Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 20, 2016 - 11:18 p.m.
"ultrasound" or "gel in my underwear"

Hey Journal!

Well, I got up this morning as planned and headed off to the urgent care place to get checked out for the weird pain in my side. I don't want to spoil the story but, after a day of testing and investigation I'm no closer to figuring out what's wrong with me!

When I arrived, I checked in and then sat in the waiting room for about 10 minutes or so. They had Kelly on the TV so I watched a little bit of that and then they called me in. They took my height, weight, and other pertinent information. This weird older woman took my blood pressure while the girl who seemed to be in charge looked on.

The doctor came in shortly after that and I described the symptoms to him. Basically, I've had this sore pain in my lower left side and it's been bothering me for about a week now. I'm not sick in any other way and other than that, I feel completely fine. He seemed a little perplexed that there were no other symptoms.

He pressed on my stomach a lot, on both sides, and asked me if it hurt. It didn't. I mean, it just felt like someone pressing all over your stomach...hard. It didn't hurt more or less or any differently when he was pressing than it did when he wasn't.

The doctor said he wanted me to go get an ultrasound of my stomach/abdomen area and sent me down the street to the radiology place. I checked in there and waited about 20 minutes or so to be called in. One of the forms I had to fill out was ridiculous. I wound up writing that I had pain in my lower left side about four times and THEN, it asked "on which side is the pain." It was crazy.

The girl who did my ultrasound was really nice. She called me in and we went back to this darkened room. Why do they always do ultrasounds in dark rooms? I feel like when I had that done for my heart it was dark. Weird.

Anyway, she asked if I had had any water to drink. I told her that I had not and she said they should have given me water because your bladder is supposed to be full for this test. She gave me two really big glasses of freezing cold water and told me to drink them quickly. I finished them both off, and after that she started doing the other parts of the ultrasound.

As she was doing it, I watched on the screen. She took pictures of my liver, kidneys, gallbladder, pancreas... and as I looked that screen it was ridiculous -- they all looked like the same blurry blob to me! I couldn't believe she could tell the difference.

Anyway, during this I was FREEZING COLD. Perhaps from the ice cold water I drink because, prior to that, I was not cold at all. I was shivering like crazy. The girl asked me if everything was okay and I told her yes. She asked if I wanted a blanket. I told her I was fine as long as it wasn't messing up what she had to do. She said it wasn't, but she gave me a blanket anyway.

When all of the other tests were done, she tried the bladder but it wasn't full enough yet. She sent me out to the waiting room for 15 more minutes. On my way out there I noticed I had globs and globs of gel all over my shirt. She had squirted it on my stomach and then, somehow when she told me to roll on my side, it got all over my shirt. Ugh! it was disgusting. I used a paper towel and cleaned it up as much as I could.

She called me back in shortly after and finished off the test. She wrote up a report and then had the doctor read the results. They got in touch with the original doctor from the urgent care clinic and he got on the phone with me to tell me that everything was completely normal in the results.

Great news, I'm happy about that... but I just wish I knew what was causing my problem!

Before I left, I had to go to the bathroom again since the water was making its way though. I went in and, as took down my shorts I realized there was so much gel in my underwear. I had no idea how it all got there, but it was ALL OVER the area! I took a paper towel and tried to clean it up and then shoved a few down there to collect any that was left behind. The rest of the day I had paper towel in my underwear! It was quite a mess.

From there, I headed right to work. I got there around 1:00 and I had a ton of things to do today. Luckily I had really prepared the payroll yesterday so there wasn't much left. I uploaded all the files and got everything ready to go. I also made a welcome packet for a new member and did some other pressing things.

The rest of the day went by quickly and I had lunch around 3:00. I got tortellini with garlic and oil but it was REALLY heavy on the garlic. In fact, I think I can still taste it in my mouth a little!

I left work at 5 and came home to prepare dinner. I stopped at ShopRite in Commack on the way home. Dan's dad was alone this week and so we invited him over for dinner. When Dan got home from work, he called to let his dad know that we did NOT get the SNY channel and they couldn't watch the Mets game if he came. He decided that it would be better for us to go over to his house.

So, Dan went to the gym and I got to work with making dinner. I preheated the oven, got everything ready and then, once it was baking, I went upstairs to take a shower. I was really looking forward to washing that gross gel off of me! It was long overdue!

Clean as a whistle, I got out just before Dan got home from the gym. I got ready to go and then made the Stove Top Stuffing to go along with our meal.

According to the recipe, it should cool for about 10 minutes so, as soon as it was ready, we put it into a cardboard box and then headed out to the car. The cooling time was our traveling time.

We arrived at about 8:15, ate dinner, and then hung out for a little while.

We left around 9:15 because Dan had to come home and pack for his trip to Chicago tomorrow AND we wanted to watch tonight's premiere of Agents of SHIELD!! It's on at a new time this year....10:00. We started at 10:15 so we could avoid the commercials and we just finished.

I have no idea what's going on this season. I also don't remember where we left off at the end of last season. I'm confused about this director. I mean, they aren't showing who it is yet on purpose but it's still just annoying me because I feel like I don't know what's going on in a frustrating way. Most of what happened on tonight's episode made no sense. Maybe next week it'll get better.

So, now it's time for bed. Dan is packing up for his trip to Chicago and then we're off to sleep.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"coney island" or "birthday dinner" - September 25, 2016
"corn maze challenge" or "princeton" - September 25, 2016
"fuzzy day" or "green pool open, green pool close" - September 23, 2016
"gastroenterologist" or "saggy tighty-whities" - September 22, 2016
"ultracd" or "nobody wants pictures of my pancreas" - September 21, 2016

http://diaryland.com