Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 17, 2016 - 2:01 a.m.
"the return of bathroom painting" or "accents at robby's"

Hey Journal!

This morning Dan and I got up at 10:30. I was a little surprised that we slept that late and I was a little disappointed because I really wanted to get an early start on my bathroom makeover project!

We got dressed and ready and went to McDonald's for breakfast. By the time we arrived it was just after 11 and regular breakfast was over but thankfully they now have the All Day Breakfast menu! While we were offering we heard two more people ordering breakfast. I really can't imagine people coming in at 11am on a Saturday and looking for lunch! It's so weird. They really should have expanded their breakfast hours years ago!

Next, we went to Home Depot to get the supplies we needed for our project! We decided to keep a similar color in the bathroom and choose Polo Tan -- the same color we had picked for the dining room. The reason we decided to do this was that there was a GIANT speckled area next to the light fixture and it looked awful. On top of that, there were many areas of the bathroom where a former pink color was peeking out. My guess is that shortly before deciding to sell the house they had a pink bathroom and they thought it would be a good idea to go more neutral. It looks like it was painted fast and they didn't do a good job of covering up all of the old color. It was also really bad where the ceiling met the walls. The edges were terrible! There were also a bunch of little dings and dents and holes around the room. I was just sick of it.

Oh, and another major reason was that I also wanted to repaint the ceiling. The ceiling was cracking in some places from the moisture in the bathroom.

So, we got our paint, we got some supplies and then we headed home to get started.

Dan's project of the day was yard work and I was on my own with the bathroom. Dan cleaned up all the big sticks that had fallen down during the wind we had recently and also raked, weeded, and cleaned up the yard.

It was about 2:30 when we got started and I painted the bathroom ceiling first. It was a little bit of a tedious job and it's also really annoying to paint something the same color it was -- it makes it seem like you're doing so much work and you aren't really getting much of a result for it. Anyway, it took a while but I did several coats on the ceiling... especially in the cracky areas. It came out looking nice.

Eventually I was on to the Polo Tan paint. I started by doing edges first. I went around the room and did the edges next to the cabinets, the mirror, the light fixture, the toilet, the doors, light switches, and radiators.

Once that was done, I moved on to connecting those areas. The paint dried very quickly and I was able to do multiple coats pretty quickly. I had the window open and also turned the shower exhaust fan on to let try to air the room out. I feel like that really helped.

Still, I spent a LOT of time in that bathroom today and the fumes were getting to me. When I finally finished and we left the house for the night, I felt SO EXHAUSTED and so overwhelmed. It was almost the exact same feeling I had when I painted our old bathroom and HAD to escape afterwards. That night we went over to Linda's house and I drink "Miles Hard" to ease my troubles!

Anyway, I did a LOT of work but the painting is almost completely done. I just have a few more spots to cover up tomorrow -- I had to do a little more spackling and it wasn't try by the time we had to wrap it up.

At 6:00, Dan came in to give me a warning and I started to wind things down. I did a little cleanup and then I took a shower.

This was the first time we've actually used the downstairs shower! It was nice. I like it. It's nice to have two showers... there's no way we could have used the one upstairs. The paint needed more time to dry before being bombarded with shower steam!

The reason we had to stop at 6:00 was that we had plan to go over to Robby's at 7:30. Actually, Robby's parents were away for the weekend and he was watching the dog at their house and invited us all over for a little game/pizza/drinking night!

It worked out really well... I mean, I could have used another hour or so doing the painting but I also really needed a break. I was starting to get crazy and it was good to have something to do to get out of the house and relax for a while after everything!

We arrived a little closer to 8:00 because it took me a while to clean up and then take a shower. When we arrived, Allie and Alana were there along with Jen B and Lisa. We hung out and talked for a bit and then played this accent game.

The game was a little unsettling at first and I wasn't really a fan but the more we played the more we got comfortable with it. Basically, the judge for the round picks an "accent card" and tells everyone what the accent for the round will be. There were things like Irish, German, Giving Birth, Whisper, Chicken, and Thespian. Each player would pick up a phrase card which had some weird and random thing to say on it. We would then take turns going around the room and speaking the phrase in that accept.

You know, it's really hard to do accents on command like that. Especially if you're the first to go. When you were third or fourth, you had a little something to go off of from the people who went before you... it was a real challenge.

Anyway, we had fun and played the ENTIRE game. We went through all of the accent cards.

Robby ordered pizza for dinner and we took a break from the game while we consumed. Jen B brought Ice cream for dessert so we had that and then we got back to playing.

Re came later on, probably around 11:00 or so. I'm not really sure of the exact time. We only had about two or three more cards left at that point.

We hung out for a while longer and then, around 1:30 we decided to head home!

Anyway, there's still more to be done in the bathroom tomorrow.. I need to paint the one area that wasn't done today and also need to clean everything up. It doesn't sound like that much but it's a LOT. We also have to go to Home Depot to get more supplies!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"new tivo - more hard to accept change" - April 21, 2016
"always in disarray" - April 20, 2016
"primary election inspection" - April 19, 2016
"david's cookies" - April 18, 2016
"the weekend-long project continues" - April 17, 2016

http://diaryland.com