Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 23, 2016 - 12:36 a.m.
"tivo transfer" or "lisa's 60th birthday"

Hey Journal!

Today was a REALLY quiet day at work! Fridays are usually less busy for me because I think people are so focused on the weekend and aren't looking to get any business related stuff done but today was even more than usual. Everyone was in full-on golf mode!

Steve called in the morning and told me that he was going to a chiropractor appointment and then to the dentist later in the day so he wasn't coming in, either.

The only thing I really had to work on today was fixing a payroll problem. One of the maintenance guys who just started was paid completely incorrectly. The hours he works showed up on his check but he didn't get paid for most of it. It was really strange -- it's never happened before. Anyway, I figured it out and got it taken care of.

Nothing big happened today but I did spent a lot of time upstairs trying to chase away the birds. Every day this week I;ve been out there making sure they aren't building nests under the awning. Every day they have made substantial progress and I have to take it down before they start laying eggs!

I read an article online that said that mixing cayenne pepper with vinegar and spraying it on the area would keep them away so I gave it a try today. It's too soon to see if it had any effect but I did notice that they seemed to be staying away from the areas I had sprayed -- at least for now.

For lunch today I had the Prime Rib Sandwich and it was very good today. I ate up at the bar with Dan's mom and tried to help her with the crossword puzzle she was doing. It was a Friday puzzle so it was much harder and we couldn't figure anything out.

Dan's dad left around 3:00 and I left at 4:45. I headed home, and spent some time finishing up the setup of our new TiVo. Last night I had started it all up and got it activated and now that it was fully activated (for some reason it takes a few hours,) I was able to transfer all of my season passes (now called One Passes) and a few recordings. I had some shows that were on the old TiVo that I hadn't gotten to watch yet (four episodes of Scandal) and a few shows I wasn't ready to part with -- including Dan's Price is Right appearance!

While I was at work this morning, I went on the TiVo website and set up the transfers and it took an hour or so.

I watched a little bit of the news while Dan took his walk and then, when Dan got home, we got ready to go out to dinner for his mom's birthday!

The plan was to meet at Outback at 7:00. Earlier in the day, Dan's dad asked me if they did call ahead seating and I said that they did. I looked it up online and confirmed it. It said everywhere that they don't do reservations but you can call ahead. Now, call ahead is when you call -- put your name on the waiting list -- and then the time that you would have to wait for a table starts NOW.

They also offer a service called Click-Ahead. I assumed this was the same thing and figured I would go on about an hour beforehand to see what the wait was. Then I noticed that you could pre-register. So, I set it up for a party of 6 at 7:00pm. (This was at about 3:30, by the way.)

Shortly after, I got a confirmation e-mail. It said that my "Click-Ahead" seating request was received and that I was set for six people at 7:00. Then, at the bottom of the e-mail in BOLD letters it said "This is NOT a reservation." SO--- WHAT IS IT? I don't even understand. IF they are going to offer that service, just call it what it is -- a reservation. It doesn't make any sense.

Anyway, we arrived at Outback at 7:00 on the dot and we were surprised that it was actually not crowded at all. Reservation or not, we wouldn't have had a wait anyway. We think it was because it was the first night of Passover.

Despite being not so busy, the service was incredibly slow today. It was okay because we wanted to sit and talk, but it was weird. I had the pork chop -- it was okay, not as good as the Red Lobster pork chop. Too bad that doesn't exist anymore!

The waiters and waitresses came over and sang and we had a fun time.

When we were done Dan and I drove Brian and Jessica back home and then Dan and I went over to Home Depot to check out the situation with plants for front of the house. Tomorrow we're going to come back with Dan's parents to pick out some stuff to plant.

We headed home after that and watched two episodes of Scandal! The new TiVo has a feature that lets you quickly skip commercials -- even quicker than just fast forwarding them. The only problem is that the shows we watched tonight were recorded on the old TiVo and didn't have that feature enabled! I guess we'll just have to wait to see that in action!

After our shows and before we got ready for bed we had one last project to tackle. We bought a new window cling thing for the bathroom window. When we moved in, there had been a foggy decorative film on the window that prevented people out on the deck from seeing you while you were in the bathroom! A couple of days ago, it started peeling and then fell off so we got a new one at Home Depot and installed it tonight.

We had to cut it to the proper size which I was a little nervous about. I was afraid we were going to mess it up but it actually cut perfectly. Then we followed the directions and used soapy water to make it adhere to the window. IT's weird because I don't think it actually has adhesive on it. I guess something about the material makes it stick to the window.

It came out really nicely. I was impressed at how good a job we did. We cut it using that sharp craft knife we've had forever and the weird L shaped ruler that we found in our basement when we moved it. It really came in handy!

Anyway, I showered up and now we're off to bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"haircut and cleanup" - April 27, 2016
"painful star treatment" - April 26, 2016
"another week begins" - April 25, 2016
"mulch" - April 24, 2016
"random day of fun and adventure" - April 23, 2016

http://diaryland.com