Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 23, 2016 - 11:30 p.m.
"wiring success" or "weird insurance guy"

Hey Journal!

On my way to work this morning I stopped at Home Depot to get some networking supplies. I got a plastic electrical box thing, some telephone connectors, networking connectors, and a couple of other things. As it turned out, I didn't need the connectors so I have to return them but I didn't get everything I needed so I had to go back to Home Depot again in the afternoon!

When I got to work, I had a busy day planned and, unfortunately, it kept me from getting as much work done as I would have liked. As soon as I got in, I started working to set up the new wire for the internet connection in maintenance. I tested out a few things and then I installed the box on the wall, the plate cover, and the jacks on the new wire.

I was ready in the clubhouse but needed to do the same thing to the maintenance department. I had an appointment at 10:30 with a guy who was going to do an inspection for our insurance and so I had to wait until he was done.

I was thinking a lot about getting this network up and running so I was a little preoccupied but while I waited for the guy to come in I got a few random things done in the office.

Re came in around 11:00 and she did all of the closed and stuff. Around 11:45, I called the insurance guy to see when he was planning to come. He said he would be over around 1:00.

Since it was just about an hour away, I figured I would wait until he came to run out to Home Depot. 1:00 came and went and he was a no-show. At 2:00, I was getting really irritated because I just felt like it was so frustrating waiting for this guy and him not showing up!

I tried to call him again at 2:00 and he didn't answer so I said FUCK THIS, and Re and I went to Home Depot. I needed to get another electrical box thing, and another phone jack and network jack. As we were just about to check out, I got a call from Jackie that the insurance guy had arrived.

I asked Jackie to tell him I had to run out and that I would be back in 10-15 minutes. I didn't feel bad about being late, though -- what a jerk -- he was supposed to be at the golf course at 10:30 and then 1:00 and didn't show up until about 2:30. Me asking him to wait 15 minutes is NOTHING!

He was a really weird guy. When I told Dan's dad that he was coming this week he said he was happy that he was going to be in Florida! He said he was strange and I didn't really know what he meant until I met him. He was this really large man who looked like Tim Allen in The Santa Clause -- the part where they're in the office talking about the new toy line with Santa in the tank....

Anyway, he asked me the stupidest questions... "So... you still have a restaurant?" (Umm yes... We're sitting in it.) "It says here you have a clubhouse and a maintenance building. What other buildings do you have?" "That's it..." He looks at me like I'm crazy... "Well, we have a pump house...." "I don't care about pump houses!" He was just WEIRD.

After about 5 minutes of strange questions he wanted to go take photos. He went into the kitchen and took a few random shots. It was so weird, all the pictures he took... he just held his SLR camera up and snapped. He didn't look through the viewfinder and he didn't even look to see how the pictures came out.

In fact, most of them he took while he was moving. I'd be amazed if they aren't all blurry!

Then we took a drive down the maintenance in a golf cart... he took photos while we were moving and specifically told me not to stop. Then he asked me to drive him to his car. When I asked where he had parked, he said "where I'm not supposed to." He was in the members' lot. I asked him which car was his and he said, "The one that doesn't belong! Lexus, BMW, Mercedes.... I'm the Subaru!"

He was literally there for about 20 minutes and then he was gone. What an oddball.

When I was done with that Re and I ordered lunch and we ate out on the patio. There was this group of ladies having lunch and one of them was SO LOUD. She was obnoxious and she kept talking about another friend who wasn't present and how overbearing she was. It's funny, it sounded to me like this one was the overbearing friend!

Re left after that and I went down to maintenance to finish my project. I decided to take the old NYNEX box off the wall and hook up my new connection. There were so many wires randomly in this box and I had to figure out what they all were.

One was the phone line coming in and another was my new wire. Going out there was a phone right there on the wall, the phone for the mechanic's shop, the security system phone line, and two mystery wires. One I found was a connection for the electric meter. Apparently it calls in the reading itself. Interesting. The last wire goes back into the tube and I have no idea where it comes out. That's a project for another day!

Anyway, I put the new jacks on, connected everything up and then went down to the clubhouse to switch over to the new wire. I powered up the internet connector and within 20 seconds it had made the connection and was up and running! This was amazing because over the old wire it used to take up to 20 minutes! The phone line is working well, too. I really really hope that it continues to be just as good. If this FINALLY ends our problems with the maintenance connection I will be soo soo happy!


Nicky came by again today to work on those LED lights in the maintenance barn that he wasn't able to get to yesterday. He did all of that and then, when he was done, I went back to the office and did a few things before it was time to leave.

I left work at 5:00 and headed home. I stopped at Target because Dan wanted me to get some SOuthwest Gift Cards so that we could book our flights to Disney. I got 12 of them because we needed $600 and they only came in $50 denominations.

When I got home I put the robot in the pool and Dan went to get his haircut and then brought our pool water to be tested. It was a busy night. Dan went to the gym after that and I cleaned up around the house because JC is coming over tomorrow and she's never been here before. I wanted to make things look presentable!

After working for a long time on everything I went out for a quick bike ride. I did a spin around the neighborhood and even managed to track down a new Pokemon... Rhyhorn! Yess!

Then I came home and cleaned up some more. When Dan got home we did some more cleaning and then took our showers.

We had time to watch last night's Major Crimes and the very beginning of this special that was on tonight about The View's 20th season! I can't believe that The View has been on that long. It came out when I was 12? What? Actually -- no -- I think it came up when I was 13 just about to turn 14 and this is the beginning of its 20th season.

Anyway, we'll have to watch the rest another night because it's time for bed now!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"dollar tree dizzy" or "10% off almost everything at target" - August 28, 2016
"lau's housewarming party" - August 28, 2016
"pronto" or "is your refrigerator running?" - August 26, 2016
"summer in the office, winter style" - August 25, 2016
"bbq and pool evening with jc" - August 24, 2016

http://diaryland.com