Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 10, 2016 - 10:50 p.m.
"met's game fun day"

Hey Journal!

This morning we woke up at 9:00 and it was pretty much non-stop for the rest of the day! We had to hurry to get all of our stuff together for the Mets game and my mom, who was supposed to arrive at 9:30, arrived at 9:10.

We wound up leaving the house around 9:40 and our first stop was at the deli to get sandwiches to bring to the game. Well, everyone else got sandwiches and I got a 1/2 point of ham to make my own!

Our next stop was at Target because we needed to get some drinks, a load of bread for the aforementioned sandwiches, and a some chips.

Once we had loaded up on supplies, we headed for CitiField! Linda, Dan, Connor, and Cameron were coming as well and we planned to meet in the parking lot at about 11:00! We arrived around 10:50 and found a nice spot, semi-in-the-shade, and along the back fence! Linda arrived shortly after and took the spot one away from us and we ser up our chairs and food inbetween!

There were some interesting new Pokemon in the parking lot, so Connor and I tried to catch a few and also explored the various Pokestops -- such as the main entrance to the parking lot, the former bases of Shea Stadium, and the Seaver Entrance to Citi Field! lol

We had sandwiches, drinks, and hung out for a while until we had to go inside for the game. Once we decided to go in, we packed up our little picnic in quite a frenzy! It was like we were preparing for a storm to come or something -- everyone was grabbing things and throwing them into the cars so quickly! It was insane! It was pandemonium. I have no idea why. I loved it.

We got inside around 12:45 and went up, up, up to the "Promenade" level for our seats. We were about five rows from the top of the stadium but I really enjoyed the seats!

The game was okay, but honestly I never watch the game anyway so it didn't make much of a difference to me. Halfway through, Connor and i went for a Pokemon walk and I caught a MEOWTH! Wow! Made the whole trip worth it! haha

When we got back, it started to rain a little! We were under the overhang so we were somewhat guarded but the wind was blowing the rain towards us. Everyone moved back on row and so we had a little more protection.

It didn't last long, and we were back to watching the game quickly.

The whole day it was pretty nice out but there was a big breeze. It was actually good -- it kept it from being too hot!

In the end, the Mets lost and then we all headed out. It was a special "Family Day" and the kids are allowed to run the bases after the game! It was a cool experience. We all waited on line -- it was pretty long but moved pretty quickly. Once they started letting people in, you walk through a side gate and out onto the field. Then, the kids go one way and the adults go the other. You're reunited back on the other side.

It was very wild to be down on the field. I had actually been down there before a couple of years ago when we were in the dugout and all that!

We emerged on the other side of the stadium and right near where we had to be to get to our car.

We said goodbye to Linda, Dan, Connor, and Cameron and then we hit the road!

As we were driving home, my mom suggested that we drive past her old house in Queens Village. I quickly entered the address into the GPS and it was only 2 miles off the path. We diverted. I remember the house from when I was little. Not well, but I do remember it.

My mom makes it sound like it's in terrible, run-down condition. It's really not that bad. It's a little old-fashioned looking but not in disrepair.

According to my mom, the siding and the shutters are the same, as is the front stoop and possibly the antenna on the roof.

I'm glad we made that little detour, it was very interesting!

We stopped at the diner for something to eat before going home. I got eggs and fries. We had a really nice waitress. I don't remember her name but she was young and she was SO friendly and outgoing. Probably the nicest waitress I've ever had at the Candlelight diner!

When we got home, my mom took her stuff from the trunk and Dan and I brought our stuff inside but then left again to get gas in my car. I was getting pretty low and I figured it would be good to fill up now so I don't have to do it in the morning before work.

On the way, Dan took control of my phone and tried to check out the Pokemon activity nearby!

It was insanity. We had TWO encounters with other people looking for Pokemon. I couldn't believe it. First, we went over by the water tower to get stuff from a Pokestop and there were three kids on bicycles basically crushed up against the fence trying to get close enough to get the goods. Of course, they beat us to it and the spot was empty when we got there. Then, we went to the next nearest spot, the train station, and while I was turning around, the bike kids rode by again!

On the way home, Dan wanted to stop at the Post Office for that Pokestop, and when we pulled in, a guy with a girl in the passenger seat on her phone pulled in right behind us! I made sure we beat them to it!

Aside from that, we saw a group of kids on their bikes in our neighborhood and a group of girls with their phones out walking down the street. It's so weird. I've never seen anything like this. What are the chances that we would see so many people playing this game. A game that has almost no social features AND is basically pointless. I don't understand it, but at the same time I'm kinda obsessed myself. And I don't know why!!!

When we got home, we watched an episode of Shameless and then Dan went out for a walk. I showered up while he was gone and did some things around the house. Then, when Dan got back we watched another episode of Shameless!

Now we're off to bed and I'm just hoping that work will be nice and quiet tomorrow. I don't need any bullshit. I just want to get in, do my work, which there will be a lot of, and come home. No headaches.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"drunk summer friday" - July 16, 2016
"swampy walk" - July 14, 2016
"where have all the pokemon gone?" - July 13, 2016
"stolen pikachu" - July 12, 2016
"niantic" - July 11, 2016

http://diaryland.com