Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 13, 2015 - 10:33 p.m.
"the roadtrip back from hershey, pa"

Hey Journal!

Well, we're home from our weekend trip to Hershey and we had a GREAT time! The drive home took a lot of energy out of me and I'm ready for bed....I can barely keep my eyes open!

This morning we set our alarm for 9:30am but wound up waking up at about 9:00 on our own. I started to get ready to leave and packed up as much stuff as I could. Connor and Cameron woke up shortly after that and got ready for breakfast. They didn't really have to do much because we were going to go in the pool afterwards. Cameron was fine to go to breakfast in her pajamas and Connor just put shoes on and wore his footie pajamas!

The breakfast area was very crowded this morning. Yesterday it was really calm and quiet and today it was the complete opposite. We found one table that wasn't occupied but it had no chairs! We were going to stand at it but then noticed that there was additional seating upstairs! it was kinda weird to carry the food up there but it was empty! There were a ton of tables and only one was in use. By the time we finished, there were a lot of other people up there, too!

I had frosted flakes this morning and so did Connor and Cameron. We got settled at our table upstairs while Dan got us eggs and bacon. He brought back a big plate and then split it up for us. I also had a biscuit with my meal.

We finished with breakfast around 10:00 and headed back to the room. We all put on our bathing suits and went down to the pool. Conveniently, the pool was located in our building so we didn't have to go outside to get to it. I was going to go in but when we got inside there were already a ton of kids in the pool. I put my feet in and it was kinda cold so I opted to stay dry. Dan changed his mind as well, so he watched Connor and Cameron and I went back up to the room to put my shoes on and get Dan's phone.

After that, I went out to the car to clean out some of the junk that had accumulated over the past few days in preparation for the drive home. When I got back, it was almost time for them to get out of the pool. At was around 10:30 or so. We told them it was time to go and they didn't complain at all... they were really good about it. We went back to the room and Cameron took a shower. We told her just to rinse off and get the chlorine off but she was in there for a while! At one point the water got really hot and she didn't tell us so she was just standing in the corner of the shower away from the water until we asked how everything was going!

Once she was out, Connor jumped in. He was in there for a while, too.. but it was okay because we were helping Cameron dry her hair. We took our the hair dryer and idd that for a little bit.

Once Connor got out, Dan went in the shower and I finished getting ready and packing up. Connor used the hair dryer, too and at one point I heard Cameron yelling because Connor had melted the smile lines off of her Hershey's Kiss doll!! It's not THAT bad... you can still see the mouth but the little lines at the corner were completely gone!

When Dan was done, he came out and noticed that Connor's hair was really wet. I looked and it didn't look like it had been dried at all! I have no idea what he was doing with the hair dryer that whole time! Dan said, "You're hair is soaking wet!" Connor: "I know. I also used the bar soap in it. It's really spiky but at least it smells good."

We made good progress getting everything ready to go and then we checked the room to make sure we hadn't left anything behind! We departed at 11:15 and hit the road.

We made a farewell stop at Chocolate World for one last ride! It's really is a great ride! I was hoping they'd be giving out a different candy today but it was Kit Kats again. I love Kit Kats... but still... I wanted some variety.

After the ride we got some more souvenirs. Dan and I got a Christmas tree ornament and Connor and Cameron got some chocolate and a gift for Linda and Dan!

We said goodbye to Chocolate World and at 12:15 we were on the road home!

We had no traffic in Pennsylvania at all and New Jersey was pretty good, too. Before leaving the state, however, we made a stop at the Allentown Wegmans! I mean, what would a trip to ANYWHERE we without a stop at Wegmans! We didn't have much room in the car but we wanted to get some more Christmas hand soaps. Sadly, they were all out. I am going to have to file a complaint with Robert B. himself! I did make up for it because we got something amazing... you know those Christmas village house things that people get... well they had one OF A WEGMANS STORE! How great is that!

Connor was thirsty and we were going to get a drink when we stumbled upon a girl giving out free samples of Wegman's Hot Chocolate. We each got one and it was so good that we decided to buy some to take home.

Dan pick out some beer from the extensive selection and then we headed out. This is the Wegmans near where Kristen used to live and is the one we stopped at with Linda when we went to the corn maze in PA last year.

We were back on the road again and we were moving right along until Cameron said she wasn't feeling well! We had already planned to stop for lunch somewhere quick and figured we'd get a little farther before we stopped. We couldn't find anywhere we REALLY wanted to go so we had settled on a Burger King. As soon as Cameron said she wasn't feeling good we pulled off at the next exit and went to a McDonald's. It worked out because we needed to get gas in NJ and there was a Speedway at the same exit.

The McDonald's was cool....it had these cases with old McDonald's memorabilia. Finally...some Grimace representation!

I wasn't really excited about going to McDonald's for lunch until I remembered that they have breakfast all day! I got pancakes. Dan ordered while we got a table. He ordered the "3 Hotcakes" meal and the person who rang it up thought he wanted THREE hot cakes meals! What a mess!

We ate and Cameron made a miraculous recovery. I think McDonald's was the cure. I actually think it may have been because for about 10 minutes BEFORE she felt sick she was playing on her Kindle. She didn't touch it the whole time except then. I think focusing on it while moving might not have agreed with her.

We made good time on the Jersey Turnpike and then we hit some traffic near the city. We had a faster route that Google Maps had derived for us but we got stuck because the a bridge was closed for maintenance over the weekend. UGH! We had to go back to the original route and take the GWB. That little mishap cost us about 15 minutes and then we wound up diverting to the Holland Tunnel because the traffic on the GWB was really backed up.

It took a while to get into the tunnel but, once we did, we made it through the city quickly. We actually listened to the entire Taylor Swift 1989 CD in the time from the Turnpike to the tunnel! Cameron requested that we play "Welcome to New York" when we crossed from NJ to NY while in the tunnel! We did, and it was fun. We also played it again while driving through the city!

We had a little traffic on the BQE but after that it was smooth sailing. We got to Linda's at about 6:30 and I was just so happy to be out of the car!

We unloaded the car and got everything inside. Connor and Cameron gave Linda their gifts and showed her their souvenirs. Dan and I filled Linda in on all the funny things that happened and I showed her all the photos!

In fact, I kept a list of things that I wanted to remember and maybe you had to be there but here's what I had:

Cameron in Cracker Barrel about their letter to Santa mailbox:
"I'm gonna write nothing and put it in the mailbox. That'll be funny!"

Cameron in response to finding a pad and pen on the desk in the hotel room:
"I wanted to bring one of these from another hotel!"

Cameron after removing her "Hershey Factory Worker" hat before going to the park:
"I don't want anyone to know I'm a factory worker!"

Connor: Dodo birds went extinct from hunting.
Dan: Why did they hunt them?
Connor: Because they were delicious.

Connor after Sooper Dooper Looper:
"Whenever I go downhill real fast my pelvis hurts.... but I still like the feeling."

Connor, In the Car:
Brian and Dan.... I need your honest opinion. Should Hershey's buy M&Ms?

Cameron at Friendly's, our order came wrong:
"Just like McDonald's...they screw up everything." -stare at her- "Yup, they do that. Never ever go here again."

Cameron can't find her dirty underwear...blames the housekeeper:
"Don't tell me she threw it out!"

After Connor gets out of the shower and has been using the blow dryer for several minutes:
Me: "Your hair's still wet, Connor..."
Connor: "I know. I also used the bar soap in it. It's really spiky but at least it smells good."

Dan and I had a great time and I know Connor and Cameron did too! They were so well behaved and just really had fun the whole time! I'm so glad we did it! I think it was a great Christmassy activity and we were really lucky to have such good weather!

We left around 7:15 and I was anxious to get home. We had a lot of TV shows to watch and wanted to get them tonight. Dan is off from work tomorrow but I'm not so I have that looming over me!

Dan took a shower and then made frozen pizza for us for dinner. I showered up and we watched a little bit of this Snow White show on ABC which was on in place of OUAT. After that we watched the first half of Blood and Oil. I love this show but I couldn't keep my eyes open! I'm exhausted and figured I need to get a good night's sleep!

Now it's time for bed....

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com