Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 17, 2017 - 12:11 a.m.
aruba

Hey Journal!

This morning we woke up at about 9:00 here in Oranjestad, Aruba! We got ready and went up to the Lido deck to get breakfast. Today I had French toast (big surprise) and also had some really good British-style bacon! I had some Chocolate milk and orange juice and then we headed back to the room to put on our sunscreen.

We got off the boat and, again, had no plans for the day. We decided that instead of taking a tour we would walk around on our own and see what there was to see. We walked a ways down the street and passed a BUNCH of Iguanas laying out all over the place. It was wild, they were everywhere! Some were really big, too!

We made our way to a nice little beach area with beautiful water and we just walked along the sand and put our feet in the water.

On the way back we stopped at a bar called Iguana Joe's for drinks. Dan read that it was a really good place for drinks online but it was actually not so great. We had one drink there and then got back on the ship.

We went to the lobby bar which was pretty much deserted and we got some drinks there. I had two Maitais and we talked to the bartender for a while. He was nice. Meanwhile, he makes some strong-ass drinks. I had two drinks and I was so drunk I can't even tell you.

We walked around the ship for a while after that and then Dan sat down to read his book in the sun. I walked up to the sky deck area and Connor, Entertainment staff extraordinaire, coaxed me to do the ropes course.

I was still drinking my drink and at first I said I wasn't sure and he told me I needed a few more drinks. I relented pretty quickly and decided to do it but he told me i needed shoes, not sandals.

I ran back to the room and changed my shoes and then, before I knew it, I was up on the ropes course. How did this happen?!

Anyway, it was pretty cool -- very much like project adventure only you don't have to tie your own harness out of rope here!

I did pretty well and was quite impressed with my performance considering how drunk I was! I would be afraid of going it sober AND I think it would be a challenge not to fall or slip! After I was done, Dan decided to give it a go. Connor told me to doing it again, so I did.

After that Dan went back to easing his book and laying in the sun. I went to the Lido deck to look for food and get a drink of water. I needed it.

There, I bumped into our buddies from lunch the other day, Nicole and Philip. They told me they were also drunk, so I hung around and we talked for about 45 minutes or so. They're really nice and we talked about a bunch of random stuff.

When we parted ways, we decided to meet up for dinner. 8:00 at the place where you check in for dinner.

I found Dan and then we watched the sunset and headed back to the room. We showered up and then I fell asleep because I was so tired/drunk.

I woke up about 20 mins before we had to leave the room and I got dressed and ready for dinner.

We met there at about 7:50. We had a nice dinner -- sat on the first floor today. I got a weird appetizer, the only one that was remotely my style. I also got two dinners. I got the Beef Wellington AND the Flat Iron steak. Both were enjoyable. I had lemonade with dinner and then for dessert I got the melting cake.

We talked to Nicole and Philip about lots of random stuff. Philip really really highly recommends that we visit Greece and he has offered for us to stay in his family's house there. It does sound like a nice place to visit! He says he goes almost every summer for a full month. That's pretty wild, but it does sound really cool.

After dinner we headed back to our respective rooms and Dan and I change and got ready for the deck party.

It started at 10:15. We arrived and met our hot tub friends there -- Brittany and Allison. We hung out with them for a bit and talked to them about their day in Aruba. They rode horses that went into the water. Sounds like a wild time.

Then, we danced all the crazy deck party dances. It was fun. Of course, Entertainment extraordinaire, Connor was there with his WILD dance moves to keep the party going.

After the deck party wrapped up we did a lap around the ship and then wound up in the Ocean Plaza to do the crossword and sudoku of the day. (We forgot to do it yesterday! Sad!)

Anyway, we listened to some music there -- the band was playing The Hustle!

We went up to get water and ice cream, bumped into Brittany and Allison again, and then headed down to our room.

Here we are and we're off to sleep.

Fun Day at Sea, coming up! TWO in a row! Bam!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
new SIM card - February 21, 2017
getting back on track - February 20, 2017
"debarkation" or "miami tour" - February 20, 2017
luggage out, time to leave, the last day of fun - February 19, 2017
fun day at sea - February 18, 2017

http://diaryland.com