Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 04, 2016 - 12:37 a.m.
"extravaganza is officially canceled" or "lau's soccer boys"

Hey Journal!

Well, it's officially canceled! Oh, and all day I've been struggling with the correct form...canceled or cancelled! I feel like the two-L version looks more correct but apparently they both are. The two-L is more common in Britain, though!

Anyway, I got up this morning around 10:00am when Dan's dad called to discuss the Extravaganza. It was decided that with the high winds being forecast for tomorrow that it would make the most sense to cancel the whole event.

The weather forecast has been so crazy, changing every hour. First a beautiful day, then a rain-out, then no rain but crazy wind, then rain! This morning at about 10:30 it was calling for no rain and lots of wind. Now it looks like it will rain a bit, too.

The real problem is that even if there is no rain we can't have inflatable bounce houses, tents, and of course, fireworks! The bright side of this is that the golf course will save lots of money by not holding the event!

I had to do some work to post noticed on the website and to finalize the e-mail we were sending out to give the news to the members but after that, Dan and I got dressed and decided to go to McDonald's for breakfast.

I got the Hotcakes and Sausage platter plus a hash brown. After we ate we came back home and watched some Shameless and just hung around the house for a while.

Later on, Dan went to the gym and I watched an episode of Girls. Our evening plans for the day were to go out with Lau to get Chipotle for dinner and then to a soccer game that one of her former students was playing in.

We started watching another episode of Shameless while we were waiting for Lau and I was getting pretty shaky. I don't really get that as often anymore but it came on strong today. I felt like jittery and weird. I ate some pretzels and had some cranberry juice and it seemed to make it better.

Lau and Ryan came over at 5:00 and picked us up and then we headed out to Adelphi in Garden City. We stopped for dinner at Chipotle, as planned. I got my usual bowl of steak and rice. I was surprised to find out that Lau had never been to Chipotle before!

After we ate, we headed over to the school and found the soccer field. We arrived about 15 minutes before the game started and we found a parking spot, walked around to the bleachers, Lau said hi to her students, and then we found a seat.

It was a really nice night out but just a little chilly. It was a sign that the seasons will be changing soon. I had to break out a hoodie for the first time this season. How depressing is that! I wore a short sleeved shirt but I put the hoodie on almost as soon as we arrived.

The game was good and we had a fun time rooting for the visiting team. Sadly, they lost 2 to 0. One of Lau's students was upset and he was all moody after the game was over!

On the way home we stopped at Sonic for some dessert. Lau got her Dolce de Leche thing and I went all out -- I got an Oreo Sonic Blast, a grilled cheese, and tots. Instead of tots, they gave me fries. We had to call them to bring the tots and we got the fries as a bonus!

When we got home, I showered up and of course we fit in one more episode of Shameless. We're so hooked on this show.

Now it's time for bed! Breakfast plans in the morning with Kristen.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"short week feels long" - September 08, 2016
"dan goes full parma" - September 07, 2016
"school day vs. work day" - September 06, 2016
"labor day" - September 05, 2016
"remember that big storm we were supposed to have?" - September 05, 2016

http://diaryland.com