Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 30, 2017 - 10:23 p.m.
"automation setback" or "dinner surprise"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed off to work. I made a small diversion on the way to stop at the printer to pick up some business cards we had ordered.

I spent the ENTIRE day working on a new project. Yesterday afternoon, just before I left work, while playing with some database stuff, I had an idea, and I decided that I should pursue it. It was pretty ambitious and something I've wanted to do for a really long time, I just wasn't sure how to make it happen.

So, like I said, I worked the whole day writing a new piece of software. Basically, this software will talk to the register system, the tee times system, and my custom membership software to keep everything in sync. It will eliminate the need to manually turn members on and off in the computer system, making it much much simpler to keep track of people.

It came out great, and I was really impressed with what I had accomplished in just one day. The crazy thing is that I had the ability to do this years ago and should have really do it long ago to save myself so much time!

There was just one problem. As I finished everything up, I found a hiccup. A MAJOR ROADBLOCK. One little part of the structure of the tee times database prevented me from putting my software into action.

I am currently trying to come up with some kind of workaround, and my hope is that I will, but any time I spend a day engrossed in something like this, I always feel like a zombie when I leave work... like the day has passed me by and I have no idea where it went! Then, having this major problem made me feel like my day was a waste because it may never work!

Surprisingly, as I was working on this all day, nobody came in and distracted me with anything all day long. Very unusual!

Anyway, I left work at 4:30 and headed home. Dan got home early today from his trip to Atlanta for work so I wanted to get home a little earlier than usual!

When I arrived, I was quite surprised to find that Dan had made dinner! On his way home he stopped at ShopRite and got supplies to make my favorite Chicken and Rice Casserole! MMM!! With French Bread!

He was just putting it into the oven when I walked in. It needed to cook for 50 minutes so we took a walk since it was relatively nice out. I had done a LOT of sitting down today at work because I was working on this thing, so I wanted to get out and walk and exercise a little.

We walked around the neighborhood for about 30 minutes and it was a little chilly but not too bad.

When we got back, dinner was ready to come out of the oven.

While we are our dinner, we watched an episode of Judge Judy that I had recorded last night.

I took my bath/shower combination after that and then we watched Major Crimes and 24! Dan was only away for a few days but we banked up lots of shows to catch up on!

In the morning I have another acupuncture appointment. She says she's going to have my lay on my stomach next time so she can work on the back area a little more. I think that sounds like a good idea.

Anyway, off to bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"mulch" or "super coupon" - April 04, 2017
"cpc flyers all around" or "already monday" - April 03, 2017
"walking dead disappointment" or "rosebud" - April 02, 2017
jen b game night - April 02, 2017
"machi koro night" or "preview april showers" - April 01, 2017

http://diaryland.com