Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 20, 2016 - 10:26 p.m.
"happy birthday, dan!"

Hey Journal!

Today is Dan's 24th Birthday! Happy Birthday, Dan! Wahoo! To celebrate, Dan wanted to get up early and go out to breakfast before work. We planned to meet Kristen at our favorite breakfast spot, Relish, at 7:15.

Dan woke me up at 6:45 and I was very very reluctant to get out of bed! I pulled myself together and got ready and we got to Relish at about 7:20. There was nobody else in the restaurant when we arrived but Kristen had a surprise for us... she brought Guy with her. So, this was our first time meeting him after hearing SO much about him over the past year!

Much like on Jesus's birthday, Christmas, where people exchange gifts, we had a gift for Kristen. It was a set of 3D cookie cutters... well, the cookie cutters aren't 3D, but they have notches in them so that when your cookies are baked you can put them together to make 3D things... a reindeer, a star, and a tree!

Breakfast was okay... my Egg Special was a little overcooked. The ham was hard as could be. Definitely not up to the usual Relish standards. It was nice meeting guy and we had a good time celebrating Dan's birthday.

We finished up our breakfast around 8:15 and Dan headed off to work. I came home to get changed and ready for work. I was already pretty tired and wished I could crawl back into bed but I got dressed and headed out for work.

Today I planned to take it a little easier with the cameras and I had a lot of things I wanted to do in the office but, of course, things were more complicated than I had expected and I wound up working until about 12:30 on the cameras!

I started with the one out by the golf cards. It was cold outside but not nearly as cold as yesterday and when the wind died down it wasn't THAT bad. I was able to get out there during a lull and I swapped out the camera.

Then I came inside and replace one of the cameras in the golf shop. This one was tricky because I had to figure out what to do with the power wire. For some reason the golf shop camera is the ONLY camera in the entire building that is not powered from the security room. It used a power adapter and was plugged into the wall in the golf shop! Talk about ghetto! And I don't understand why since there are several other cameras in there that get their power from the basement.

Anyway, we have four cameras in the golf shop but only two of them are functional. The other two haven't been used in years. So, what I did was take the power from one camera that hasn't been used and moved it over to the one I wanted, replacing the adapter! That took a while but once I was done I was able to quickly swap out the camera with a new one.

Like I said, I was done around 12:30 and I tried not to do too much today because I do have other stuff to get done!

We also need our grid because I was sitting down in the office and I felt totally cooped up. Every time I heard a noise in the hallway I would instinctively look at the TV to see what was going on and I had nothing...it made me feel really disconnected and I didn't like it!

I also spent some time thinking about how I'm going to get the TV on the screen. The old multiplexer allowed 9 inputs and displayed them for us but I can't use that anymore because the multiplexer only uses analog signal and this is a proprietary digital HD signal that it can't interpret! Ugh!

I didn't have any lunch today because I had a big breakfast and I was working like crazy all day. I got some deposits ready for the bank and put them into our new night deposit bags that arrived today!

I had two members come in around 2:00 to pay their bills and then, before I knew it, it was time to go home. I left work at 4:30 and on the way home I stopped at Home Depot to get some HDMI cable for work. I needed a long one to run between the TV and the security system.

I also stopped at Target to get Dan something for his birthday! I got him one of those little Valentine's Day hearts and I had made a card earlier in the day at work! It was a pretty cool card!

When we got home, we watched a little of last night's episode of Agent Carter before we had to go to Cheesecake Factory!

Dan wanted to go to Cheesecake Factory for his birthday dinner and my mom said she would come along. She also asked if she could bring Jerry...so he came, too.

Dinner was good... I had the Crusted Chicken Romano and afterwards we got a piece of Cheesecake for dessert. We had a coupon for a free slice which we used -- even though my mom was paying anyway!

They came over and sang Happy Birthday to Dan because my mom awkwardly insisted that they do it!

We got home around 8:45 and watched some of our shows. We started with tonight's episode of The Middle and then we watched the rest of the first hour of last night's two-hour Agent Carter!

It got late pretty quickly so now we're off to bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com