Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 12, 2016 - 9:46 p.m.
"fall feels"

Hey Journal!

Today was a really really nice day and just had all the hits of back-to-school weather. I had to go out twice for work today and driving around with the windows down there was a certain smell in the air! It was still warm out but there was just something about the breeze.

I got up at the usual time and headed off to work. We were closed today because there was no outing scheduled and I arrived at about 9:05. The hood cleaning people had come to do their thing in the kitchen and I headed down to the office to see what was waiting for me from the weekend.

I had a few important things to get done between 9 and 10 and then I went to Price Club to get more light bulbs for the dining room. Surprisingly there were none in stock. I really think they are either discontinuing them which is a shame because they're so nice looking and they seemed to be a popular item!

I actually went to Staples, then Price Club, then dropped off some mail at the big Post Office facility and then headed back.

When I got back to work I had a few more things to do and then Steve arrived. Today was his first day back. He asked me to help him fine and then print out these plans for a woodworking project he's doing.

We had a lot of dues payments today and I had a lot of little random projects to work on. I had to close out a bunch of months in the POS system because, the more unclosed months there are, the longer it takes to close out each register. It really doesn't make much sense but the short story is that the database gets so full that it takes forever to scan through everything. Closing the months deletes the older, unnecessary data.

I didn't have any lunch today but I was feeling hungry in the afternoon so I went to poke around in the dry storage room. Now, in retrospect, I realize that we had cereal and that would have been a good options but at the time I found a box with tons of sleeves of graham crackers in it. I took a sleeve back to my desk and ate it. It was good!

I left work at 4:30 because I had to go to Price Club in Commack to see if they had the bulbs. They didn't. I'm really shocked! I don't understand!

I got home at 5 and I had gotten an LED dimmer switch this morning for our dining room. I took the old dimmer out of the wall and tried to install the new one. I though it seemed simple enough but when I turned the power back on and tested it out I still heard the same buzzing noise we heard last night! So weird!

I called Nicky the electrician because I wanted to ask him a couple of questions about it but he didn't answer so I left him a message.

Dan got home from work at about 5:40 and then went to the gym. I went out for a bike ride and again, it was the PERFECT weather out today. I mean, I love summer, but something about this just reminded me so much of going back to school. It makes me miss high school. Just feeling this weather gives me flashbacks to high school and after-school going to SADD meetings and walking around until the late bus! Ugh! It was so long ago but it feels like it was just yesterday. I would love to relive those days!

Anyway, I got home and then Nicky called me back. I asked him my questions. I wanted to know what to do with the green ground wire. The old switch had it just laying there inside the box and it wasn't connected to anything. That's because the box is metal so it's supposed to be grounded itself.

Then, I was a little confused about which wire was the hot and which was the load. He explained everything to me and now the whole situation makes a lot more sense.

I showered up when I was done with that and then when Dan go home we watched World news.

For dinner I had my leftover Crusted Chicken Romano from Cheesecake and then Dan made some peas so I had a hefty serving of them. I love peas!

I wanted to write my journal now because we're going to watch Major Crimes tonight! I didn't wait to wait until tomorrow so I'm getting a jump on all of my nightly stuff so that we can get to bed as soon as it's over!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"halloween decorations" - September 18, 2016
"hunger strike" - September 17, 2016
"dues deadline" or "kadabra" - September 15, 2016
"the storm before the even bigger storm" or "new message fun" - September 14, 2016
"ios10" or "three days till dues" - September 13, 2016

http://diaryland.com