Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 03, 2016 - 1:15 a.m.
"destination: disney" or "epcot"

Hey Journal!

Well, it's been a LONG day but here we are in Disney World and we couldn't be more excited for the fun week ahead of us! We've only been here one day, and not even a FULL day, and we've done so much and had such a great time.

It all started at 4:45am when our alarms went off and we got up. I started getting my final stuff together and did a few last minute things to get the house ready to be alone for the week. My mom arrived a few minutes before 5:00 and she came inside to help us make sure we didn't forget anything we needed.

At about 5:15, we were on the road to MacArthur! Our flight was scheduled for 6:50 and we were fine on time. I brushed my teeth this morning before we left and that turned out to be a bad mistake. I've made this mistake before and I'm well aware of the consequences! Before we left the house I felt like I had to go to the bathroom but the feeling passed. As we were on the road, it came back! It got worse and worse and then I HAD to make an emergency stop at the Airport Diner! I couldn't even make it to the airport even though it was just a few minutes further.

One business was taken care of, I was good to go and the rest of the day was smooth. But, in case you didn't know, that happens any time I wake up early and brush my teeth. I have no idea the science behind it, but it's strange.

When we arrived there was nobody on line to check bags so we had that taken care of in less than a minute. Then we were off to security. There were a handful of people ahead of us there, but it took less than 5 minutes.

THAT is why I would always like to fly from MacArthur whenever possible!

So, we boarded the plane and got our seats and off we went. The flight was good, it was a little bumpy but that doesn't bother me. We made excellent time and landed a little more than a half-hour early! We took the monorail to the main terminal and then headed to side B for the Magical Express!

We were on line 10, which took us to Coronado Springs! This time, unlike the last time we stayed here, the bus, which always takes people to the All-Star resorts, stopped at Coronado Springs FIRST! That makes much more sense since Coronado. is a Moderate and All-Star is Value!

When we arrived, I got a text that our room was not ready. We checked our backpack and then we headed to Epcot! We weren't sure what type of clothes were appropriate because it looked like it would be in the 70s during the day and mid 60s later on. We wore long pants and tee-shirts but brought hoodies with us.

It turned out to be warmer than I had expected and it got pretty hot with what we had on. The bus ride to Epcot was pretty quick and our first stop was The Land to eat lunch at one of our favorite restaurants, Sunshine Seasons! I got pork with mashed potatoes and corn! It was amazing! I love love love that place.

We had some FastPasses booked for later but we kept our eyes open for anything that had a short line. After we ate, we took A walk to the World Showcase! We stopped over in Mexico and rode the Gran Fiesta Tour! It was amazing, as always!

Next, I stopped at the bathroom in the new restrooms in Norway. They're really nice! Then we decided to see what was going on with the new Frozen ride, Frozen Ever After! We weren't able to get any FastPasses for it in advance and I've heard it has lines over over two hours! So, we made our way to the line area and found that it was closed.

Dan asked for some info and all they would say is that the ride had broken down and that it was closed. They wouldn't' say if or when it was coming back up. There was a short line of people waiting for it to open...maybe about 20 people. We decided to get on it and see what happened. Technically, they had the line closed but we went under the rope and waited.

While we were waiting, two women came over and asked us about the situation. We had been waiting about 15 minutes at this point. We told them that, and also that we had no idea what was going on. They were friendly, and then asked us if we would mind if they came under the rope and pretended to be with us. We told them, “Sure!” But really, it wouldn't have mattered - they didn't have to pretend to be with us!

Anyway, we talked to them for about 15 or 20 minutes while we waited. They're from Galveston and each have two kids. Their names were Jocelyn and Sarah. They live in Galveston, Texas and they decided to take a sisters' trip to Disney World without the kids! In fact, they didn't even tell the kids they were coming and they aren't taking any pictures because they share an iCloud account with the kids' iPads!

They were really nice. We told them we were only going to wait until 1:00 and if it didn't open, we were going to leave. Just then, about 10 of the people in front of us decided to bail on the line. We moved up but still had no idea what to expect. I was getting really hot and the sun was beating on me and I didn't have any Sunscreen on. I sat on the ground it avoid direct sunlight and about 2 minutes after that they opened the doors and re-opened the ride!

Within minutes the place was packed but we were one of the first groups to get on. I think we were the second or third boat!

The wait time was up to 65 minutes by the time we left! Insane! We REALLY lucked out.

Now, it's no secret that I am NOT a fan of Frozen and the fact that it took over one of my favorite rides, Maelstrom, will never stop upsetting me. That being said, the ride NEEDED a major overhaul of its queue area and this was really really nice.

I loved the queue, as much as I got to see of it as we breezed right through! So, first off -- the ride was good. It was cool. I still miss Maelstrom and I'm sad that it's gone.

They did use the old boat and track but just redid all of the scenes. Where you get on is in a different spot, actually. It's nearer to the end of the old ride. Then, you wind around to where the old ride started and finally head up that same hill. One thing that disappointed me about it is that at the part where you used to go backwards and “almost go off the edge,” they covered that up and you can't see outside anymore. That was always such a fun part, especially at night!

So, the ride was short -- and I feel like if ypu're going to wait THAT long for a ride, it should be a little longer! (Not how long we waited, but how long people usually do!)

When we got off, we said goodbye to our new friends and they will also be in Magic Kingdom tomorrow so, who knows, we may see them again!

After that, it was time for our Fast Pass for Spaceship Earth! My favorite ride in all of WDW. Excellent! I was reunited with my Papyrus-inventing friend and made a great face for the video! I tried to e-mail myself the video after it was over and I didn't get it. :(. Very unfair.

Next, we decided to come back to the hotel. We had gotten the text that our room was ready and we didn't even have to check in at the front desk. We were the only people on the bus on the way back from Epcot. We picked up my backpack and then headed to the room. We checked it out and got settled in.

We weren't here for too long… I put some sunscreen on, changed into my shorts, and then headed back out for Epcot AGAIN.

When we arrived we went to Ellen's Energy Adventure. Perfect timing. As we walked in, the movie portion was just starting! I keep hearing rumors that this ride if going away which would be a terrible loss. If there is any truth to that, this may be our last ride of it. Such a shame!

When we got off, we headed over to Mexico and got some frozen margaritas! We made our way around the World Showcase and stopped at the Candlelight Processional. It was just starting and we caught a glimpse of Whoopi Goldberg doing the presentation!

We turned around and realized that a showing of the American Adventure was starting so we hurried in for that. They were bringing people in through the exit today…. I wonder if they're redoing the inside and the regular entrance area.

Anyway, I always like that show.

The drinks from Mexico were very strong and I felt the effects right away! The salt they put on the rim was also very interesting….it tasted like metal water from the beach. That's the only way I can describe it!

We continued our way around and then arrived at The Land at 6:05 for our 6:05 reservation at the Garden Grill. We had a really great dinner there. THe food was excellent and the characters were a lot of fun! In fact, I think they were more fun than last time. Dale came over and did some funny stuff -- then Pluto, Mickey, and Chip. They were all great. The food was beef, turkey, sausage, mashed potatoes, and Mac and cheese. It was all good. I particularly loved the sausage. We got more of that AND the Mac and cheese.

We were there for one entire rotation and a little more. Dan thinks that last time we didn't make one full rotation so I'm happy it worked out this time!

For dessert I had some cookies and Dan had this strawberry shortcake thing.

Next we had a FastPasses for The Seas with Nemo and friends at 7:55. It was 7:50 but they let us in anway.

When we got out of that, we watched the fish in the observation area for a little while and then we went back for a walk around the World Showcase again.

We stopped at the First Aid station in the Odyssey area because I needed to get some Advil. I was getting a headache and starting to get hot from being awake so long.

The woman there was amazing. I came in and she asked, “What can I do for you?” I told her I had a headache and asked for Advil. She asked me to sign the guest book and then gave me two packets. “Here's one for now and one for later!” She was so nice and friendly. I told her it had been a long day and that we had just arrived from NY. She said she was from NY, and I saw her nametag said, Queens. She asked where in NY and I told her Long ISland. She said she used to come out to the beach in Rocky Point. Anyway, I took my Advil and then as I was leaving I thanked her again! She was the best!

We were going to get a drink but decided we both were too stuffed from dinner.

After making our way around, we stopped again to see Whoopi do some more of the processional.

Finally, we wound up back at the start and just in time to get checked in for the Illuminations FastPass! We got a good spot and watched the show. It's such an incredible fireworks display. It's so much more than that, too. Of course, we got to see the special holiday ending which is always great!

As soon as it was over we headed for the busses. We had a long line but had two busses come right away. We got back to the hotel, and now we're showered up and getting ready for bed. Tomorrow we have morning Fast Passes at Magic Kingdom and we're going to stop at the Coconino Club for breakfast! Yesss!

Until tomorrow…

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"trail's end" or "disney springs" - December 08, 2016
"animal kingdom or "cast connection" - December 08, 2016
"hollywood studios" or "lipoa" - December 06, 2016
"epcot" or "jingle bell, jingle bam!" - December 05, 2016
"magic kingdom" or "trader sam’s" - December 05, 2016

http://diaryland.com