Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 18, 2017 - 10:21 p.m.
mris

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up bright and early at 7:00am. I was supposed to be getting up at 7:20 but I woke up to go to the bathroom and then couldn't' get back to sleep. I hurried to get ready and then left home around 7:40 for my MRI appointment.

I went back to Stony Brook Imaging but this time I went to their Commack location because it was more conveniently located for my trip to work. I LOVE these Stony Brook Medicine facilities. They are so efficient, the people are super-nice, and the whole experience is just great. If you're unfortunate enough to need their services, this is the place to go.

I arrived a couple minutes past 8 and went inside to check in. First off, they're located in that old laboratory building where our copier company is located. I've had to go there before to pick up toner. It's amazing how they divided up this building into so many separate spaces AND the Stony Brook Medicine area is HUGE. It's got a bunch of different practices and this imaging center.

I checked in and had to fill out some MRI specific questionnaire and then they took me in the back. We did the lumbar MRI first and that was pretty quick and easy. I had to put on paper pants and then lock my belongings in a little locker room. I went inside, got on the table, the put Pandora on for me... the guy suggested "Today's Hits" and I agreed but it was all weird rap music so I wasn't such a fan. (For my second procedure I requested 2000s and it was much better!)

Anyway, the technician was really nice. It was a great experience. I don't mean like a great and fun thing to do, I mean that if you had to go for an MRI, I can't think of any way they could have done a better job.

Then I had to wait because they needed the prescription from my doctor in order to do the brain MRI because they needed to give me an injection of some sort of contrast dye and they couldn't do that without the actual prescription. The neurologists office was closed so they had me wait till they opened. As I was waiting, I got to the idea to call my other doctor who uses the same system as them. I had them fax the prescription and then they started right away.

The nurse put a little IV port thing into my left arm and then pumped some saline solution into me. Not sure why. She said I might get a salty taste in my mouth.

Then I went in and they started the brain MRI. This one was different because I went into the machine head first as opposed to feet first like last time. The put this cage thing over your head and then you're locked in and ready to go.

So many people find MRIs to be stressful but I think they're extremely relaxing. Even with the loud bangs and beeps, it's such a relaxing and mind-clearing experience. When I was inside the machine, there was ONE little black smudge that I could see on the cylinder I was in. It was interesting because if that weren't there, I wouldn't have been able to tell if the machine was 1 inch from my face or 1 mile away. There was no way to perceive depth at all. So I was happy for the little black scuff mark!

Most of the time I had my eyes closed, though, and I was just trying to relax.

When it was over, I my stuff from the locker and headed off to work. I don't know when I get the results of this or who gives them to me... but I guess I can find out soon enough. I really doubt anything will come up -- it's just to rule out anything major, which I don't think I have anyway.

Work today was pretty quiet. I had some time to get caught up on a few things and then I left at 5:00.

I was irritated because I forgot to take my morning medicine and only realized it at 3:00 which was an hour after I was supposed to take my second dose! Ugh! I basically just skipped one dose which I'm sure isn't the end of the world but I'm still just annoyed that I forgot about it!

When I got home, Dan and I went for a walk and then we came home, showered up, and then watched some Parenthood!

We just watched some Judge Judy as well and it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"cameron's party" or "best pokemon raid ever" - July 23, 2017
double xp - July 23, 2017
pool with christen - July 21, 2017
"dues day 2018" or "another hot summer day" - July 20, 2017
"perfect summer nights" or "dentist day" - July 19, 2017

http://diaryland.com