Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 24, 2017 - 12:30 p.m.
"summer weather corn maze" or "hotel party"

Hey Journal!

So, yesterday we had a fun corn maze adventure! I woke up at 8:00 and I was really happy that my throat was feeling a bit better. I didn't have that weird sick feeling, so I was happy about that and looking forward to the weekend!

We left the house at about 9:00 and on the way we had to stop at work. I had left something important on my desk and I wanted to make sure that it didn't fall into the wrong hands. It's a confidential agreement and I had planned to take it home with me but forgot it on Friday. It was face-down and not really obvious but you never know who's trolling around on the weekends.

So, I got the paper and then Dan and I headed off to the most amazing corn maze ever at Stony Hill Farm in Chester, NJ! It's so amazing. We stumbled on it three years ago and I was in love! It was the best and most challenging corn maze I had ever done and it was worth every penny!

I had told Mikey and Theresa about it a while ago and Theresa said they really wanted to go with us this year!

We made good time and didn't really have any traffic. We only made on quick stop at Wendy's because I didn't have breakfast and I was getting a little hungry. I took a few Zicams before we go to the maze because my throat wasn't feeling 100%. It was a lot better, but I was worried about not feeling so great and being out in the hot sun all day.

We arrived at the maze at 12:00 and, in the past, I had forgotten to put my sunscreen on and I was walking around the maze using the map as a shield to TRY to keep the sun away from my face and neck. This time I was prepared. I brought sunscreen and when we stopped at Wendy's shortly before arrival at the maze, I got it all applied!

I also brought a bottle of water with me this time. I hadn't done that before but thought it might be a good idea. I was a little hesitant about having to carry it around the whole time but it turned out to be very necessary.

Today was like a hot summer day! It was about 82 degrees but in the maze there was no breeze at all. It was soooo hot and the water was great.

This year's theme was Sea Turtle Recovery. When I looked at the picture of the maze, I thought it looked easier than alt year... but then I looked back at other maze pictures from previous years and they all look pretty easy at first glance but once you get inside it's totally different!

We didn't know how many rubbings and word stations there were in each colored section so we found something things the blue section but then prematurely crossed into the other colors! We found the Poppit clues in the other sections telling us what to look for and so we were a little more organized at that point. Finally, we headed back to the blue section and found the missing ones. Unfortunately, we missed one and had to go BACK!

Dan's foot has been hurting him and last night he tried to soak it in epsom salt to prepare for today. It was feeling better at first but he was in some real pain by the end of the maze!

I used my workout tracker and we walked over five miles and it took 2 hours and 30 minutes!

When we made it out of the maze, I was very hot and sweaty and thirsty! I bought a cold pink lemonade Snapple from the store. It was 2.49 which I felt was a little overpriced but I also was so hot that I would have paid $5! We also got an ice cream sandwich to cool us down.

After that we left the farm and headed down to the hotel in Princeton! It was about an hour drive and we stopped at Wegman's along the way. The homeland. I was really really looking forward to finding their fall soaps but I was quite disappointed because they didn't have any! I need to stock up for the coming year. On the bright side, I did get some cheese.

We got some drinks for the night and then we headed the rest of the way. When we arrived we brought our stuff to the room and then went down to the pool!

There was a real wild scene going on at the pool. There was a LARGE group of children running, screaming, and going wild in the pool and the hot tub. We were a little intimidated by them all and decided to stay in the corner and wait them out. There were a couple of adults with them at first but soon after we realized they were all alone. Later, we realized that they were apart of some large BBQ going on in the courtyard. Like, it seemed like one of them got a hotel room and invited everyone they know to come to a pool party / bbq at the hotel! it was nuts. The echoing of the screaming of so irritating that I needed to get my earplugs.

Meanwhile, we were able to commandeer the hot tub and we enjoyed that for a while. A little later, they finally went outside and left us in peace! We went in the pool for a bit after the hot tub and then headed back to the room to shower up and get ready for dinner.

Dan found a nice little place to get dinner by the college. We took an Uber there... it was a quick ride but we figured it would be nice to have some drinks and stuff. I had two Mike's Hards before we left and I was feeling a little wild when we got there.

Our Uber driver was a little nasty... Dan was talking to him about his Uber driving and Mikey asked him a questions and he said "we covered that already." He had a few more curt remarks, too.

When we arrived, we got out and walked around the Princeton campus. We checked out all the Harry Potter-esque buildings and then we snuck inside one where there were people playing the piano.

Eventually we got hungry and headed to a place called Winberie's for dinner. It was kinda pub-like and old-looking inside. It was a nice place, and I enjoyed my meal. I got a cranberry and vodka and a chicken pot pie! The chicken pot pie had the puff pastry sitting on top, which I think is such a lame excuse for a "pie" but the chicken soup inside was really good so I wasn't upset about it.

After we ate, we took a walk down the main street of the town and then stopped at CVS because Theresa wanted to get a snack.

We summoned an Uber and headed back to the hotel and we got back there around 10:30. We had plenty of drinks and snacks in the room so we hung out, had our drinks, and just talked and enjoyed the rest of the night! I don't know where the time went but before I knew it, it was 2am!

I started to get ready for bed, and then we all headed off to sleep! It was a fun night and fun little getaway! We set our alarms for 9am (which was way too early) and that was our night!

I'll be back later to fill in the Sunday details!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
bread basket for one - September 28, 2017
turning 34 - September 27, 2017
"birthday eve" or "out with the OLD" - September 26, 2017
beef stew - September 25, 2017
"pjs pancake house" or "hand in your breakfast" - September 24, 2017

http://diaryland.com