Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 29, 2016 - 10:40 p.m.
"dilation and stuff"

Hey Journal!

Today was a pretty good day although it wasn't really that normal. I got to sleep a little later than usual because I had an eye doctor appointment this morning before work. Instead of getting up at 8:00, I set my alarm for 9:15.

I actually woke up several times before my alarm went off and I was really happy that I could get some extra sleep. Ultimately I got up at 9:00 because I just couldn't sleep anymore.

I wanted to get to the eye doctor a little early in hopes that he would take me yearly. I got there around 10:00 and, sure enough, they took me in well before my scheduled time.

First, I went back and the girl tested my vision and then put drops in my eyes to dilate them. She sent me back to the waiting room for about 10 minutes while the drops did their thing. It's so weird when they do that!

Once my eyes were dilated I could only see far away with my glasses and If I wanted to look at something close-up, I had to take them off. The effects lasted until about 3:00 in the afternoon so it was really hard to get any work done before that!

When they called me back in at about 10l30, the eye doctor looked at my eyes and said that everything was good. My eyes are in good shape and my prescription hasn't changed at all. I asked him about my contacts -- I asked what kind I should get since they discontinued making Acuvue Advance. He didn't even know that they had been discontinued and that happened about 2 years ago! He suggested Acuvue 2 and said it's basically the same lens. The only thing about that is that I remember that I originally got Acuvue 2 when I first got contacts and for some reason I didn't like them. I think maybe my eyes felt dry and they switched me to the Advance! Ugh! Why did they have to go and discontinue something good!

After my appointment, I came outside, wearing my sunglasses, and headed for work. I didn't really have a problem seeing or driving with my eyes dilated, they were just more sensitive to the light and I had to wear my sunglasses and make sure to use the visor. Like I mentioned before, it was no problem seeing things far away, it was just things within three feet of my face that were hard to focus on.

When I got to work, I had trouble getting anything done because I couldn't' see my computer unless I took my glasses off and put my face two inches from the monitor. That wasn't the most productive.

They alarm guys were here today installing our new CO2 alarm. It's so weird, after a couple of incidents in the county, they passed a law that businesses were required to have CO2 alarms, but they never notify anyone. Then, the fire marshall comes in and tells us that we need to have this installed, we call our alarm company and they're clueless. It was so weird. They had to come and measure the building and then submit plans to the town for approval. I mean, it's a good thing to have but it's just so strange they way they go about it. Also, it cost over $8,000 to install so... yeah.

We had the front door open since the alarm guys had to keep going out to their truck and we spotted a group of people coming in the front door. I hurried upstairs to let them know we were closed.

By the time I got upstairs they were standing in the middle of the restaurant and the guy asked me if they were too early for lunch. It told him we were closed on Mondays and pointed out that the door was only open because we were having work done. The lights were off, it was dark, and there were wires hanging out of the ceiling and ladders scattered around the restaurant from the alarm installation, so it was kinda obvious. Since we were closed and I came in late, I was also wearing shorts, sneakers, and a t-shirt.

The guy explained that he didn't realize we were closed and wanted to come by for lunch. He than asked me if I could make him a sandwich. I told him the restaurant was completely closed and that there were no waitresses or cooks. (Clearly!) He asked if he could buy drinks, at least.

I don't even know. Then he went out on the back patio where his two companions had started taking photos in front of the lake. As he went outside I made sure the door to the patio locked behind him and then I went back downstairs. About 30 minutes later I went upstairs to go to the bathroom and I saw them still sitting out on the patio at a table. They left shortly after that because the next time I passed by they were gone!

We sent out the first half of the Pelican blast for next year's membership and the response was pretty heavy today. Dan's dad kept getting e-mails and phone calls so that was really the only thing going on for us in the office today.

Since I didn't have much else to do, I installed a new paper towel holder in the bathroom in the basement. I got it for free from Staples so I figured it was worth a shot. It's much nicer than our old one and it gives out short but appropriate pieces of towel. I think it makes much more sense than the current one which I feel wasts so much paper towel! You always get a giant wad even when you don't need it.

Once I got my vision back around 3:00, I put my contacts in and I was able to do a few more things. I had another update to push to our website. I wanted to redesign the navigation bar and I came up with a quick way of editing the changes into all of the pages so I took an hour and got that all under control.

Dan's dad left around 4:30 and I left at 5. Mike had just arrived as I was heading out and he had come to seal the showers in the locker room.

When I got home, Dan and I picked out our Magic Band colors for our Disney trip! So exciting!! Wahoo! I can't wait for some Disney fun! :)

We planned to get Dominos for dinner tonight after Dan got back from the gym and I tried to buy our usual discounted gift card from Target's website. For some reason the Dominos eGiftcard is not available anymore so I had to seek alternatives. I went on Gift Card Granny and found some much better discounts and bought one from a reputable website owned by Retailmenot.

While Dan was out at the gym I went on a little bike ride and wound up encountering a bunch of good Pokemon! Some less common ones were around and I got a Gasty which I needed to get enough candy to evolve one!

I got back just as Dan called to tell me to place the order and when I went to use the gift card it had a ZERO balance! I was outraged! But, because the website was pretty legit I knew I wasn't going to have a problem. I ordered a second one and that one worked fine. We saved over 11%. I placed the order and then I reported the original gift card as being fraudulent.

Fast forward, I got an e-mail from them about an hour later that they had refunded my money for it.

So, I showered up quickly and when Dan got home we ate our Dominos. I got the pasta bowl and some pizza because the pasta bowl is never enough by itself. Dan got a pan pizza using the free pizza rewards we had.

We watched World News while we were eating and then we watched two episodes of Shameless!

Now it's time for bed and I had forgotten that I did laundry when I got home from work. I put all my undershirts in the dryer and never took them out! I;'m going to run down there now, get them, and then get to bed.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"extravaganza is officially canceled" or "lau's soccer boys" - September 04, 2016
"pokemon heaven" - September 03, 2016
"tropical storm coming this weekend" - September 01, 2016
"can't have two catches in a row" - August 31, 2016
"catch of the day: cheese ravioli" - August 30, 2016

http://diaryland.com