Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 14, 2016 - 10:31 p.m.
"one year since our wedding" or "flights and magic bands and gift cards"

Hey Journal!

Well, although we aren't counting this as an actual anniversary.. It's hard to believe it's been one year to the day since our wedding! It really did fly by! I have no idea where the time went. It MAYBE feels like it's been six months. That's about all it feels like.

I got up at the usual time this morning and headed off to work. It was dressdown Monday today, a policy I created a few weeks ago. I'm a little confused by it because I don't know why I didn't do this in other years. I know that during the winter, when I'm literally the only one in the office, I wear whatever I want but, for some reason, on Mondays when it's just me, Dan's dad, and/or Steve, I have always put on my regular work clothes. I don't see why I do that. Nobody comes by, it's so quiet. I'm glad I realized this after only 13 years.

Anyway, It was a quiet day in the office. That is, of course, until the afternoon when the superintendent was let go. Well, it's a longer story than that but in the interest of time, I will say that we have a pattern. The last three Superintendents have lasted only three years each! This one, however, was the most civil I've seen so far in that he's going to be staying out the rest of the season and then sent packing at the end of December.

I spent a little time today working on an e-mail to the members about the photos we have for sale in the golf shop. We've sold six but we need to sell a LOT more. I took some nice pictures of the framed photos and then had to do some editing to fix the glare that was on them. I couldn't find any place to take the photo where you wouldn't see a glare or MY REFLECTION so I just edited an image of the photo back into the frame afterwards.

We also hung two of the images on the grill room for the members to see. We removed an old faded course map and a painting of a boat. I think the new photos look nice in there and, hopefully, the members will see that we think they're nice enough to display -- so maybe they should, too!

Oh, when I got in this morning the alarm guys were waiting for me. I was surprised because I hadn't called them. They were checking to make sure the alarm hadn't gone off again since they last came about two weeks ago but, when they got there, they saw that it had. It had been good all week -- through Friday -- so it must have gone off at some point over the weekend.

Anyway, they got no closer to fixing the issue.

I left work at 4:50 and it seems that every Monday when I go back to work it's more and more depressing how much earlier it gets dark out. When I left today it was almost completely dark and in just a few weeks it's going to be more upsetting.

When I got home, Dan and I decided to go right out to dinner. We got ready and then headed over to Branchinelli's for our wedding anniversary dinner! What better place to celebrate. While we were there I was trying to figure out the first time we ever went there together. The first time I mentioned it here in my journal was was in December 2005. That may very well have been the first time we went together -- but who knows!

We also discussed what restaurant we think we've been to the most together. We've gone to Branchinelli's a lot...we used to do Meson Ole, and we've been to Lotus East a lot, too... but I think Branchinelli's may take the cake. It's been a lot of trips!

When we got home we bought Southwest gift certificates on Target.com so that we oculd save 5% on our airfare for our cruise. Once the certificates were e-mailed to me we used them to purchase our tickets. We're going to head down to Florida on the 9th to spend the day with Dan's parents and see their new condo. This way, we also will be there two days in advance just in case any bad weather tries to mess with our plans.

I'm glad I looked online because we had originally planned to stop at Target to get $50 cards. They don't have any smaller denominations in the store. Online, they had $200 and $100s! That was perfect. Also, they have a four payment-type limit so we would have had to buy all of our flights separately. This way we were able to combine a little more.

When we were done, Dan went on a walk around the neighborhood since he didn't think he had time to go to the gym.

I showered up and then when Dan got back we watched last night's Quantico!

Oh, and our Magic Bands arrived in the mail today! Exciting! Can't wait for our Disney trip in December! It's only 18 days away! Woo Hoo! I hope that we are going away on a non-payroll week. It always seems that I go away on Payroll weeks so I have to do everything from our hotel ad it would be nice NOT to worry about that for once. Any time I go away for a week there's a 50/50 chance and it just seems I always hit it on the less desirable 50!

Anyway, after Quantico was discovered that we had an old WWYD to watch! We watched the first two segments but now it's time for bed. We'll have to save the rest for later.

Dan is going away tomorrow for work -- to San Diego -- until Friday! His flight is early so he has to get up super early to get to the airport. Luckily it's just MacArthur!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"joe's birthday surprise" or "mohegan sun" - November 19, 2016
smoke alarm madness - November 18, 2016
too much to do, too little time - November 17, 2016
i can't stop eating - November 16, 2016
"water bubbles" or "diverted" - November 15, 2016

http://diaryland.com