Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 03, 2005 - 12:02 a.m.
"statue of liberty" or "ellis island"

Hey Journal!

Today was an extremely fun day!

I woke up at 8:30, and was still really tired from the past week of work, and then being out late at the game last night.

I got ready, however.. took a shower, and got dressed and ready to go to the city!

Dan picked me up and we rushed to Ronkonkoma to catch the train to Penn. The train ride went fast, and when we got there we ate bagels at HOT AND CRUSTY, and then met Dan's friend Rick. He was at the top of the escalator by the LIRR area.

We took a subway to Battery Park, but weren't in the first four cars, so we got taken back to the next stop..and had to walk down, but it wasn't bad at all.

We got on the line at Castle Clinton which went allllll the way around and down and wow. It was long. While on line, two birds who were having relations FELL from the sky and hit Dan on the shoulder and then hit Rick in the arm. They then fell to the ground and continued their fun. It was insane. Then they flew away and moved the party to the lawn. Everyone in line was like..disgusted and scared and grossed out and yes, laughing.. at the occurrence.

So anyway, we finally made our way to the ticket booth and purchased. We got on the line for the ferry, which one of the men who was "entertaining" for money said, "Hey you..in the red shirt." To me. Oh God. So, I did what I do.. I ignored him.. which didn't go over too well with him...because he came back with... "What's the matter... you don't talk to black people." Of course, I was not scared, embarrassed, and petrified.. so well.. I talked to him for a bit.. and he started telling me why I should be nice to black people, and that I need "diversity training". But all off this was in a joking/fun manner.. so it wasn't TOO bad. lol Then he sang to Dan and Rick.. and there's more to the story..but you'll have to ask if you want details!

So then we went through security..and finally onto the ferry.

There were no more tickets to go into the Statue, so we took pictures from the boat instead of getting off.. then we went to Ellis Island and walked all around and looked at all the exhibits.

Again my attention was focused on the abandoned hospital across the way..with all of the little items left behind just like my beloved Psych Center. Oh man.. I wish I could have gone in there.. and it looks to be more preserved than the psych center..probably only because it's on an island departed from people... and that keeps kids from tearing it apart like KPPC.

So we headed back, and then went to the site of the World Trade Center. We spent some time there walking around reading the plaques and such, and then headed uptown on the Subway to Times Square!

Rick really enjoyed seeing the sights of New York...which of course are much different than you would see in Tennessee! Of course, It's much different than anything you'd see here too. lol!

Anyway, we went to Friday's for dinner.. and then took a walk back down to Penn Station. Dan and I took the train home, and Rick took the E train to go back to his friend's place.. with whom he is staying.

We had a really great time, and I think Rick really enjoyed too. He was very nice, and we had a great time hanging out with him.. It was a very fun day!

So...My car was still at the golf course from yesterday.. I left it there when we went to the Mets game. Dan called the Golf Course and asked Jackie if she could pick us up at the Wyandanch station and bring us to the course so that I could pick up my car...instead of us driving from Ronkonkoma to the GC after getting off the train! She said she would send someone. So..when we got there, Scott was there to bring us back! it was very good because we didn't want to walk through Wyandanch at that hour!

Finally...we went back to Dan's.. and then I drove him to his car at the train station, and we went home!

I am now SOOOOO exhausted from not getting a good night's sleep in soooo long. I can't wait to sleep late tomorrow!

I am really looking forward to having a great 4th of July.. taking mental advantage of my time off from work, and seeing friends who I haven't seen in forever because we've (I've) been so busy lately!

Anyway, that's all for tonight...

Again, it was such a GREAT day today! Really nice in the city, perfect weather, fun times, and nice to meet Rick. Tomorrow is Mike's party, and other assorted fun!!

That's all for now...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com