Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 03, 2007 - 2:01 a.m.
o noir

Hey Journal!!

Just about to go to bed... it�s 2am Monday morning, but of course this is Sunday's entry!

What a crazy day we had today.... mostly becasue of where we ate dinner!

So, we got up at about 12, got ready and then went out for breakfast at Tim Horton's. It was me, Fred, and Tom. His new nickname is Tommy Monkey lol.

We really didnt see charlot today, only for a few minutes in the afternoon. For some reason he has been very scarse this weekend.

Anyway, after breakfast, Fred had to come home to do some things to get ready for work tomorrow... oh the weekend of a teacher!

So, TomTom took us to the mall and Dan bought a scarf. Apparantly, everyone here has a scarf! It�s wild!

It�s also very sad for us because everyone here is about 9million times more fashionable than anyone on Long island, and me, being one of the least fashionable people where WE live, means that I am that much more unfashionable here! LOL

So, in case I didnt mention ,Tomtom is from France.

We had a fun time at the mall, and then after that we went to get his camera back at his apartment. He told us the wrong way to get there, and we wound up driving to the other side of the city, WAY out of the way! but it was no problem, it was a fun ride and a scenic tour!!!

So.... we came back and Tried to take a little nap, but we didn�t sleep casue everyone kept talking. So, then we went to Dinner.... at a place called O Noir. It�s a restaurant owned and run by blind people, and you go in, and you have to put all of your belongings that make light, such as a cell phone, into a locker. Then you get with your waiter, and you form a line, by putting your hands on the person in front of you�s shoulders, and they lead you through two sets of curtains into a PITCH BLACK ROOM. Now, I thought that after a while my eyes would adjust and I could see SOMETHING, but not at all. You see NOTHING the whole time you�re there... about 2 hours.

NOTHING.

The give you bread and tell you that the butter is in the center of your plate, so I didnt have much trouble with that, although I didn�t know if I even HAD any butter on my knife when I put it on my bread! LOL

Then when it came time for the meal, it�s so messy, casue I had to keep using my fingers to FEEL if there was food on the plate, and see WHAT food it was. I got the Filet Mignon, and there were string beans and potatoes too, but I couldnt know where anyhting was without feeling it. And it�s amazing that the waiter clears the table and brings your food without being able to see!

So...it was really a crazy experience, we noticed that you smell the food so much more, and the taste is different than when you see it. You concentrate your other senses so much more. It�s wild.

At first I was very scared and nervous about it, not only about not being able to see, but about not being able to SEE my food that I was about to eat. I like to inspect it!! lol

Then after about an hour, I started to feel calm, and it was really relaxing.. and I found myself thinking about stuff, and like.. imagining more than I would if I had other visual stimulation.

It was funny Talking, too.. .cause Fred and tom tom would talk, and you couldn�t tell EXACTLY where they were... We had to try to reach across the table to touch their sholder, if you wanted to know where they were...

Scariest part for me, i think may have been the dessert though, cause they gave me BOILING HOT TEA. I was afraid I would spill it, or someone ELSE would spill on me, and i would be burnt, but luckily that did not happen.

When they take you back out, you do the same line thing, and as you go through the curtains into the light, like any time you�re in the dark, the light is blinding at first! lol

Anyway, we came back here and had a little singing party... Fred put on a bunch of songs and we all sang to them ,some in english and some in french... and really it was a crazy fun time! I got some short video clips of it, so you will ahve to see them at some time!

Now we�re getting ready for bed!!!

Again, please exuse the overabunsance of ������s there are in this, again the french keybaord is different, and I cant figure it out!!!

Tommorw fred has work early in the morning, (although he originally said he had off) and we�re going to hang out with Tom tom.

Until tomorrow....

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com