Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 20, 2016 - 11:03 p.m.
"jen b's shower" or "summer party"

Hey Journal!

This morning Dan and I woke up at 8:45 to start our busy Saturday! We got ready to go out to breakfast and Kristen came to pick us up promptly at 9:00. We were a little pressed for time since we had to be at Jen B's shower at 11:00 but we hurried off to Relish!

It had been a while since we last ventured to the motherland for breakfast and I got the Egg Special as usual. I was a little upset that I didn't get the Oreo French Toast special. Kristen got it and it looked really good.

After we ate we came back home. We had wanted to go to Bring You Own Cup day at 7-11 with Kristen but we found out that it didn't start until 11:00! Ugh! We really had our hearts set on it so we worked out a plan. We came home and changed and got ready while Kristen hung out on our porch. Then, as Dan and I headed out to the shower, we stopped at a 7-11 very near to the restaurant to take advantage of this amazing offer!

Last night Dan and I had gotten these amazing vases for all three of us to use! We were so excited about it but this morning I went to wash them out and it said that they contained LEAD PAINT! Ugh! We figured it probably wasn't the best idea to drink out of it so we left them at home and found some alternate vessels for the event. Dan took Fat Tuesday cup, I took the Erlenmeyer Flask that I've had since High School and Kristen used our coffee pot!

We filled them up and then took pictures of ourselves outside drinking out of these unique cups!

Next year we're going to have to really brainstorm some great ideas. We'll keep our eyes open this coming year to look for a proper item to use!

We got to the restaurant for the shower at 11:15. It was at Butterfield's in Hauppauge. I'd never been there before although I had heard of it. We set up the favors on the tables and stuffed the tissue paper inside.

Before long, people started arriving and Jen B was set to arrive at 12:30. They wound up being there a little later, actually. When Liz arrived, she said there was a torrential downpour! I was shocked because I didn't even know it had rained at all!

JC got a text with a picture of her front lawn -- it was COMPLETELY flooded! Insane! It looked like a lake. Later, we found out that it rained a ridiculous amount. Our pool was actually almost overfilled -- and yesterday it was low!

Anyway, the shower went very well. Everyone had a good time and the food was good, too. During the present-opening session, I was in charge of making a hat from the bows and ribbons for Jen B. Liz made another one for Lisa. I strayed from the traditional methods and I was really happy with the result. I was only a little sad that they didn't wear the hats longer than 10 seconds!

Dan and I sat at a table with JC and Lau and we had a very good table. We had a lot of fun.

The last event was a trivia game about Jen B and Lisa and I won the game with only four answers correct! I was actually shocked that FOUR answers won the game! I got a goodie bag with some candy and popcorn inside.

The party was scheduled to end at 4:00 but everything was pretty much wrapping up at 3:30. We departed at 3:45 and headed home to change for our next event of the day.

I swear, it was quite the whirlwind day! We never have this much to do in ONE weekend day. I love it, though.

This afternoon was Arianna's annual summer pool party and we headed out and stopped at Target on the way to pick up some drinks and some dessert to bring with us. The storm from earlier passed by quickly and it turned out to be a nice day for the pool!

When we arrived, we hung out with Shawn and Caitlin for a while and then Dan went to play some slap cup! I had a couple of my Mike's Hards and after that, pizza arrived and I was surprisingly hungry! I ate three slices.

This party always has distinctive pool inflatables and this year was no different. The first year, I think there was a giant alligator and a little dinosaur. One year there was a little purple octopus and, of course, who could forget #CubeLife! This year there was a giant swan, a heart, and a poop emoji.... all courtesy of BuzzFeed.

I went in the pool for a little while and the water was pretty cold from the rain.

When Shawn and Caitlin's baby, Owen, woke up from his nap we played with him for a while and then we hung out until about 9:00. Before we left, we came inside and we were talking to Arianna's mom while Shawn and Caitlin packed up their baby stuff. She told us that ever since our wedding she's had the laser background photo of Dan and I up on her mantle! How great is that!

So, at about 9:00 we headed home and showered up. We watched some of the Olympics and I can't believe it's almost over already. It seems like it goes by so fast!

We just spent some time getting things in the kitchen in order for Mike to come by and install our new cabinet! It's finally ready and I can't wait till this craziness in the kitchen is finished!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"bbq and pool evening with jc" - August 24, 2016
"bbq and pool evening with jc" - August 24, 2016
"wiring success" or "weird insurance guy" - August 23, 2016
"the extra long conduit" - August 22, 2016
"pokemon hunting sunday" or "cabinet completion" - August 21, 2016

http://diaryland.com