Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 12, 2014 - 12:15 a.m.
"sweet louie's" or "panick button"

Hey Journal!

HAPPY FRIDAY and greetings from Allentown, PA!

We have embarked on our fun getaway weekend with Re!

The day started out as usual and I got up and headed out for work. I tried to put together some of the things I wanted to take with me this weekend so that I'd have a head start on packing. We planned to leave as soon as we got home from work, so I wanted to get as much done ahead of time as I could!

Work was pretty busy today... I had a lot of random things to do. One of the random things was to help Steve get a new cellphone. That sounds easy enough, but it was actually a lot more complicated than it should have been. About a week ago he said that he wanted to get a new one and since his phone is not through the golf course, I had no ability to help. His phone is through the cemetery, so I called over there and told them when he wanted. Everything was supposed to be taken care of until I got a call from them yesterday telling me that they couldn't order the phone because if they did, it would take two days to ship, and they'd have to switch the phone over BEFORE it shipped (which I've never heard of) and so he'd be without a phone for two days.

It was all ridiculous, so I told Steve I'd try to get it sorted out myself today. I called the local store and they said they couldn't help me because I wasn't on the account, so I called and got myself added to the cemetery's cell phone account. (I have no interest in being on this account... so I'd better not hear any grief about it.) Anyway, I called and added myself to the account, and then went to the store.

I was in and out in about 10 minutes, and the guy who helped me was very nice. So now, Steve is all set up with a brand new iPhone 5s! He'd been very behind with the 4, so I'm sure he will love this new phone.

I had a late lunch today...around 4:00. I had plain grilled chicken, but I purposely had it a little later so that I could hold myself over until dinner.

I left work at 5 and headed home. I showered up and then got ready to leave for our adventure!
Re arrived here around 6:30 and Dan was finishing up getting ready, so we hit the road at 6:45. We hit a little traffic in the city but nothing major!

We really had no plans, or hotels picked out so our plan was just to wing it! Our one goal was to go to Gettysburg, and we figured we'd do some fun stuff along the way.

For dinner, we stopped at a restaurant called Sweet Louie's in NJ. We looked up nearby restaurants and that came up, and it looked like it would be pretty good. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't the best.

Re and I got the Turkey Dinner. The turkey was good but the stuffing was weird and the bread was stale! So much for Sweet Louie... and we had such high hopes for him!

In the car we devised a plan and decided that tomorrow we would go to Cracker Barrel for breakfast and then to the Crystal Cave! I LOVE caves!! Can't wait!

With that in mind, we found a hotel in Allentown to spend the night. We lucked out because there's a Cracker Barrel about 2 mins from the hotel and the Cave is about 20 mins away. Perfect!

We looked up hotels and decided to stay in the Hilton Garden Inn. It was a nice hotel and just $99. When we arrived, we went to the front desk to check in. There was nobody at the desk for about 5 minutes, which was really weird. There was a big sign that said the manager's name was "Deborah Panick" and we were all in a giddy mood making jokes like "Don't Panick" or "Where's the Panick Button?" It was wild.

Finally, a woman by the last name of Fuchs came out to help us. She checked us in and we headed to the room! It was a nice room, and we were happy.

We just got settled in and now we're off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com