Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 16, 2016 - 12:33 a.m.
"another distinctive evening"

Hey Journal!

HAPPY FRIDAY! Another week comes to a close and we're feeling distinctive AF!

I got up this morning and it was a pretty nice day out and also a nice day at work. I felt like I got a lot accomplished and there wasn't anything irritating going on! Always a good thing!

In the morning I sent out an e-mail to the membership about a road closure and then I started working on some coding.

See, a few years ago I wrote a program to automatically charge a member's credit card for their dues on members dues on a specific date in the future. At the time, I built in the option of having it work for either dues or deposit, but I only made the necessary changes to the database for the dues. So, today, I was talking to a member who asked if he could have us automatically charge his deposit. I told him yes, but now I had to actually make that happen.

I had to go through the old code and get reacquainted with exactly how I had done this in the first place. Once I was back up to speed.... I started figuring out what I had to do to make it work for the deposit. I basically had to add a column into one database and also had to add separate queries depending on which one you were setting up for autopay.

It took a while and one thing led to another. Once I was done with that, I had to make sure it displayed properly on the website when a member went to look at their account. Then, I found a little glitch where deposit invoices weren't forced to be paid in the order they're due, so I fixed that. Then I noticed that the "Submit" button for recurring payments wasn't greyed out after being clicked, so I had to do THAT, and then I realized that the expiration date drop-down for credit cards wasn't dynamic... so I did that, too! Phew.... It was a lot of work that I didn't expect to be doing today!

At 3:00 I had lunch... I got the steak sandwich. It was a little blah today. The steak was actually kinda stringy so that put me off.

And to round out the day I had to call some woman from a company we bought some stuff from because she KEEPS charging our credit card without me telling her to. She doesn't get it. I have told her three times in the past NOT to charge the card unless I call her to pay and invoice. Every time she said she understood and then she did it again and again. She's a mess.

Today I was a little hard on her about it. She claims she understands now. She also tried to get Greg in trouble which was such BS. She said it was his fault and that he should be spoken to about it. What a lunatic.

Because of that I got a little delayed and I left work at 5:10.

Dan went for a walk as soon as he got home and I started working on the upstairs bathroom. I cleaned off the lamp above the sink and started to prepare the room for painting. Tomorrow I really want to start to freshen up that room. It needs some help.

There are a lot of little dents and holes in the wall so I used the DryDex to fill them in tonight and then tomorrow I can paint over them!

We made plans for dinner tonight to go to Brownstone with Kristen. It's been awhile since we were there and we wanted to visit our favorite hostess, April Rose. Every single time we've gone...she's been there...so we were fairly certain she would be there tonight.

Dan and I picked up Kristen, stopped to get gas in the car, and then headed to dinner. When we arrived, we got a nice, close-up parking spot. We went in and we were in disbelief....April Rose was nowhere to be found. We were also in disbelief because they told us it would be an hour to an hour and fifteen minute wait!

That's a pretty long wait so we decided to postpone our homecoming. We started driving with no real destination but then decided to go to Lotus East for dinner! We were, after all, in the mood to feel distinctive!

They've done more improvements recently... they made this new, big half-wall thing to kinda enclose the dining room and separate it from the bar/takeout area. They also have a new carpet and possibly new chairs, too. It looks nice! I like it.

The people who sat at the table next to us were so weird. It was two couple, I think.... their conversation was so strange. They were talking about appointments to the supreme court (but I don't think the Supreme Court of the United States.)

At one point, as they got up to leave, one guy says that his heroes are John Quincy Adams and George F. Kennedy! WHO?? We were so confused. We even googled it and we couldn't find any George F. Kennedy!

Then, the other guy, when asked if his hero Socrates would "like Donald?" (I assume Trump...) He says that Socrates is no longer his hero. Now his hero is Epicurious.

We all partook of the strong cocktails on offer. Dan and I got the zombie and Kristen go the Lover's Potion. (Love Potion according to our waiter!)

It was a good time as always and then we headed back home. We brought Kristen back home but before dropping her off we took a tour of her apartment complex. Kristen showed us this weird, secret road that leads to and from 347! I had no idea it existed. Very interesting!


Earlier today while I was at work I had found a website that claimed to have Walking Dead Season 6 available for viewing so Dan and I tried it out. It worked, and it was good quality..but not excellent quality. We have to a try and watched the first episode.

Anyway, now we're ready for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"always in disarray" - April 20, 2016
"primary election inspection" - April 19, 2016
"david's cookies" - April 28, 2016
"the weekend-long project continues" - April 17, 2016
"the return of bathroom painting" or "accents at robby's" - April 17, 2016

http://diaryland.com