Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 22, 2016 - 10:27 p.m.
"the extra long conduit"

Hey Journal!

Today was like a fall day outside! The weather was great for the golf outing but a little too cold for my liking. I mean, if it was the beginning of October, i would said that today was perfect but I still need a little more Summer before I give in to Fall weather!

Work this morning was pretty tame. Nothing wild going on and some dues came in first thing. The morning seemed to fly by pretty quickly and I went down to maintenance to see if I could find the other end of the conduit that goes from the basement here all the way down to the barn!

I did locate it and I was pretty excited to see if we could pull the wire through. Nicky was planning to come by today to change some light fixtures down at maintenance so he came by a little earlier to help me with this wire.

He arrived at 3:00 and I showed him what I had found. He said he was certain that there MUST be a break somewhere inbetween but, since it was installed almost 20 years ago, even if there was an irrigation box or something, it would be long buried! He said it probably wouldn't be pullable but we gave it a shot anyway. He said that even if it was a straight shot, the conduit may have collapsed or had roots growing through it after all these years.

We tied up the new wire to the string and Nicky's helper went down to give it a try. He pulled and THE WIRE STARTED MOVING! It was amazing. They pulled for over an hour and at one point had to switch jobs because it gets harder and harder the more it goes.

They were both SHOCKED that it was one long run AND that the string was dry and in perfect condition. There must not have been any breaks in the pipe! I'm so so so glad this went so well!

Towards the end, the wire got harder and harder to pull and Nicky was afraid that the string was going to snap! He contemplated pulling it all back and trying to come up with a different method but then he gave it two more big pulls and BAM! Out came the new wire! It was incredible. We pulled some more out and got it into the barn!

Then, we came back down to the basement and he ran the wire down to the elevator room so I can hook it up!

I'm so excited about this. I really really hope it solves our problems and I think it will. The old internet and phone connection keep going out because the wire just isn't good enough to carry that kind of signal. I am think this is the answer.

Tomorrow I am going to hook it all up and keep my fingers crossed!!

I wound up leaving at 5:15 today because I couldn't duck out until it was all finished. When I got home, Dan was going to go to the gym but our plans changed a little. We really wanted to go on a walk/bike ride tonight so we watched an episode of Shameless and then went out around 7:00.

I rode my bike and Dan walked. We did just over 5 miles and I tracked down some Pokemon. I had to go up and down a few streets to figure out where they were but you actually CAN use the tracker if you really commit to it. The only thing that makes it doable is the bike, though. If you tried to do it on foot it would take so long to walk in the wrong direction before you knew you were that the Pokemon would most likely be gone by the time you figured out where it was!

I found a Pikachu but, after throwing two Pokeballs at it, it ran away. UGH!

When we got home, Dan showered up and I ordered Dominos for dinner. Dan went to pick it up, I showered, and then we ate while watching World News.

We watched another episode of Shameless and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"lau's housewarming party" - August 28, 2016
"pronto" or "is your refrigerator running?" - August 26, 2016
"summer in the office, winter style" - August 25, 2016
"bbq and pool evening with jc" - August 24, 2016
"wiring success" or "weird insurance guy" - August 23, 2016

http://diaryland.com