Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 02, 2014 - 8:45 p.m.
"griffith observatory" or "brunch with jro"

8:45pm PST

Hey Journal!

Well, today was our second day here in California and today we woke up around 9:00 and got ready to check out of our hotel. We left around 10:00. Dan had made plans to have brunch with JRo, so we headed from Anaheim to Los Angeles.

Since we weren't sure exactly when we would be eating, we stopped at Jack in the Box on the way and got a little something to hold us over. We got eggs, pancakes, bacon, and sausage and split it.

The drive to LA took about an hour and we put the top down on the convertible for some of it! It was a little chilly out, so we put it back up after a little while.

We got to JRo's apartment around 11:15 and we saw his apartment and then headed to brunch. We walked to a place called Open Air Restaurant. It was a cool place. I got a waffle and we hung out there for a while.

When we were done, we walked back to JRo's, said goodbye and then headed back to our car which was parked down the street from his apartment.

Next, we headed to Griffith Observatory. There were a TON of people headed there...a huge line of cars.... but we found a parking spot that was relatively close and we checked out the view and took some pictures. It was a little chilly today, so I had my sweatshirt on! I really want it to be warmer for the rest of the trip!

After that we headed to our hotel which is near our activities for tomorrow. Tomorrow morning we're going to the Price is Right... which I didn't realize until very recently that there's a chance we could BE ON IT. I mean, it's probably unlikely, but at first when I got the tickets, I was just thinking of going to WATCH it... not that you could actually be on it! I'm counting on Dan to impress the casting people and maybe he can get picked!

Tomorrow, we're also going to Jimmy Kimmel. I hope that TPIR doesn't go too long that we miss Kimmel! We have to be there at 3.

Anyway, after we got checked into our hotel, we went to Target to get some snacks and water for the trip. What a wild experience. First, Target here has a liquor section! That's pretty neat. They also have PAPER bags. They aren't allowed to have plastic bags anymore, so they have paper and they charge $.10 for them. I have a plan, though... I'm going to take my Target paper bag home (because I love it!) and use it at OUR Target and SAVE .05 each time, thus recouping my fee.

We got pretzels, water, and goldfish.... and as we were heading to the checkout, we had the weirdest encounter. This guy (maybe 25) walks past us and then kinda stops and says, "Can I ask you a terrible question?"

Dan and I were both confused, and Dan said: "Okay...."

RandomGuy: "What do you guys do you your skin because it looks AMAZING!"
Dan: -laugh- Ummmmm Nothing really...
RandomGuy: "No (look of disbelief) -said some other stuff but I can't remember-
Dan and I kinda smiled and then some old man with a shopping cart came down the aisle and we had to move, so as we departed:
RandomGuy: Oh well, fuck you guys.... Keep on doing nothing!

It was such a crazy experience.... there are so many unanswered questions... First off, why was that "a terrible question?" Secondly, do we REALLY have that great skin. I mean, I looked at Dan's face and mine afterwards.... I suppose it's not bad, but I didn't think the kid's face was bad either.. Third, was this just some kind of weird line to start talking to us? I don't even understand.

I guess there are just some things you'll never know the answer too. This goes right up there with the guy in the keep who wanted us to pull off the highway that time and we obviously did not, but still wonder to this day what was going on.

Anyway, after Target we went to get something to eat. We wound up eating at In and Out Burger which was just down the street from our hotel.

It was good but it was CROWDED. The place was packed. It took us a while to find a seat and wait for our order. We were number 93 and they were on like 62 when we got there.

After we ate, we came back to the hotel and now we're just getting ready for bed. I know it's early but we're tired and we have to get up early for TPIR, so we figured we'd just get to bed.

Tomorrow we're going to get out of the city. We feel like we want to get away from the busy craziness. It's too hard to find parking, the hotels are expensive and you get less, it's hard to find places to eat (there are so many, but none you really want to go to!) I just feel like being outside the city gives you so many more options. So we're going to figure that out tomorrow.

Now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com