Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 22, 2017 - 10:19 p.m.
clandestine trumpet exchange

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday! I am currently trying to fend of a little bit of sickness so that it doesn't run the weekend we have planned!

I got up this morning and headed off to work. I had a little bit of a tingle in my throat but I thought it was just dry from the night and I figured it would feel better soon. The whole day at work it was feeling much better.

Re came in today and it was great. She was able to catch up on the daily closes and a bunch of the other stuff that's been lingering around. She paid a lot of bills and did tee sheets but there's still more to be done!

Around 12:00, Nicky came to help me remove some old abandoned wires from the telephone room. He told me he would let me know when he had some time to do it and he called to see if he could come by today. I wasn't really planning on doing that today but I figured I would take advantage of the opportunity.

He came and we went through a bunch of old cables have been hanging around for YEARS AND YEARS and don't do ANYTHING. Old NYNEX wires, the old internet cable that we used to pay $1,500/month for, and more! It was good to make some progress on that.

There's still a lot more to be done but not much more we could do right now without shutting down the computer network.

For lunch, Re and I each had the steak sandwich. I had mine without mushroom or onions and Re had hers without bread. We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed the nice weather. It was a really nice day out and they say that this weekend is supposed to be even better!

I left work at 5:00 and on the way home I started to feel not-so-good. My throat started to hurt again and I got that sick feeling all over.

We had made plans earlier in the day to go to Applebee's with Linda for dinner and she asked me to come with her to pick up a trumpet she was buying from a random person on Facebook!

As soon as I got home I took a bunch of medicines. I took an Oscillococcinum and a Zicam. I also took some Vitamin C and I was determined to feel better.

When Dan got home from work we headed out to the backyard to drain the pool down a bit. The pool guy is coming tomorrow to close the pool for the season and we had to get the water level down. I set it up and turned it on and all was working well until the little glass thing that is installed in the filter shattered and started spraying water everywhere! It was crazy.

We got the filter turned off but we had no way to empty the pool any more. Dan called the pool guy and he said he would use a pump tomorrow.

I called Linda to tell her that we couldn't do dinner. I wasn't feeling up to it. I needed to rest and Dan's foot was hurting him so badly that he didn't want to walk on it.

I told Linda I would come to get the trumpet, but that was the extent of what I could do!

Dan and I watched some TV and then around 6:45, Linda came and picked me up. We drove out to Lake Grove to the house of the woman who was selling the trumpet. Linda told her she would be there between 7 and 8 and we arrived around 7:05.

When we got there, we all got out of the car and went up to the front door. It was so weird. Connor was hiding behind me and I told him he had better watch out because I was planning to hide behind HIM!

Linda knocked on the door and there was no answer. She knocked again and the door opened just a few inches. A boy was there, and he didn't say a word. He just handed a phone out the door! Linda took it and it was the woman. She said she wasn't home yet! Linda said she would just leave the money and take the trumpet... and the boy went to get it. He closed the door, and then opened it again and handed us the trumpet. Linda handed him the $60. The lady on the phone encouraged us to try it out and Linda had brought Connor's mouthpiece to give it a go.

The door closed again and we were standing on the porch with Connor playing the trumpet! When he finished, the door opened again and we said everything was good. We headed back to the car and left!

It was such a strange encounter but I'm glad I was there for it. I also think that $60 for a trumpet was a pretty good deal!

We were very close to the South Setauket Target so we headed there after. I had to get epsom salt for Dan's foot.

We made a quick lap around the store, got some things we needed, and then Linda dropped me back off at home to tend to Dan's needs.

I felt bad that we couldn't go out to dinner as planned but it really was for the best. I was able to take more medicine and rest up a bit and finished packing. I wanted to make sure we could get to bed at a reasonable time so I can rest up for the weekend.

I'm still scared that I might wake up tomorrow and not be able to go but I'm REALLY going to try to do my best!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
turning 34 - September 27, 2017
"birthday eve" or "out with the OLD" - September 26, 2017
beef stew - September 25, 2017
"pjs pancake house" or "hand in your breakfast" - September 24, 2017
"summer weather corn maze" or "hotel party" - September 24, 2017

http://diaryland.com