Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 05, 2016 - 11:15 p.m.
"day one of four"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up for work just seconds before my alarm went off at 8:00. I was really exhausted though and couldn't gather the energy to get out of bed for a while.

I really think I should never get up before 9am. It's just crazy. No matter when I get to sleep, 9am should be my earliest wakeup time.

Work today was really good. It was busy, but not TOO busy. Re came in to work today and she finished all the daily closes and got everything caught up with the guest logs. That was a big job!

The day flew by and before I knew it, it was 2:00 and time to order lunch! Re and I ate out on the patio and I had pasta with grilled chicken.

I left work a few minutes before 5:00 and I had to visit the shooting Star.

When I got home, I showered up and then got ready to go out to the wake for Mrs. Blackburn. I was very nervous about going to a wake by myself and to a wake where I wouldn't know anyone else there. I arrived at about 7:40 and found my way inside. I located the room, and as I walked in, there were a pretty good number of people scattered around the room. I looked around to see if there was anyone else I knew from the library but there wasn't.

I took a seat in the back of the room and, after a little while, I got up and went up to the casket to "pay my respects." I put that in quotes because I think it sounds really weird and I don't talk like that. I just felt like there's no other way to describe the situation tactfully.

I went back to my seat after that and looked around the room. I saw the photo slideshow on the screen to my right and watched for a while. I was only watching for about 30 seconds or so when I saw a photo that was, I am 95% certain, taken at the golf course! I was shocked! I actually waited for the photos to loop around again and paid close attention. I saw the peach walls, the same french doors and windows, and the green and white awning outside. It HAD to be! What a weird coincidence. I wonder when it was.

Anyway, after sitting for a few minutes, I got up and got on line to speak to her husband. He was talking to some other people for a while, but when he finished, I came over, and he looked like he didn't know who I was. Probably because he didn't know who I was. I wonder if I had ever met him before. I don't remember actually. Maybe he came by the library once during the time I worked there. But if he did, I don't remember it.

So, I introduced myself and once he knew who I was he gave me a big hug and said, "She always talked about you!.... She always said she wondered what you were up to now."

I told him that Mrs. Blackburn was my first boss, and how wonderful she was. I really wanted him to know that in addition to meaning so much to her family and friends, she made an impact on someone like me -- who only knew her for a short time (four years or so!)

I showed him the group photo of us all at the library and then he thanked me for coming and said, "Thanks for coming, she would have appreciated it!"

I signed the book in the back and headed out. I really feel glad that I went and, as nervous as I was, I'm glad I spoke to her husband.

I was actually a little surprised that in the time I was there I didn't see anyone else from the library, but it's possible that they all went during the day, too. Most of them are retired and the day would make more sense.

Speaking of retired -- I wonder when Mrs. Blackburn retired.

I headed home after that and stopped for gas along the way.

When I got home I got my PJs on and Dan and I made dinner. Dan heated up some fish in the oven and I made chicken. The chicken came out excellent. It was Market Pantry frozen chicken.

While we ate, we watched World News and then we finished watching Sunday's Pyramid! Great show. Loving it.

Before bed, we fit in one more episode of OITNB.... We only have one more to go until we're all finished with the season! I really did enjoy this season so far... I feel like it's gotten a lot better than it was in the past. That one season with V was the most ridiculous and annoying one. I'm so glad she's gone!

Now it's late again. Somehow, no matter how hard we try, we can never get to bed at a reasonable time.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"met's game fun day" - July 10, 2016
"pokemon go" or "shameless" - July 10, 2016
HOLD - July 09, 2016
"clean up, clean up, everybody, everywhere" - July 07, 2016
"on location" - July 06, 2016

http://diaryland.com