Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 25, 2016 - 11:45 p.m.
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre"

Hey Journal!

What a long day! We have arrived in Montreal and were super exhausted after a very busy day!

We woke up this morning at 4:15am and got ready to hit the road. We packed up the car and we were officially pulling out of the driveway at 4:50am. It was a little later than we had planned to leave but it all worked out perfectly.

There wasn't a bit of traffic and we made it across the George Washington Bridge in 45 minutes! That's unheard of!

Other than that, I don't have too much to say about our drive here because I basically slept the entire time! I usually try to stay up to keep Dan company but I was just feeling it this weekend and I knew if I didn't get sleep I was gonna be a mess tonight.

Our plan was to stop at Cracker Barrel just north of Albany for breakfast and Dan woke me up as we pulled into the parking lot.

Our waitress was very strange. She was super nice but she whispered to is the whole time and said everything in this sexual voice!

I was planning to get Mommas breakfast but I tried one of the new specials. It came with one less package but one extra meat. It was cheaper, so it made much more sense.

I am so in love with Cracker Barrel turkey sausage. It's amazing and it's the best turkey sausage I've ever had. The one we buy at home is like rubber.

After we ate we were back on the road. It was about 8:30 and we planned to stop at a mall about an hour away to get something for Fred. It was perfect timing because the mall opened at 9:30 which was just a few minutes after we got there.

I slept most of the way there and woke up just as we pulled into the parking lot.

We went to a Target there while we waited for the mall to open. I got an ice scraper that was on clearance! Dan had gotten it in the beginning of the season and if I can find the receipt we will return it!

We were back on the road and I slept again for a long time. I woke up for a while near Lake George and again just before the border!

There was about a 10 minute delay at the border but it wasn't terrible. The woman there asked us how we knew Fred, as they always do. I think they are always caught off guard when we talk about the random bus incident!

As we approached Montreal, we stopped at a supermarket because I wanted to stock up on Five Alive! I got three packs of juice boxes.

I drank three of the boxes immediately! Five Alive is so amazing I can't believe we don't have it anymore at home. :(

We arrived at Fred's a little after 1:00! Not bad at all!

We got settled in and then we went out for lunch. Fred suggested Cora which we like, but it wasn't the best idea because they serve breakfast and we had already had breakfast. It was basically a repeat. On top of that, the place Fred wanted to take us for dinner served breakfast-like items so it was a little overload!

I got a waffle with eggs at Cora and we hung out there for a while.

After lunch we went to SAQ to buy alcohol to bring with us to dinner.

We returned to Fred's and played the game Blokus! I had seen it before in Target but never played it. It was a lot of fun! We played about three or four rounds and then it was time to leave for dinner.

Fred's friend Anisa came with us and we had to drive about 45 minutes north. The place we went was a "cabine a sucre." Literally a sugar cabin but it was a maple sugaring cabin!

So, it's kinda hard to explain from here- when we got there, we pulled in and the entire parking lot- and basically everywhere, was covered with snow. You parked in the snow and walked to the front door of the cabin in the show. So random.

Inside they had a room where the. Apple sugaring equipment was. It seems that's their business, and then they have long tables in the adjoining rooms and people come and for 18CAD, $13.50USD, you get all you can eat food served with maple syrup!

I'm gonna skip ahead and then come back to dinner- the place is BYOB So everyone brings a bunch of alcohol and gets really drunk. They have another room with a dj and people just party there and play beer pong and other games all night and there is no charge for any of this. It's like nothing I've ever seen.

Outside, also free of charge (or any sort of order,) there are boxes of snow and they pour maple syrup onto the snow and it hardens up and then you take a Popsicle stick, scrape it up, and eat it. It was really really really sweet!

There's a bunch of playground stuff-- swings and slides, and a penned in area around back with llamas!! Again everything is snow-covered! People just mill around wherever they want and it's so strange but was so cool.

Dinner was inside at a long table. They gave us a ton of food, unlimited, and the things I ate were pea soup, ham, and potatoes. Things I did not eat were some weird spreadable meat, pork rinds, hot dogs, and some things I can't remember.

What I had was very good.

When our cabine experience was over, we made our way back to Montreal!

We got back around 10:00 and although Dan and Fred were exhausted we decided to go in the hot tub! We had to.

It was absolutely frigid outside and I was shocked as I made my way from the back door to the tub. I was freezing and my feet were stinging from walking on ice to get there!

I was really really dreading getting out. I was afraid I was going to turn into an icicle!

We were in the hot tub for about 45 minutes and it was nice. It felt good with it being so cold. After a while I started to get a little hot so I picked ice off the fence and put it on my head to cool me down.

Dan wanted to get out so we hurried inside but I was shocked that I wasn't really cold at all! I put my towel on and it was much harder before getting in than it was getting out.

We came inside and dried off and then Dan took a shower and then I did!

Now Fred is showering up and we're going to get to sleep. It's only 11:45 and it feels like it's 3am!

Hopefully tomorrow we can sleep nice and late! We need it!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"if the suit doesn't fit" - March 30, 2016
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016

http://diaryland.com