Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 13, 2017 - 10:26 p.m.
"spaghetti and peas" or "wine exchange"

Hey Journal!

Last night I was really caving my Grandma's Spaghetti and Peas and so, today, I called her up and got the recipe. It's pretty easy to make once you know how to do it. We had to stop at the store to get a few ingredients, but we actually had a bunch of stuff we needed already.

Just in case you were wondering, here's how it goes. You take a pot and put olive oil in it. You brown an onion and a little clove of garlic. Then, you add a can of tomato sauce and fill the pot halfway with water. You drain the juice from a can of peas into the water and heat it up, not boiling, for about 20 minutes. Then you add the peas along with extra frozen peas. You cook that for 20 minutes and then bring it to a boil. You put the ditalini in and let it boil for another 20 minutes. Add some salt and pepper. Then you put it on low heat and let it cook another 10 minutes and it's all set!

There it is, Spaghetti and Peas. Both Dan and Linda think it's weird that it's called Spaghetti and Peas yet it has no spaghetti. I just said that my Grandma always called all kinds of pasta "Spaghetti." I know that's not really correct but I'm going with it. It's what I learned growing up!

I got to work round 9:30 this morning and, after work, Dan came to meet me at the golf course. We had a few things to take care of. First, we went over to Stew Leonard's to return the wine that I had gotten for Steve. For some reason I thought he liked the Merlot but it turns out that he likes the Cabernet! I wonder if I've been getting him the wrong things the past few years? Ugh!

Anyway, we went in, returned that, and got the one he really wanted. We had to ask the sommelier for a recommendation for another wine similar to the cabernet because we also had to return the companion merlot we had purchased on Sunday!

That was pretty quick and easy and then we went over to Stew Leonard's (the food one) to get some items I needed to make the spaghetti and peas. Of course, they didn't have a couple of things that we needed so we got a loaf of bread and a really small piece of garlic that, when weighed, was 10 cents!

On the way home, Dan stopped at Target to get some peas and a few other ingredients we needed.

I headed home and got cooking. I put the olive oil in the pot and started chopping and browning the onion so we could get a head start.

It came out really good! Just the way my Grandma makes it! It was such a great meal and we made double the recipe and have lots of leftovers! I feel that I'm going to be eating Spaghetti and Peas every day for a week!

We watched TV, showered up, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"new dealership" or "ripple" - December 31, 2017
christmas breakfast - December 17, 2017
parade stuff and party - December 17, 2017
"call me by your name" or "drinks with doug" - December 16, 2017
just a dream - December 14, 2017

http://diaryland.com