Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 21, 2009 - 10:38 p.m.
"road closed" or "mr. toad - gad! what is it?"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed off to work. It was a weird day.

As I approached work, I learned that our road was closed. Now, on this 3/4 mile stretch of road, we are the only business... the only anything on this road. Two roads run along side us, so there are only two ways to get here. I come from the east, and they had the road closed with cones, and you could see that they were digging up the whole road on that side. So, I went alllll the way around, down to the Southern State, and back up. When I arrived at the OTHER entrance to our road, it was CLOSED TOO!! Insanity!

I slowed down, and the man there waved me on to keep going, but I explained to him that I worked at the golf course, so he moved the cones and let me go. They weren't doing anything on the road that kept you from getting there, but you just couldn't get through to the other side. Anyway, it was a mess!

It was a beautiful day out, and what would have been a busy busy day in the restaurant was dead because of the blockage.

It was quiet in the morning, Diane was late, and Dan's dad had worked early, so he was leaving as I got in.

For breakfast I had Mini Muffins, and then later on in the day, because I was unhappy with the soup choices today, I had Pop Tarts to hold me over till lunch.

For lunch, I had one of the specials today, Steak Flatbread Pizza. It was really good. As you may be able to figure out, it was a flatbread pizza with steak in the sauce. :)

In the afternoon I turned the lights off in Linda's office and we had an elementary school flashback experience. It reminded me of hot days at the end of the school year when the teacher would turn out the lights...it was so fun!

I departed at 5, and much to my dismay, the road was STILL closed, so I couldn't go to the right when leaving. This meant I had to go all the way around, and it cost me an extra 15 minutes on my drive home.

To make matters worse, the traffic today was HORRENDOUS!!

I got home around 6. Ugh. I watched some of the news, and there was a story about a woman who died in the city who has the same name as someone who works at a church that
s on CPC. I wonder if it's her.

There was a story on World News tonight about baseball umpires who make bad bad calls. It was sparked by last night's egregious calls during the playoff game, and as I always say... if you're NOT going to do replays, and give these umpires all the power, then they have to have something to hold them responsible. If they make a bad call, they should be subject to losing their job. Then see how quickly THEY vote to have replays.

Anyway, Dan got home from work late and then we watched "The Wind in the Willows," which is an old Disney movie that I have on video, but we rented it from Netflix. It's the inspiration for Mr. Toad's Wild Ride, one of my favorite Disney rides that no longer exists at WDW but I was very happy to relive in Disneyland last year!

Alas, a little later I had a crazy mess up with Loopt on my phone. They came out with a new App called Loopt Mix, and to make a long story short, I installed it, and set up my account, and then the next time I went in, it made me do it again... but now I was showing up TWICE, and I couldn't control the second profile. It was so strange. Then I e-mailed their support, and they got rid of the duplicate profile, but NOW I can't re-register to make a new one... it's telling me that my e-mail has to be verified, BUT they never send out the verification e-mail. It's crazy.

Anyway, I had some cereal, took a shower, and then we watched Glee! What a great show! I can't believe it's not going to be on next week. That stupid World Series does this every year!

After that I had a turkey TV dinner, and now it's time for bed!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com