Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 11, 2017 - 11:34 a.m.
in the elevator with scott

Hey Journal!

Today I have an INSANE story for you! I love it. This is the type of entry I wish I could write every night! I love having something to talk about and something amazing to share!

The big news is that we met Scott and Chris! Wahoo! Well, we didn't really MEET Chris, although we did speak to him. Scott, on the other hand, we did meet and spoke to him for a while! He was great, and it was a wild story!

Scott and Chris were coming back from a night of drinking in New York City and we just so happened to find ourselves getting the same elevator as them at the hotel. Scott was DRUNK as could be! Crazy drunk! He couldn't even stand up straight! He was literally falling into me as we were getting into the elevator and I had to keep him from falling down.

Once we got in, Dan pressed our floor -- 7, and Chris pressed his floor -- 6. Scott couldn't remember what floor he was on, but eventually figured out it was 11. The elevator door closed and we started going up. We got to 6, and Chris got off. Scott was slumped over in the corner of the elevator and Chris told him if he had trouble finding his room -- to call him! As he was leaving, he told us "he's your responsibility now!"

When the door shut, the elevator started moving and then Dan said to Scott... "I know who you are...." Scott was slumped over the in the corner of the elevator and said in such a funny way.... "Who am I?" And Dan was like..."You're Scott!" He said, "How do you know me!?" And then we explained that we listened to his show. At first he was shocked and was asking if he knew OF him or had actually heard his show. I convinced him that I actually listen to his show, and then he was shocked that we were "actual Americans" who listen to his show!

After talking for a bit, I informed Scott that he hadn't pressed the button on the elevator for his floor! He hit 11, and we started heading there. When the door opened, we kept talking and then it closed again.

Eventually, I pointed out that we were just standing in the elevator, so Scott hit the button for the lobby, and we headed back down. We went outside and walked around the street a bit. We talked for a while outside, Scott asked where we lived, we talked about a bunch of random stuff, about our trips to London... I don't even KNOW all that we talked about. It was wild.

As I mentioned, Scott was super-drunk. He kept falling over, he put his arm around me a few times outside... and he was talking VERY close! Like he was an inch away from my face. The whole time, I couldn't BELIEVE this was happening!

It was freezing cold outside so we eventually came back in. We asked Scott what he was doing in NY, and he said he was here for Chris's 30th Birthday! We said we wished we could have said Hi to him, and so we went to his floor to find him. Scott didn't know what room he was in, so I told him to call. He called Chris and the conversation was amazing...at least from our end. Scott was like "Hi.... Where are you?... No.... I'm okay.... I just want to know what room you're in..... No.....No... There's someone who wants to say goodnight to you. Okay.... Okay... Bye..." He got off the phone and said to us.... "That didn't go well....He hates me."

Anyway, after that we took some selfies in the elevator lobby. The lighting was bad so we relocated and took some more! It was so ridiculous. I loved every minute of it. There were a lot of Yaaaaaaaasss-es going on, too! It was the total Scott experience, I think!

So, after we took the picture we took the elevator back up to 11, Scott go out, and headed on his way. When he got out, some other random British people in the lobby asked us for help using the vending machine. We helped them... they needed change of a $5 bill to get a gatorade, and then they said..."Who was that guy? He looked familiar... I think we've seen him on TV." Dan said, "I think he's British... He had a British accent..." and we left it at that! It was so weird.

Meanwhile, this all happened at like 4:45am in a random hotel in the city. Such wildness.

Anyway, the takeaway here is that Scott was such a nice guy. Drunk as he was, he hung out with us for about a half hour and it was amazing. He says we can hang out when we come to visit London but I pointed out to him that he probably wouldn't remember us. He assured me he would, several times, and said that there's no way he could forget! The only thing that upsets me is that I have no way to directly contact him. I mean, there's Twitter, but he doesn;t follow me so I can't DM him and so I'm afraid we'll be lost in the sea of other tweets by then.

I do wish we had also gotten to interact more with Chris, but we gave it our best shot and it turned out great, so there's that!

Anyway, now that you know the exciting stuff... work today was pretty quiet. We had some snow this morning and it turned out to be a little more substantial than they had predicted. It didn't stick to the roads and that was pretty good but it did stick to the grass so we have a coating now. They're calling for another big storm on Tuesday ad that's going to be a real pain in the butt. Of course, I probably won't have work -- which is a nice thing, but at the same time I just don't need any more snow!

I spent a little time and set up a really cool new program to handle our immediate needs for the Church Plots. It's great -- I picked out a handful of eligible immediate plots and after the church leader fills out all the info online it AUTOMATICALLY makes me an excel spreadsheet. Now, I don't have to spend the time picking out locations by hand and making spreadsheets. So amazing.

We also raised the price this week for the first time since 2007 and I am preparing flyers to send out to all the churches to let them know.

At 3:00, we had a phone call with our lawyer to go over some things and get an update since we haven't heard from him in months!

I left work at 4:30 and headed home. I hurried home to take a quick bath, then shower up, and when Dan got home we got ready to leave. We left here around 6:15 and met Alec for dinner at Smokin' Al's at about 7:00. We picked Smokin' Al's tonight because it's LENT and so we were pretty confident that there wouldn't be a long wait! Sure enough, the waiting area was completely empty and we were seated right away! It's the best time of the year to go there!

It was nice to see Alec, it's been a while since we saw him last and we decided we're gonna hand out again in three weeks!

He updated us on his job situation and his plans for quitting his current job this summer!

When we left, Dan and I headed in to the city for our night in Manhattan! We had found a parking garage online but when we got in we looked for street parking first! We were lucky and found a spot -- that saved us about $37 dollars! Wahoo.

We checked in at our hotel and then we took a walk around Columbus Circle, over by Central Park, and then explored the Time Warner Center a little.

We had some drinks at the bar in our hotel, hung out, and well...you already know the most exciting part of the evening!

We got back to the hotel room around 5:00am and by the time we were in bed, we realized that we'd have to get up so early to check out and head home, then go back to sleep at home. We were exhausted... but the thought of having to wake up and drive home only to have to go back to sleep again seemed too much of a pain in the ass. So, we packed up and hit the road!

We got home at 6am, showered up, and went RIGHT TO BED! And that, my friends, was a really great night! Wahoo!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
opening postponed - March 15, 2017
"another snow fail" or "lol-a-thon" - March 14, 2017
"a storm is coming" or "no work tomorrow" - March 13, 2017
"spring ahead" or "lasagna" - March 12, 2017
spring ahead tonight - March 11, 2017

http://diaryland.com