Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 11, 2016 - 10:45 p.m.
"end-of-summer walk"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up at about 10:00 and Dan had gotten up at 8. He said he couldn't sleep for some reason so he went down to watch TV.

We made plans to go out to brunch with Re and Shawn at 12:30. Dan and I made a few suggestions of where to go but Re said she was craving the Cheesecake Factory. Although we had just been there on Friday, we figured why not!

We had some time to watch an episode of Shameless and then we spent about a half-hour or so cleaning up around the house. I had a bunch of laundry to put away and then threw out some papers that were laying around. Dan emptied and the loaded the dishwasher and then went out to take care of the pool.

Since we were going to be over that way, we decided to go to Price Club after we ate to return this fabric softener that we had gotten a few months ago. We had been using Snuggle but Downey was on sale so I got that one. I had it in the basement for a while but when I used it for the first time my clothes had this rancid stench. I hated it. I don't know why it was so repulsing but I didn't like it at all!

Anyway, we left home around 12:15 and arrived at Cheesecake at exactly 12:30. Re was just walking in as we arrived and we met up in the parking lot. We got inside, got a table, and then waited for Shawn. He came about 15 or 20 minutes later with Baby Owen! Caitlin was working today.

Shawn forgot to bring the nipple for Owen's bottle so he had to run across to Toys R Us to get one after we placed our orders.

Re filled us in on the happenings of her first week of school and her new class. She said they all seem good and that she really lucked out compared to some of the other teachers' classes.

Owen ate his baby food and we had our lunch. I had the Crusted Chicken Romano again. I was hoping to get steak and eggs but, believe it or not, it's not on the Cheesecake Factory menu!

When we were done with lunch, Re headed over to her parents' house to tend to her laundry and Dan, Shawn, Owen, and I took a walk around the mall. Shawn had to go to the Hallmark store to get a card and then a gift from GameStop. We did a full lap around the mall and I caught some Pokemon along the way.

Next up, we said goodbye to Shawn and headed over to Price Club. We returned the Downey and then did some shopping. We spent more than we planned but really, doesn't that always happen there. We got milk, some food, and a bunch of other random things we needed.

Dan found a nice chandelier thing for the dining room and we purchased it. It was about $119 which didn't seem like a bad price for what it was. It's an LED fixture with big "Edison Bulbs."

On the way home from the club, just after passing the bull, I saw a new Pokemon nearby! We pulled into the little apartment complex and sure enough, a Dragonair was there! That's pretty impressive because I don't even have a Dratini yet! Shawn was just telling me he had caught a Dratini the other day so I was super excited.

When we got home we brought our goods inside and then Dan wanted to watch some football on TV. I did random things around the house and then decided to hook up our new light fixture.

I took down the old one and then tried to get the new one connected and installed. I still can't understand why there isn't a standard connector for light fixtures. I mean, why didn't someone invent a universal plug?! Why does it all have the be hardwired. It's like a conspiracy to make things more complicated than they need to be.

Anyway, it came out looking nice. I just hope the box in the ceiling is strong enough to hold it. It's not super-heavy but it is definitely heavier than what was there. Actually, that's only because the other light was hanging from a hook nearby.

So, the new bulbs are LED and they require a special dimmer that I have to get from Costco soon. Maybe tomorrow during work I'll go over and get it.

It was getting dark at about 7:30 and then we went for walk around the neighborhood. It was nice and warm out still but it really felt like an end-of-summer day. Getting dark early and a slight fall-like breeze. We walked a little over 2 miles.

When we got home we got showered up and then watched another episode of Shameless.

Now we're just getting ready for bed and of course another work week lies ahead. Steve will be back from Block Island tomorrow so I'm sure we'll have a lot of things going on. We'll be completely closed, though, so it will probably be a pretty quiet day on other fronts!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"hunger strike" - October 17, 2016
"dues deadline" or "kadabra" - September 15, 2016
"the storm before the even bigger storm" or "new message fun" - September 14, 2016
"ios10" or "three days till dues" - September 13, 2016
"fall feels" - September 12, 2016

http://diaryland.com