Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 26, 2016 - 11:40 p.m.
"pronto" or "is your refrigerator running?"

Hey Journal!

Today was a really crazy day at work. Not because it was busy but just because Re was in and we were both in such a wild mood. We had a really fun day and it was non-stop laughs and weirdness. Now that I'm sitting here I can't remember all of the funny stuff that happened but I'll definitely give you the highlights!

When I got to work I inspected the ceiling in the hallway of the restaurant because, last night, I got a text from Jackie that there was a leak. Apparently the showers above were being heavily used and, after calling Mike, I found out that they need to be re-sealed every year. Mike hadn't done it yet and obviously we need it.

Anyway, even though they hadn't been used all night, the leak was still going. Mike said he would be by later in the day to do the sealing so we closed two of the showers so that he could do those and people could still use the others.

After that situation was somewhat under control, I went down to the office and worked on the website for a while. I wanted to give the site a little updating to make it feel fresher. I decided that the best step would be to add some parallax effect to the big pictures on each page. I coded some stuff and it was fairly easy to retrofit into the existing pages. I think it immediately makes the site more appealing but I would like to make a few more tweaks soon.

Re came in a little later today, I'm not sure exactly when but it wasn't crazy. There was actually a lot of work to do in the office for both of us. I was busy with membership stuff and Re had lots of closes and bills and stuff. We got a TON of work done but we also had some crazy moments.

For example, this morning I got an e-mail from our cable company that they were allowing free calls to Italy all weekend as a result of the recent earthquake there. I looked up a map of the area of Italy that my grandma's family was from and I zoomed in to find a restaurant. I called the number and a person answered, "Pronto!" I hung up.

Later in the day, Re and I looked up another shop -- then looked up the translation online of "Is your refrigerator running?" When they answered, I played the clip from the website! It was so amazing. You had to be there! The best part is that in Italian that phrase may make no sense at all. I might have literally asked them if their refrigerator had gone out for a run! I love it.

At 12:30 I had to meet with a prospective member that Dan's dad had been communicating with last week. He was just coming to drop off her application and he wanted his wife to take a spin around the course. When I met with them, his wife said she decided she didn't need to go out -- so that made things even better.

I got two application today in total from people Dan's dad had spoken to and I got ONE of my own. He had called on Monday and we did some back-and-forth... he asked for the application... and BAM!

Before lunch, Re and I went down to the maintenance department to install the new network switch I had gotten on Wednesday. I brought some screws and the cordless drill with me. As I was trying to get the switch situated on the screws, I slipped and the screw kinda dug into the metal of the box. it made a sharp edge and, not realizing this, I ran my finger over it and it SLICED! I was kinda shocked.

It was bleeding a bit and the cut was clean though. Luckily, not very deep. The area is all dirty so my finger was covered in weird grime but as soon as we got back to the office I washed it all out and put Neosporin and a bandaid on it.

We ordered lunch and then found a seat on the patio to eat. I got pasta with grilled chicken but they forgot to add the chicken! I asked Scott and he put some on there for me. We were sitting outside for about 5 minutes before it got completely unbearable. It was hot and there was no breeze today and for whatever reason we were sweating like crazy! We decided to go inside and took a table in the corner of the restaurant.

After lunch we went back down to maintenance to crimp the wire that I haver to connect to the new switch. I gave Steve the wire yesterday and he ran it into his shop and now I just have a few more things to do before getting it up and running.

When we got back to the office I had about an hour or so left and I really wanted to make some progress on cleaning my desk! I had so many papers and I was getting so frustrated with them. I did manage to clear off a fair amount but there's still alot of stuff that needs to be sorted and hopefully thrown out!

We left at about 4:50 and called it a day.

When I got home, Dan and I went out for a quick walk/bike ride. I caught some Pokemon then we had to hurry home to get ready to go out to dinner with Kristen.

I showered up and then Kristen arrived at 7:00. We planned to have a distinctive evening... going to Hudson's Mill. On the way there we stopped at TJ Maxx to get a housewarming gift for Lau.

They had a lot of good things to choose from and we even got a few things for ourselves. We got Lau a Home Depot gift card but we also wanted to get here a few items for her house.

By the time we got to Hudson's Mill we were all pretty hungry! Dan and I were craving the short ribs and Kristen got the scallop special. She was not quite happy with it, but we were very satisfied with the distinctive AF short ribs!

After we ate we came home and decided to take a walk to this bar around the corner. They supposedly have a wide variety of beers and Kristen and Dan were both looking forward to it. When we got there Kristen decided she didn't want to go inside. I mean, I don't really care because I don't like beer so I was just along for the ride but I feel like we walked all the way there so we should have given it a try.

We went to 7-11 instead and got Slurpees. When we got home, Dan and I watched this BBC Radio 1 documentary on the world's most extreme festivals! It was really something. I love that Chris Stark's first American experience was at this ridiculous event. He's the perfect person for a thing like this, too. It was really weird but I enjoyed watching it.

After that we watched some Match Game and now it's time for bed.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"can't have two catches in a row" - August 31, 2016
"catch of the day: cheese ravioli" - August 30, 2016
"dilation and stuff" - August 29, 2016
"dollar tree dizzy" or "10% off almost everything at target" - August 28, 2016
"lau's housewarming party" - August 28, 2016

http://diaryland.com