALLY left that terrible haircutting place, we had to rush home and frantically get ready. I showered up and with all of our running around like crazy we were able to pull it together and leave here at 4:30. We arrived just on time.

The dinner was at La Parma II in Huntington. I had never been there before. When we arrived there was a valet parking guy outside but we declined his services. Late ron, inside, we found out that most other people had declined as well. It just made no sense and I hate valet parking so much in general.

The rehearsal dinner was good, we all sat at one giant, wide table and I sat next to Re, on my right side and Dan, Lau, and Ryan were to the left.

We found out our assignments for the wedding and I am paired with Lau! We were both very excited to hear this news! I mean, it was exciting for us because there was a chance we'd have to walk with some people we didn't know -- and we were just happy to be together!

So, the rehearsal dinner ended around 8:00ish and it felt much later. We headed home and that was our day!

Oh, and then there's the Trump news. First off, these new comments from ten years ago don't surprise me at all. I don't think anyone should be shocked to hear that he would say something like that. It's completely in line with his character and personality! I think the problem is that his own party, specifically, thinks he's losing ground (as evidenced by newly released polls, and they are looking to get as far away from him as possible. They want to jump ship. I just hope that he stays in this race -- for several reasons. One reason is because I want Hillary to win. If he stays in, hopefully he continues to lose ground, and she wins. If he drops out and gets replaced, someone else may have a better chance. However, that's problem number two. Two is that HOW would that even work. I've read a lot of theories on it and I don't think it would be smooth at all. We're only 31 days from the election. Despite deadlines to be listed on the ballot having passed, there's reason to believe the courts would allow such a thing, citing that the fair election is more important than a deadline, but at THIS point it's unconscionable to think that states can redo all of their election preparations (ballots, etc.) in time. And what about the states that allow early voting which has already begun. ALSO, what about the electoral college. What happens to those delegates pledged to those candidates? Can they change their vote? Some states say they can't legally... but would that even be upheld. It's complete insanity and would cause such turmoil in this country it would be unreal. It had better not happen. He needs to stay in because he is who he is. He made it this far, and he needs to stay the course.

Anyway, I have to get up early so I'm off to get as much sleep as I can!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"alarming" - October 13, 2016
"such a disaster" - October 12, 2016
"gasho of japan of hauppauge" - October 11, 2016
"columbus day with connor and cameron" - October 10, 2016
"jen b's wedding" - October 09, 2016

http://diaryland.com