Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 01, 2016 - 12:50 a.m.
"rehearsal dinner"

Hey Journal!

Well, it's here! The big day... Linda's wedding! It always seemed like it was so far away and now it's all happening!

This morning I got up and headed off to work. It was a busy day for me today -- I had a bunch of things I wanted to get done before I'm out for a three-day weekend.

I was supposed to meet the guy from the security company to help us with out door problem but he never came. I called over there to see if he was coming and I wasn't really able to get much of an answer. I wasn't being pushy or anything, I just wanted to know if I should expect them or not. I had a bunch of other things to do -- so I was trying to plan!

While I waited, I worked on some CPC stuff and did one of Karen's recent invoices. She sent over all the payment sheets and she had mixed up a couple of things so I had to correct them.

I worked a little more on our AWS account this morning. Everything seems to be up and running well but despite my efforts not to, I must have selected some paid features when setting up our databases. So far, in just one day, they have charged us $25. Now, that is not a big deal...in fact it's nothing for getting everything set up and ready to go... but if we had to pay that every day it would be ridiculous. Anyway, I changed some of the settings to make SURE we are using the free tier. Now I think we should be okay but I am going to keep an eye on it to make sure we aren't getting charged for anything over the next few days.

Next, I ran out to Home Depot. I had to get something for the locker room. Unfortunately, they didn't have the exact model I was looking for so I got something similar and then when I got back to work I had to order the correct one online.

Before heading back, though, I stopped to get gas in my car. I was running low and the car said "Fuel Reserve!" It claimed I had 50 miles left to drive so it really wasn't that urgent!

For lunch today I had my special roast beef sandwich and it was very good. Perhaps not as amazing as it has been in the past. I think that's one of the things that annoys me most about our restaurant is that it's not consistent. Some days you get an item and it's amazing and other days it's not and I feel like that shouldn't be the case. I mean, I suppose that's the same anywhere to some extent...and perhaps I just experience it more because I eat at work more than I eat at any other restaurant!

Steve didn't come in again today... he had to stay home because Marilyn is sick with the flu. I'm kinda glad he didn't because even if he's not sick I'd be worried that he brought the flu germs to work and I don't want to catch anything right before Linda's wedding!!

At 3:00 we had a conference call with Steve and the lawyers. It wasn't really much of a discussion -- we just wanted to find out where they were and what their next course of action is. Steve really just wants to push them along to get this thing sorted out as fast as possible.

I left work at 5:00 and headed over to pick up Dan. I got him at work and then we turned around and headed for the Southern State. We got to Linda's church at about 5:50 and everyone else was arriving as well. Dan and I walked round to the front of the church but it was locked. We tried several doors and couldn't get in anywhere.

We all made our way around the back and then Linda's mom went into an adjoining building to get the pastor to open the door. It was cold outside so we were all eager to get in... although it wound up being pretty cold INSIDE too!

Since we were the first ones into the church, the pastor directed us to the sanctuary but all the lights were out and it had this creepy vibe. It was just like the episode of walking dead that we watched last night! It looked abandoned and I half expected to see walkers coming around the corner. I felt like I was going in and checking to make sure it was clear! This show really has changed my outlook on things - I am constantly scouting out locations that would be good places to live and thinking of things in the context of the show.

We had to wait a little while for everyone to arrive...specifically Linda! We began the rehearsal and it went longer than I thought it was going to. I think that was partially because the Pastor, who seemed like a very nice guy, didn't really do the best job of running through everything. We started in the middle, nobody knew what was happening, and then did it all over again. I think by the end we all got a pretty good idea of what we're supposed to do and we'll just let it happen tomorrow! We should have no problem...and if we do... It'll all fall into place anyway!

We finished up around 8:00 and headed over to the restaurant for dinner! Piccolo Ristorante! We had a private room in the back of the restaurant and it was a nice place. The food was good... specifically the appetizer stuff. The entree wasn't so great but by that time I had eaten so much else it didn't even matter. They served garlic knots... a "pizzette," farfalle bolognese, penne ala vodka, and some pizza bread. That was all great and I filled up on it. For the main course, I got the chicken franchese which was the lowlight. It was kinda gross -- the chicken was on the border of being dark meat and just tasted blah. Luckily, I know to fill up on the stuff I like...so I was all set.

We had a fun time at both the rehearsal and the rehearsal dinner! Linda presented all of the wedding party with some gifts and then we had dessert.

The event started to break up around 10:45 and we headed out. We got home and Dan and I had a few things to do to get ready for tomorrow. We showered up and then Dan went to bed. I'm off from work tomorrow so I have the morning to finish up any last minute stuff. Of course, I have to get my vest from the tux place and I also have to get to Linda's house at 12:45 to be there when they deliver the food!

Now I'm off to bed! Tomorrow's the big day....

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"from sore throat to runny nose" - April 05, 2016
"keeping busy" - April 04, 2016
"sunday recovery" - April 03, 2016
"post-wedding breakfast" - April 02, 2016
"linda and dan's wedding" - April 02, 2016

http://diaryland.com