Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 31, 2007 - 9:07 a.m.
"fred and tom's visit to new york" or "exhausted."

Whoa! I haven't written a Journal entry a few days! How unlike me! And this my last entry of 2007!! Ahhh! So much pressure for one day! lol

Well, let's take it back to the beginning....

Thursday Night, (Friday at 3am), Fred and Tom arrived from Montr�al! :) We stayed up for a while and talked, and watched some TV, and then went to sleep.

Friday
Dan had to work on Friday, and I got to sleep until about 10:00. I got up and ate some breakfast, watched The View, and some other shows. Fred and Tom slept until 12:30, and then I went to wake them up. We got ready, and picked up Dan from work for his lunch break, and then went to Gasho!

It was really fun. We had to wait a while to be seated, which was odd... but it was worth it cause we sat at this table with this girl and her brother who were really nice and funny. We had a lot of fun...the chef was funny.. and Fred taught him some French phrases, which he started screaming. AND.. you know the man with the black hat, who has no emotion and doesn't entertain at all... well, he walks by, and our chef yells something in French that Fred told him, then the chef turns to us and says, "I hate him." lol! It was very funny.

So anyway, after that we dropped Dan off, and Fred, Tom, and I went to the Golf Course. They got to meet Dan's parents, and then I gave them a little tour. They really seemed to enjoy it. We then went out for a little ride around the course on a golf cart. It was fun.

We went to Target because Fred needed to get a toothbrush, and Tom wanted some cereal for breakfast.

Then we came home, and it was about 6:00. We waited for Dan to get home from work... and then we took a little nap, and went to see the house in Babylon(?) with all of those Christmas Lights! It was crazy... but I think they enjoyed it very much.

We then went to a nearby Panera, and the woman who worked there was SOOOO nice. She was really helpful and just fun overall! Sherry was her name, I believe.

So...After that we came home and Robby, Jen B, Re, and Lau came over for a little drinking fun. Dan went to buy a deck of cards, and we played some games. Started with Kings, and then Fred taught us a game, and I it was called "4 of a Kind" after translation. You basically just keep passing cards around until someone has four of the same number. It was really crazy, and we were all unorganized, but it was funny!

I sang some songs in French, and discussed with Tom many things about learning French. It was fun!

Everyone left around 1:00ish, I think... but I'm not sure. It was a fun! :)

Then we got ready for bed and went to sleep!!

Saturday

We got up starting at 7:00 in 15 minute intervals and took showers and got ready. We DROVE into the city for the first time, and it was actually not as scary as I had expected. We took the Williamsburg Bridge and just kept driving straight, basically, and parked down by Battery Park. We walked to the line for the Statue of Liberty, it was SOOO long. We just kept walking and walking and walking, and the line was NEVER-ENDING!

We finally made it to the end, and guessed it would take about 3 hours to get to the front. Luckily we were wrong, and it took about an hour and a half. When we got near the front of the line, we were FINALLY told that we needed to have bought tickets ahead of time! Grrrr. So Dan and Tom went over to the OTHER line, and Fred and I held our place on the Ferry line. We had to let a lot of people go in front of us, probably for about 20 minutes! lol But we got the tickets, and off we went!

The statue was really nice. I had never been there before, so it was a lot of fun. Fred and Tom enjoyed, and we got lots of nice pictures.

We then went down to the World Trade Center, and annoyingly, they took away the fences with the pictures, where you can view the area.. and replaced them with crappy fences with mesh over them so you can't see into it anymore. It's very weird, especially since SO many people come there! Everyone was trying to peek through some of the little rips in the mesh. It was weird.

So, we left at about 3ish, and drove back... Stopped at McDonald's for lunch, and then when we got back Dan, Fred, and Tom took a nap, while I got ready to go to the Colonial Christmas Party.

Re picked me up at 6:30 and we headed on over to the Riviera. The party was okay. It really wasn't the best... there were some weird things about it, but I think the main reason it wasn't as fun is that Dan and Jen B weren't there... so Re and I didn't have our own little party going on!

We left at about 11:00 and Dan, Fred, and Tom had gone to Cheesecake Factory for dinner. We met them there, and they were just finishing their meal. We hung out there, and it was fun.

After that, we went back home and watched a movie. Then we went to bed, in preparation of another crazy day in the city!!

Sunday

Whew...We got up at 8:00, got ready, showered, ate some cereal. We got to Ronkonkoma and got our tickets for the train, and off we went. We got in and walked over to the Empire State Building, took some pictures, then walked down to Times Square. Saw the Charmin Bathrooms, which was AMAZING as always. So funny. I loved it. It's such an ingenious idea! We got a picture with the big Charmin bear. :)

Then we went to the M&M store, walked to Rockefeller Center, and had lunch at "Dallas BBQ" which was a pretty nice and reasonably priced restaurant!

We then took the Subway up to Central Park. Walked around the park a little, Tomtom got a call from his Mom in France. I asked him to put it on the speaker so that we could hear his mom. He talked to her for a while as we walked around.

We then went to "Belvedere Castle" which was nestled in the park somewhere. Then went over to Starbucks, and were feeling quite exhausted and tired.

We then took the Subway back to Madison Square Garden and waited for the Rangers / Canadiens game to start. Our seats were crazy... there was a wall next to us blocking the view of one of the Goals, but Dan and Fred stood in the back and Tom and I just craned our necks a little. There were a TON of Canadiens fans there! It was a nice game... unfortunately the Canadiens lost... Tom, Fred, and I were rooting for them. Tom and I both aren't INTO sports.. so it wasn't that big of a deal for us, but Dan was rooting for the Rangers, and Fred is very into hockey also.

So, after the game we took the train home, and these two annoying guys sat next to us. They were "nice" but they were a little annoying, and a little bit much. They were drunk and wanted to talk about drugs and other weird things.

So, we got home, Tom and I exchanged pictures, and then we got ready for bed!

Monday Morning
It's December 31st! What a crazy year 2007 has been. It was lots and lots of fun. And these past few days have been fun also, but hectic and insane at the same time! It was so exhausting and so tiring! I can't wait to rest tonight! But worry not, I won't get TOO much rest, as we have to take our Christmas tree down and clean up everything before we go on our cruise.

I came to work today to tie up loose ends, finish everything up. I wanted to get everything organized before vacation. Okay... so that's it for 2007! Put a bow on the Journal, close it up...next stop...2008! :)

I like odd numbered years... I dunno why, I just like odd numbers better. 2008, weird. I think 2009 will be fun to write. I don't really like 8's. LOL I know, I'm crazy.

Oh, and I still didn't get my laptop! AHHHHH! This is gonna be crazy if I don't get it in time!

Anyway, that's all for now! I miss Tom and Fred already!

Until tomorrow...

Adios for now! :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com