Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 17, 2016 - 10:57 p.m.
"the weekend-long project continues"

Hey Journal!

Last night we didn't get to bed until about 2:30 and for some reason I was up and ready to go this morning at 9:00. I think it was probably the pressure of finishing the bathroom. I just wanted to be done with it!

We met Kristen at 10:30 for breakfast at Relish! It's been a really long time since we were there...probably a month or two! I feel like I needed a little break but it was good to be back. The potatoes (and the rest of my food) were cooked perfectly today which is good because we had a short run of a couple of weeks in a row where they were all overcooked and gross.

After our breakfast we went to Home Depot. We needed to get some more supplies. I needed lightswitch covers, a piece of moulding, an air duct vent cover, and some caulk.

Dan and I noted that after a trip to Home Depot you feel like you've done so much work getting all the things you need for your project that you don't have any more energy to actually DO the project when you get home!

We brought Kristen back home and then it was time to get cracking. We headed back home and stopped to get gas in the car along the way.

Dan went outside to get some more yard work done and I got right to the bathroom. I had to paint over the one spot I couldn't do yesterday and I also touched up some things. I changed the door knob on the main bathroom door and then, before doing the second one, decided that the door needed to be painted. It was an off-white color....it was never painted so this was the way it came primed from the factory. It didn't really match the rest of the room, especially since I painted the moulding!

Now that that's done, I've realized that our other bedroom door and our closet door was never painted either! Ugh! I haven't decided if I'm going to jump in and do those, too. It actually isn't that bad, though... it took about 15 minutes to paint each side of the door.

In the middle all of that, I took a break to go outside and help Dan put down some preen in the beds in the backyard. Dan had gotten most of the weeds out and it's the perfect time to put down the Preen. They say it's never too early or too late but there is definitely a window and if you can get it down BEFORE the weeds start popping up, you're going to make it a lot easier on yourself. We used a hand spreader to put down the preen this year because it was so much easier than using that little scooper.

Now, it was easier with the spreader but it was also a little weird because some of the pieces got caught in the handle and got crushed and made preen dust go all over my hands. I put down the same amount as I did last year with the scooper but I think we may be going a little overboard. We had a giant bucket that claimed it would cover 3,000 square feet. Now, our entire yard is about 5,000 square feet so the beds are nowhere near that much. We used the WHOLE thing. Yikes. Well, on the plus side, hopefully it will really stop them.

So, as I mentioned, the ground up Preen got all over my hands and before I realized that I must have touched my face. I went inside and washed my hands but a couple of hours later when Dan came in to help with the caulking, he said it was all over my cheek! Ugh! I washed it off but then I was worried that it got into my skin and was close to my eye... what a mess.

I finished up with the bathroom stuff and then headed downstairs to take a shower. The downstairs shower is nice but the only downsides are that there's no light so it's kinda dark AND the water somehow always finds a way out. We had to clean up the floor when we got out.

Later, we went back to Home Depot to exchange some light switch covers, return a few things, and then get a new air duct vent thing because the one we bought this afternoon was the wrong kind. We also picked up one of those tub splash guard things and hopefully it will keep the water from escaping! (We had to go back inside because as we were leaving I was looking at the package and saw that it had been used before -- it had hair and gross stuff stuck to the inside and the backing of the stickers had already been removed!

For dinner we went to Boston Market. We finally remembered to bring our gift cards with us. I got the 1/4 white and it was okay. Dan got the meatloaf and it was cold. He had to go back and they heated it up for him. Dan was annoyed because these people came in after us and they knew the lady working on the line and were talking to her. Their plates were overflowing with sides and they got the best looking pieces of chicken we've ever seen. It looked like the plates you see on the commercials! It was kinda ridiculous!

Before heading home we went to Target and got shower curtains and some other necessities.

When we got home I installed the vent cover and then I had to tend to the laundry. I've been doing loads of laundry since Thursday night and it's been the most disjointed thing ever. I've left the clothes for hours and not put them in the dryer, I've left stuff in the dryer, not folded stuff. It's not going very smoothly. I still have a big pile of undershirts that I haven't folded and I am so sick of not doing this correctly -- it's stressful.

So, that's all... What a weekend! We didn't really watch any of our TV shows and we were non-stop busy with our projects! At least I feel like we got a lot accomplished!

Bed now! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"tivo transfer" or "lisa's 60th birthday" - April 23, 2016
"new tivo - more hard to accept change" - April 21, 2016
"always in disarray" - April 20, 2016
"primary election inspection" - April 19, 2016
"david's cookies" - April 18, 2016

http://diaryland.com