Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 18, 2012 - 10:36 p.m.
"aunt chickie's adventure in cold spring"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up at 7:45 to get ready for our day of fun, a trip to Aunt Chickie's house!

We got ready and Dan took a shower, and my mom came by at 8:00. We left and on the way we stopped by my mom's work to see her office. We got the grand tour, and then we went to McDonald's for breakfast.

I ordered the "Hot Cakes Platter," but for some reason the guy misheard that as "Big Breakfast Platter." Similar, I know. So, it took them forever to figure out how to refund my money, but finally we had our breakfast and it was enjoyable!

We hit the road and headed towards the city. We told Aunt Chickie that we would be up to her around 12 or 12:15, so we had some time to kill, and there was a park in the city that I had wanted to go to for a long time. I saw it on Eyewitness News a long time ago. It's called Fort Tryon Park and The Cloisters! What a wild place. We had no problem getting there and we found a parking spot with no trouble at all!

The park was really cool! It was fun to walk around and it had amazing views of the George Washington Bridge, the Hudson River, and the cliffs on the other side of the river. We explored the park and then went over to "The Cloisters!" It's a museum now and has Medieval art and stuff. We didn't go in the museum because a) we didn't have enough time for it and b) it was $25 per person, and there was no way on God's green earth that I would pay $25 to go in there.

In fact, the Admission fee is actually "recommended" and the website says you don't have to pay, but they make it as awkward as possible to do anything but pay the full price. One day I will call them on it and give like $5, or something reasonable. (Less, clearly.)

Anyway, we took in the sights outside, and as with most things we do in the cold/winter, I really wished it was warmed out, and have decided we will have to go back next summer!

We walked back to the car, and then we were back on our way to Aunt Chickie's!

At this point, Dan decided to miss our exit and we wound up paying a $4 toll for nothing. It was very unfortunate.

We got there at exactly 12:15 and we hung out and talked to Aunt Chickie for a little bit in her living room. Then, it was time for the moment we had all been waiting for... she unveiled her Aunt Chickie Original Christmas Stockings!! She made one for me and one for Dan! Very very exciting!! I have always wanted one, and often wondered why I never got one when I was little, but now those times are in the past because I have one!! WOO HOO! You have no idea how amazing this is.

Anyway, after that we headed out and Aunt Chickie gave us the grand tour of Cold Spring. She took us to the school and then downtown and we walked around by the river. Then we went to the old church, and then the cemetery. We saw where many of her family's graves are, and even where Aunt Chckie will be buried! Then she shows us the graves of her dentist and her doctor!

We went to a little garage sale type thing on the side of the road, and Aunt Chickie bought some baskets, and then we headed out to lunch!

We got to the restaurant at about 2:30 and it was called Riverside. It was a nice place, and a pretty fancy restaurant. The food was fancier than the restaurant itself, but it was such a great lunch! We had a great view of the river and the mountains, and it was really nice. I got the steak and it was delicious. It came with potatoes, carrots, and string beans, and I ate every last bit. Dan got a stuffed chicken breast thing, my mom got penne with chicken, and Aunt Chickie got "clamsauce over linguini."

After lunch, I was stuffed! I was pretty hungry before, and now I'm glad because I wouldn't have been able to eat my whole meal if we had gone sooner! Then we headed back to her house.

Her Granddaughter Mellisa was there, and then my mom's cousin Janet got home as well. We hung out for a while, had some cake and stuff, and then we headed home at about 5pm!

We made excellent time on the way home! I think it's one of the fastest times we've made it home from that area upstate!

It was a really fun day! I'm glad we went. When we got home, we watched some TV but then headed right back out to hang out with Jerry! We hadn't seen him in forever, so I felt bad that we might not be able to make it tonight! We went to Applebee's over by the airport at about 7:30 and I had dessert and Dan got an appetizer.

We were there until about 10:00 and then headed home. It worked out really well that Once Upon a Time wasn't on tonight because it gave us more time! :P

I took a shower when we got home and now I am off to bed! Work tomorrow, and I think I may be tired, but it'll be a really short week! Only two days and then we leave for Virginia for Thanksgiving!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com