Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 23, 2010 - 10:38 p.m.
"tower of london"

10:38pm GMT, 5:38 EST

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up at 10:00 and took our showers. We got out, and took the tube to Buckingham Palace.

We took pictures there, and walked around in the really beautiful park. Then we took the tube to Tower Hill. We were going to take a "London Walks" tour of the tower, but first we wanted to get some breakfast. We walked around, but everything was closed in that area, so we finally found an open Subway, and figured we'd better just go there!

I got two "Cheese Toasties" to hold me over.

We headed back to the Tower Hill station to meet up with the tour group. We paid, and got the Student rate with our Stony Brook IDs! :)

Our tour guide, Judy, was really nice, and reminded me of a professor I had in college. She had a very similar personality, and even kinda resembled her a little. Susan Hinley. A lot of the beginning of the tour took place in the sun, and unfortunately I didn't put on any sunscreen.

It was so much warmer today and it was supposed to be! It's been unseasonably warm the past few days, and everyone keeps talking about how it's never like this here! The heat isn't SO bad.. but the only inconveniences are that most stores and buildings are NOT air conditioned! It's a very big shock coming from New York.. or the US, where EVERYTHING has air conditioning.

Anyway, back to the story.. The tour was nice, I think I may have gotten a little sunburn, though. I tried my best to block the rays with a brochure, but I don't know how successful I was. This one girl on our tour... she saw me trying to block the sun and she came over and plopped her hat down on my head! (I was a little skeeved, cause I don't like other people's hats!) She told me she was from Argentina, and then asked me if I had heard of Argentina. I indicated that I had. She was really nice, but a little bothersome, as she kept talking to us from that point on (while to tour was going on!)

So, after our tour guide gave us some basic history on the Tower, we were free to roam around. We went in the towers, and then got on line to see the Crown Jewels!

After that, we went to a little shopping area, and walked around for a bit.. then took the tube back to Angel. We were going to have dinner at the Nag's Head, but unfortunately the two items that both Dan and I were going to order were the only two items not available! Unfortunate.

Instead, we went across the street to another pub where I had a chicken dinner! It was cooked really differently. It was a half a chicken.. cooked on some sort of stick... and looked like nothing I have ever seen before. It came with potatoes and broccoli and carrots. It was really enjoyable.

Then we decided to take a walk around the Angel Islington area, checked out the scene around here, and then headed back at about 10:00.

We got ready for bed... and now we're gonna get some sleep!

No real plans for tomorrow... but we HAVE to figure out how to charge up my laptop.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com