Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 10, 2016 - 12:40 a.m.
"pokemon go" or "shameless"

Hey Journal!

This morning I woke up around 9:00 which was a little early considering what time I got to bed, but I wasn't feeling too tired.

We got dressed and ready and then we went out to breakfast at Javier's with Doug. We had gone to Relish with him once in the past so we figured we should change it up alittle.

It was an okay morning and the place was surprisingly NOT crowded. We got a table out on the patio with no wait at all. It was a little cool and breezy and overcast.

I had downloaded the Pokemon Go app yesterday because I kept seeing EVERYONE talking about it. I wanted to know what it was all about. My initial reaction is that there's not really much to the game, but I can see how it's somehow strangely addicting!

While we were at Javier's, I noticed that the fountain near the restaurant was a Pokestop! The stops are so random -- like they aren't just places, they're really specific items inside places, and they have pictures of them which makes me wonder where they got all this information from!

Anyway, I saw a hawk flying overhead while we were eating and I was sure it was a Pidgeotto, so I'm now worried that this game is causing severe problems!

After breakfast we said goodbye to Doug and then headed over to the mall. We found a lot of Pokemon there AND as I was going to get a Pokeball at PF Changs, some girl came up and snatched it right before we were in range. What the heck!?

Later on, Dan said he saw a kid riding his bicycle past our house with his phone and the Pokemon music blaring, and I experienced it for myself later. People are all over the place with this -- it's insanity how fast it's caught on and just how many people are doing it!

When we got home, we watched the first episode of the show Shameless. Doug had recommended it and since we just finished OITNB, we have a new void to fill. We've only watched the first couple of episodes so far but I really love it! It's so weird and strange and perfect at the same time.

This time we only watched about 45 minutes of one episode and then stopped because I had to go take a shower.

We made afternoon plans with Re and I wanted to get cleaned up before going out.

So, today we had planned to have my cousins over for a nice pool and BBQ day! I thought it would be a lot of fun to enjoy our backyard with them but then as the weekend approached, it looked like the weather was going to be crappier and crappier. First, there was a threat of rain all day and then once that passed by, the temperatures just looked too cool!

I made the call yesterday to suggested that we postpone. We're busy next Saturday, which looks like a perfect day, so we're going to try for 6:00 this Wednesday which is also supposed to be nice!

In retrospect, now that the day is over, I'm really glad we called it off. It was cloudy all day and at some points it was downright COLD. I was chilly and wished I had long pants on! Sheesh! It was just (almost) a heat wave earlier this week!

Anyway, when Re came over, we hung out here briefly and then we went out to visit Shawn at a brewery he works at in Northport. We had a little bit of a hard time finding it, it's tucked down a little alleyway, but we did figure it out!

I liked the place, it was nice and cool, but my only complaint is that they encourage people to bring dogs. I mean, I have the usual issue with that -- like the fact that I don't want to see your wild animals in public and they have no place being among us. BUT in addition they kept barking and making so much noise that it was just ruining the experience. The topper was that some lady had her dog on a leash and let it come near my leg. It brushed up against me and when I realized it, I moved away. She made eye contact with Re at that point and made some communication to convey the feeling of, "Doesn't he want to play with my dog?" LIke - she was so taken aback that I wasn't reaching down to pet the thing. No, lady. I don't know you, or your dog, and I have no interest in TOUCHING your dog, or any other dog. Dis.Gust.Ing.

So, aside from the wild animals in the brewery, we had a good time. Dan tried several of the sampling of the beer and Re got one that did NOT taste like beer. That was her request. She specifically wanted on that was a little different-tasting.

My favorite thing about the place was that it had free Utz Pretzel rods. Utz are clearly the best rods and they had them out on the bar for the taking. They were amazing and I loved it.

We hung out there for a little while, talked to Shawn when he wasn't busy serving the other patrons, and then we headed out and took a walk down the main street there.

There are a lot of weird little small stores. It's really confusing how they stay in business. They sell things for like twice the price of a Target or Staples and they don't seem busy -- so I can't figure out how it could make sense to stay open. How could it make enough money to stay open!?

One store we went in had all sorts of kitschy crap and a toy department, school supplies, all kinds of things -- but the prices were nuts and there was like one other person in the store. Odd.

We walked back towards the car and then went into the little park area to use the bathroom.

When we got back to our car, we departed and headed for the Parlor House in Sayville for dinner! Re's mom had gotten a coupon to the restaurant a while back and she's been suggesting that we use it for some time. We stopped back over at Re's apartment for her to get the coupon and then we headed over to some dinner.

I got the spaghetti bolognese instead of the chicken parm and that was mostly because I had ordered chicken parm TWO other times this week. Once at Ciro's and last night at Miller's.

It was good. When we got there, we walked in and the girl at the hostess stand looked at her reservation sheed and asked us if we were some name for three. I said No, so she looked again and asked if we were someone else. I told her, "we're nobody." I should have said, "a girl has no name." HA.

Anyway, that interaction was a little odd. When we were seated, we were THE only table in the whole dining room. As we were there, though, a lot more people came in and it did fill up a bit.

We used Re's certificate which gave us a little under 50% off! Not bad!

Next we went to Target in Commack to see if there was anything we needed. Re got a bunch of stuff but Dan and I just got two things.

We got home around 7:00 and Dan trimmed the tree out front. It was getting a little wild looking. There were branches coming out from every direction and now it's looking much better!

After that we came inside and watched more of Shameless. I had my leftovers from Parma night for dinner but they weren't as good heated up. The rest of the evening we spent preparing for the Mets game tomorrow. I got my clothes ready, packed some snacks, sunscreen, Advil (because I always get a headache after a long day like that!), and some other necessities.

Dan forgot to print the tickets so we had a huge debacle with that -- he had to call my mom and try to talk her through the process of printing the tickets at home. She had no idea how to do it and it took forever!

Alas, now it's time for bed and we have to get up early for the game!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"swampy walk" - July 14, 2016
"where have all the pokemon gone?" - July 13, 2016
"stolen pikachu" - July 12, 2016
"niantic" - July 11, 2016
"met's game fun day" - July 10, 2016

http://diaryland.com