Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 12, 2017 - 10:30 p.m.
"primary election" or "nut free table"

Hey Journal!

Today was another LONG Election Day! It was a primary election and I wasn't expecting a very big turnout! I had to get up at 4:20am to get ready and get to the high school by 5am!

I started heading down the street and thought that I had forgotten the letter I had to bring with me. I came back but it turned out I had it in my bag all along.

I had to hurry because I didn't want to be late but, as it turns out, it wouldn't have mattered at all!

When I got in, Dawn was at my table. She said that Lou was going to be there and someone new.

Dawn and I set up and Lou wound up coming 45 minutes late. We had everything done by 5:25!

The table next to us was a mess and they weren't ready until about 6:05! We were definitely the fastest table!

So, the day went slowly. I played a lot on my phone and tried to pass the time. Every time I do this and have to get up so early I question why I agreed to it again but overall I do have a fun time with my election friends!

Around 11:30 I went to the cafeteria to get lunch! It was very interesting being amongst the high school crowd. I got pizza and a chocolate milk and the lunch lady charged me just $1!

Most of the tables had kids at them so I decided to sit at the only empty table in the room.... the "nut free" table! I was the lone person at the outcast table. I just sat and observed!

It was interesting, some of the kids looked so young. I guess they were the ninth graders. And some of them looked older than me! It was really interesting. Some were at tables of 20 with chairs all pulled around and others were in smaller groups. Very infesting dynamics.

After I ate I came back to the gym and we had only had one voter while I was away!

In the afternoon, I talked to Julie and some of the other people working. We had 26 people and not many voters all day!

The new person who wa supposed to work out table didn't show up. I'm glad, though, because we didn't need anyone else! We did fine with three and really, Lou slept the majority of the time or disappeared for really large chunks of time!

Even so, we are the core ED47 crew!

I started doing closing procedures around 5pm! I knew we went going to open any more books so I logged them and then got us all set for a quick escape!

Around 5:30, Dan came by with dinner from Boston Market so I took a little break and went outside to eat. We were outside for a few minutes but there were a lot of bugs flying around so we decided to come inside and sit in the desks by the gym.

When I got back inside, we were in the home stretch. I spent a lot of time up and walking around, just trying not to sit. I kept doing as many things as I could to close up. I took out the new paper they gave us called "Where does it all go?" and I marked off all the things we had already done and made a note of the things that were left to do.

Around 10 minutes to 9, we had almost everything done except for shutting down the machine, of course. As soon as 9:00 hit, we shut down the machine and we were the FIRST group done...at 9:10! BAM! The group next to us got cocky and turned their machine off before 9:00 which was a big no, no. They were just lucky that nobody else came over to them. But they still finished after us because they hadn't done the paperwork!

Just one minute after the polls were closed a guy walked in and tried to vote at the other table next to us. He was out of luck.

Anyway, I got home around 9:30 and I was pretty tired but NOT that kind of tired and exhausted that I Was after the General election in November. Although, everything was crazy that day in so many ways.

I took a shower and then Dan and I watched some OITNB before. Now it's time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
halloween decorations - September 17, 2017
lau's baby shower - September 16, 2017
"dues deadline" or "dinner at cheesecake" - September 15, 2017
"countdown to dues day" - September 14, 2017
"overtired and payment crazy" - September 13, 2017

http://diaryland.com