Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 17, 2016 - 9:04 p.m.
"dobbin's landing" or "old scottsdale"

Hey Journal!

So, today was a little less crazy than yesterday but we still got a lot in and had a really fun day.

We got up today around 9:00 and the breakfast was open until 9:30. We hurried up and got ready and then headed down to the lobby. I had a waffle, of course, and also a chocolate chip muffin and a slice of white bread.

After we ate, we went over to the "business center" which really is just 2 computers in the lobby. There, I processed the payroll for work. It took about 20 minutes. It would have been faster but the computer didn't allow you to download files and I needed to save a file from our time lock to upload to ADP, SO... I had to connect to my work computer and do it that way.

Once I was finished paying people, we headed back up to the room and formulated our plan for the day.

We decided to start by driving out to "South Mountain" to take a drive up to Dobbin's Lookout! On the way there we encountered some rare pokemon and I did my best to catch them! It's hard to remember all the crazy ones we saw but today I caught a Dugtrio, and a Chancey! I'm really excited about the Chancey!

Anyway, we started driving up the to the lookout but decided to turn back because we needed to get two things-- one, we were low on gas and wanted to make sure we didn't run out on the way up! Second, I wasn't sure if we were going to need to do any hiking and I had worn my nice shoes. I didn't want them to get all dirty and dusty. So, we went back to a gas station, filled up, and then went to Target to look for a cheap pair of shoes. They didn't have anything cheap enough but I found a good pair at Ross Dress for Less and the good thing is I can use them for riding my bike at home. (Next summer, I suppose!)

Shoes in hand, or on foot, we headed back To the South Mountain Park. We made our way up the winding road to the summit. It was really very cool. I couldn't believe all the cactus and stuff. It was a really nice drive.

When we got to the top, we got out of the car and walked to this little stone hut thing. It was pretty neat. We sat there and looked out over the whole area....Phoenix, Tempe, Mesa, Scottsdale, Glendale... and we tried to figure out where everything was. Phoenix was easy to spot. We found Tempe and the area we had walked around on Saturday and, after some careful surveying, we located the Target and Ross Dress for Less in the distance. It was so small from way up there!

After we left that area we made our way down the mountain. While we were up there we decided that our plan would be to go find somewhere to eat a nice lunch. Dan picked a place called Yard House in Scottsdale.

We arrived and walked around the shopping area that was nearby. It was like a big fancy mall. It was very nice looking -- the only downside was that it smelled like shit all around outside. Weird.

Anyway, we ate lunch -- I had this ginormous turkey pot pie thing. It was actually smaller than it looked. The bowl was big and the puff pastry was huge but there wasn't too much TPP inside. However, I was pretty full when I was done, so I guess it all worked out in the end.

When we left there we walked around and decided to walk over to Old Scottsdale. It was a really cool little area and scoped out the surroundings. I was a little surprised because so many of the businesses were closed. It was like 6:30 on a Monday night and the place was deserted.

After that we walked back to the car, about one mile, and then decided to have dessert at The Oran Stop! That pizza place is so amazing we really wanted to make another appearance.

Sadly, contrary to the posted schedule, the guy who played last night was not playing tonight. We got there around 7:45 and I got some mint chocolate chip ice cream and then we sat down to watch the performance.

Tonight's organist was just not as good as last night's. He played a couple of the same songs (Star Wars Theme and Mary Poppins songs) and they just didn't sound as good. His style wasn't so great. Then, he played a bunch of boring songs. I mean, it was still cool to watch but the other guy was a million times better.

I would like to stop by one more time before we go home but ONLY if we check out who's playing first!

So....everyone left the place by 8:45 and Dan and I looked around and noticed we were the only ones left! Awkward! We decided to hit the road.

Now we've just gotten back to the hotel and we're going to get to bed. Tonight is our last night here and we're leaving the Phoenix area tomorrow. We decided to go to Las Vegas. We're going to do two interesting things.

First, we're going to go to the debate party at the university where they are holding the third and final presidential debate. Second, we're going to see Britney Spears! That should be pretty fun!

So, we're going to get up tomorrow morning, bid farewell to Home2, and then hit the road for Vegas. Hopefully we'll find something interesting to see along the way!

Now it's off to take a shower and get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"the trip back home" - October 23, 2016
"final day in phoenix" - October 21, 2016
"las vegas to phoenix" or "michelle" - October 20, 2016
"debate day at unlv" - October 20, 2016
"phoenix to vegas" or "pre-debate at unlv" - October 19, 2016

http://diaryland.com