Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 01, 2004 - 12:09 a.m.
"sagamore hill" or "debbie's accident"

Hello Journal!

Today...ugh.. I can't even describe.. but I will start in the beginning, becuase that's where things always have to begin.

I woke up at 10:15 when my cell phone alarm went off. Actually, before that I was woken up at 3am by my phone ringing, and I woke up thinking it was my alarm going off, and I was sad because I still felt tired. I was wondering why the night had gone so fast, but I was relieved to see the clock and know it was only 3am. I smiled and went back to sleep..dang wrong number.

So I woke up at 10:15 and got ready for a day of fun and excitement. I went to Sagamore Hill with Dan...we took a fun drive out, and then when we arrived we first went to the museum...We saw many items that belonged to Teddy Roosevelt, and even watched a little 10 minute video on his ways.

We then proceeded to the house, where we were to tour his home. It was supposidly very hot in the house and they had decided to close off the third floor. The tour started on the front porch, and the guy told us all about the Roosevelts and about the history of the house. We proceeded inside and looked at all the rooms on the first floor, which brought back many memories of the summer day when my cousin Joe and I were taken there by my Mom, Grandma, and Grandpa. I remember all of the fun we had, but anyway, it was very cool looking out on all the things that he had had.. and I couldn't help but think that it would be so cool if I could live there now, with the house in the same way that it was.

I think that would be amazing. I like the style and all the things inside, I wish I could have those old fashioned things...so retro in such a cool way!

Anyway, the house was not really that hot inside, and in fact it was kind of comfortable.. not too bad at all, especially because they had a lot of fans blowing around. Anyway we saw the second floor and then ventured back down... It was very interesting and informative, and I really would have liked to have seen the third floor, but...them's the breaks!

We left there, and went to "The Shack" which is a little restaurant on 25A which we always pass on the way to Huntington. I never thought that it looked normal, but apparantly Dan enjoyed it, so we went there, and it was actually very cool. I enjoyed the food, and you order it.. then they call your name on a loud speaker when it's ready... and you eat it outside at one of the several picnic tables out there!

Then we headed back to Dan's house to watch some 24.

We were in the middle of the episode and we heard Dan's mom and dad talking about something, so we turned the volume down and listened, and it was about a car accident.

Dan went out and inquired... and apparantly Debbie had left work at 3:00 with Dan's dad, and he followed her out and all, and then they went on their ways home...

She never arrived home, so her husband called the golf course, and then they called Dan's dad. Then Red, her husband, got a call that she had been taken to the hospital, and he called Dan's dad to see why, (I guess he didn't know if it had happened before or after she left work...) So anyway, we heard that she was taken to Stony Brook, so Dan and I went there immediately. We got there and found out she was there, but that was all.

Then her husband and Jared arrived, and then Red went in and Dan and I watched Jared in the waiting room, and talked to him and all.

After a while they let us go in one at a time, and I went in and she was laying on the stretcher looking straight up, because of the neck brace thing, and she was wrapped in a blanket on the bed.. She was crying and her eyes were full of water, and she had a large black bruise on top of her head, above her left eye, and looked pretty banged up!

I talked to her, and she thanked me soo much for being there, and then she was asking how Jared was doing, and what I thought of him (because she always tells me stories about him, and always tells me that I have to meet him). She also kept saying how much she loves Dan and I, and also repeated a few times, "The car just went right threw the stop sign and hit me... it didn't even stop."

So anyway, she was on Little East Neck Road, about 3 mins from work, and a grey van drove right through the stop sign, hit her car on the side and she flipped over! All I can say is thank GOD that she's alright! It could have been so much worse. It's aweful as it is, but it could have been so much worse.

Anyway, Red left the hospital to go pick up Evita, and so Dan and I left also, and went to the Police Station to see about the accident report, and also drove past the scene of the accident to see what it looked like. There were some random pieces of car around, little black scraps and some broken glass..... There was a street sign knocked down, and laying on top of it were three "Win For Life" Scratch-Offs. Since they were ON TOP of the sign, I would assume that the sign was knocked down by the accident, and that the ScratchOffs were put there after. Now, it is possible that someone walking by threw them there after, BUT I know Debbie loves her scratch offs, and I wonder if they didn't fly out of her car in the accident and land there... but whatever happened that matters not. lol

So anyway, Debbie is doing okay, and that is good, and I hope everything is okay soon, and she gets better and back to normal in a Jiffy! And forever long it takes her to get back to normal, It will be mighty lonely in the basement of the Golf Course without her to have fun with!

So anyway, after we left the hospital and finished with all of that stuff, we went back to Dan's to finish watching the other Episodes of 24. Steve and Mariyln (The owner of the Golf Course) were there for dinner, and we told them all about the Debbie experience.

So we watched more Eps, and then called it a night.

Now I am home, and need to get sleep for Mikey's birthday party tomorrow! It should be fun and exciting.

One last thing before I depart... It should be again noted that I hope Debbie gets well soon, and that it's very important to realize how important everyone in your life is, and how lucky we are to know these people because you never know what could happen, and you can't take things for granted.

Anyway, I now go to sleep... until tomorrow....

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com