Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 17, 2017 - 12:29 p.m.
"isp to bwi to slc" or "welcome to wyoming"

Hey Journal!

Greetings from Wilson, WY! You know, until now, I thought Wyoming was a myth. It kinda flies under the radar.

This morning I got up at about 8:00 and had a few last minute things to pack and get ready before leaving for the airport.

My mom came over at 8:30 and she helped me finish up. She made me a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for the plane ride and also went out back and emptied the pool filters.

I got dressed and got my toiletries together and then we headed out around 9:10.

We arrived at the airport at 9:40 and I have to say that I really like taking flights at regular times of the day. Often, dan and I take flights that require us to get up at like 4am and it makes the whole day suck.

Anyway, I was worried that my bag would be over weight so my mom came into the airport with me so that she could take anything if i needed to lighten the load. Luckily it was 43.5lbs and I was okay!

I headed through security and up to the gate.

The first flight was 55 minutes to Baltimore. I had an A number and was able to get a good seat along the aisle so I could stretch my legs a lot.

The flight went by fast and furiously watched one episode of The Flash! Last night I was looking at Netflix shows that I could download to watch on the plane and noticed that new episodes of The Flash from this past season were just added. Dan and I stopped watching the last six episodes and Dan gave up on the show but I still want to finish it.

I had four episodes downloaded and I have the rest on the TiVo at home.

So, I arrived at BWI And had a little over an hour before my next flight. I walked around and visited Pokestops to collect items. There were tons of Pokémon around so I really filled up my box.

Sadly, I didn't get a lot of potions which I desperately need!

Anyway, before my next flight I went to the customer service desk for my flight. Things went well for the first flight but I was nervous about the second one for two reasons. 1) I had a B boarding number and 2) it was a much longer flight.

I explained my leg issue and how I wanted to be sure I would get an aisle seat on the left side of the plane so I could stretch my leg out. The lady was nice, but cold. She said she was fairly sure I would get an aisle seat in the B group. I was just worried because I didn't know if that was true AND I wasn't sure if other people were going to be staying on the plane from a previous flight which would further limit my options.

I spoke to the gate agent and she said she wasn't sure and that it might be a close call. She suggested I ask the service desk. I told her I had, and she said she couldn't do anything-- that I should go back and ask again. I did, and told the lady what the other lady had said. Again, she was unmoved.

I mean, in the end I DID get an aisle seat. It all worked out fine, but I was disappointed in the lack of concern. She could have put my mind at ease by letting me board between A and B, and in the end it would have been the same outcome, but I wouldn't have been so nervous about it.

As it went, the flight was much better than our February flight to Florida. I had much less pain and that's good. I'm also super glad I got that aisle seat, though. I had to get up several times to stand up and street. Towards the end of the flight I stood for a good 20+ minutes.

During the second flight I watched three more episodes of The Flash! Who knew how much I had missed! Barry got amnesia, Caitlin almost died but turned into Killer Frost instead, and we learned that Savitar is Barry's rejected time remnant! Dan really missed out.

In between episodes I played some PAC-MAN 256! Up until last night I didn't realize this was an iPhone app. I had always played it in AppleTV. It also keeps my high score and items synced! Niceee!

Anyway, we got to SLC about 30 minutes early.

It took forever for the flight's luggage to come out. They changed carousels and then finally it arrived.

Once I had my stuff, I walked over to meet Dan at the rental car area! We got a Buick LaCrosse.

Our first order of business was to stop at a Target to get some bottled water and to get some snacks.

We stopped at Wendy's which was in the same parking lot and we got some food before we hit the road.

We had a 5 hour drive to Wilson, WY! I totally didn't realize we had such a long drive and it wasn't very good for my sitting problems. I tried to get comfortable as best I could but it was very uncomfortable.

We stopped a couple times along the way- once in the middle of the road because there was road construction! They closed the road one way for a long long stretch and let cards come from the other direction. I got out to stretch because we were stopped for a while! It was very weird!

We went through a small town called Piney and I was happy to find that they had cell service there. They also had five Pokémon gyms that were yellow AND had space for me to add another! I'm so excited! I really hope I can hold them for a couple of days so I can get more coins!

Anyway, we arrived and went to Jackson to get dinner! There wasn't a lot that was open so we ditched that plan and went to the supermarket to get something to eat. We wound up getting TV dinners.

Finally, we came to our Airbnb and got settled in. It's a nice place, pretty big... we got showered up and had our dinners and now it's time for bed!

Tomorrow we are planning to visit the Grand Tetons! Exciting!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"idaho potato museum" or "park ciity, ut" - June 22, 2017
"mammoth hot springs" or "roosevelt lodge" - June 20, 2017
"old faithful" or "grand prismatic spring" - June 19, 2017
"more tetons" or "yellowstone" - June 18, 2017
"grand tetons" or "audio tour" - June 17, 2017

http://diaryland.com